We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location for Cruisers” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel
Ranked #20 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
New Braunfels, Texas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great Location for Cruisers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

A large group of cruisers stayed at the hotel prior to our cruise. Arrived a few days early to enjoy San Juan and surrounding areas. Check-in was very fast and the staff was quick to unload our bags (a lot of bags). My wife and I stayed in a very large suite with a separate bedroom and dining area; think it was called a governor’s suite. The room was very clean. We had great views of the harbor and town from the room. The concierge was fantastic and helped us decide where to visit. We did not have any special request so cannot comment on that. I attempted to stay out of the nice casino, but as always got pulled in by the beautiful sound of slot machines. Our stay was enjoyable and I would recommend this hotel for visitors to Old San Juan.

The hotel restaurant and associated burger restaurant are a little pricey, so wonder up the hill a few blocks (off the main tourist strip) into Old San Juan and you will find many local inexpensive restaurants.

As a side note, this hotel is a little pricey, but you are paying for a nice clean hotel in a great location. We had 4 folks in our cruise group who decided to stay at a budget hotel up in Old San Juan they booked through an online service. They departed immediately upon arriving at the hotel and ended up at the Sheraton. Be careful when booking pre-paid hotels from discount hotel sites because some may not reimburse you, in this case, they booked through one of the well-named reputable sites and were able to get their money back. They also enjoyed the Sheraton.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AggieDiver86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Texan cruiser,
Glad to know you all enjoyed your visit and of course, as it's known in Texas, I see you all travel in BIG parties. Great to know you also experience some of the magic of Old San Juan and it's amazing variety of foods for all budgets. Hope you also enjoyed your cruise and that we may have the pleasure to welcome you all back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    593
    883
    492
    143
    119
See reviews for
521
981
93
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (488)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
111 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

another trip to San Juan and another excellent stay at the Sheraton. Front desk was friendly and accommodating at check-in. Even had a kit for my dog! We had dinner at Palio the first night. The food was delicious and Alex was a fantastic help with descriptions and explaining different items. The fitness center is small but has everything we needed and the pool was refreshing. After hiking around the city all day we had burgers on the patio downstairs. It was fun to be able to sit outside, have a wonderful burger (try the jibarito burger) and soak in the laid back atmosphere. Highly recommend for couples, friends or business travel

Room Tip: reserve a deluxe king room and request a bay view or a view of the castle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear guest!
Thanks for the great compliments. We are truly glad to learn that you enjoyed visiting us frequently. We will certainly share your comments with Alex. Hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montréal
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

Hi everyone, we reserved two rooms at this Hotel the night before our cruises because the terminal was near the hotel . What a disapoint, first in my room , we where unable to get our deluxe room that we had reserved, they give us a standard room with a view on a garage. After one hour of complaint at the front desk, they never want to give us the room we paid , they told us no deluxe room was left and if I want to paid for the governor room I had to paid an extra 200$.
My sister in law got their room after me and they got a deluxe room. They had a large balcony with 2 wide Windows. In the morning, they had to kill two cockroach in the room.

IN the morning, I complain to the front desk manager (Nilsa andLyann Proenza) they told us that we didn't get the go room and they will send us a compensation by Onhotel.com.

After 2 weeks, we contact Onhotel.com, and they were nice with me and they contacted the hotel with no result , the front desk told them that I never complained at the hotel and no credit will be send to me.

What I learn of this situation, never quit a hotel without a credit on my card or with cash for the compensation.

Room Tip: Watch the room you had reserved and cockroach
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GigiMar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Gigi from Montreal,
We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. Your feedback is very important to us. Needless to say, we regret the confusion about your guest room and that we failed to meet your expectations. We hope that we may have an opportunity in the future to provide you the outstanding experience you are entitled to.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Arriving for a short break in old San Juan. We fell for the great location and website pictures. We should have realized when prostitutes stood right at the front door in front of hotel staff that this place was not for us. We were woken twice during the night with. "Girls" knocking on the door. The entire hotel reeks of mold and the rooftop pool is nothing short of an enlarged bath. If you are looking for amenities, this place should be avoided. We asked to be moved to another Sheraton property and we're told definitively NO. You paid in advance so tough luck. We checked out and will never darken another Sheraton in the. Caribbean again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SWFLGuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear guest from Florida,
We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. We regret you did not enjoy your stay with us. I have to say, we have never had claims of this nature from any guest here or online reviews. All feedback is taken very seriously for discussion here amongst all department heads. However, if you indeed have some specific evidence, we would appreciate it if you send us a note at sales@sheratonoldsanjuan.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Great little hotel and casino in Old San Juan. We stayed for 5 days and 4 nights in a "junior suite" not sure what that means, but we had plenty of space! Our room was on the corner and had a wonderful little balcony overlooking the city. We could see the walls of San Cristobal from our room. Amazing! We ate at the Chicago Burger Company (inside the hotel) one evening and enjoyed it. Played in the casino one night and enjoyed it as well (they give you a couple $5 matching bet vouchers for the blackjack tables when you check in). One evening we came back to find that our AC was not working. We mad a call to the front desk and someone was up to our room within minutes. the problem was fixed right away! You cannot beat the price and location of this hotel. We will be returning!

Room Tip: Ask for a water view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 5201122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thanks for sharing your experience here with us. Glad you enjoyed your "Jr" suite and your stay with us. Hope you really got around to explore Old San Juan in 5 days here. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisconsin
Level Contributor
199 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

Having been on a 7 day cruise out of San Juan, we decided to spend a few days here after the cruise. Easy walking distance from the cruise terminal. Upon check-in our room was not ready so they held our luggage for us. Bellmen were super friendly and helpful. But upon getting into our room, it looked no different than a Quality Inn type room. For the price we paid, I would at least expect the toilet tissue to be on a holder. Not placed on a shelve, ala outdoor toilet style. We had to ask both days to get wash cloths. The second day we had to ask to have the old towels removed. Was very noisy in the morning and late afternoons in the hallways. No, it wasn't fellow travelers, it was the maids chatting, laughing and banging their carts against the walls. And there was construction going on in the hotel all morning long. We did eat at the burger restaurant in the hotel. Although way over priced, the food was very good. We did check the menu of their signature restaurant on the second floor. I am no cheapskate, but paying $20.00 for an omelet is not in my budget. In my opinion the hotel is way overpriced for what you get. Overall, it is an average hotel at best. The redeeming factor is the proximity to the cruise terminal. Shop around, there are better places and better deal out there.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tansandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Sandy from Wisconsin,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with here. Please accept our apologies since indeed all items in room renovations will be completed by end of November this year. We also regret the noise and other issues mentioned. We take all feedback very seriously. Hope you all enjoyed your cruise vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed here the last week of September and was immediately upgraded upon check-in. Our newly renovated room was spacious and clean. We had amazing views of the harbor. The staff was really friendly and extremely helpful. Any requests we had (extra towels, cream, coffee) were seen to immediately. I was impressed with the prompt and courteous service. We loved our stay and would recommend!

The restaurants in the area are on the pricey side for average food so we ended up driving to the Condado area for both variety and a little better pricing. The 2 for 1 mojitos at the restaurant 1 block over (Punte De Vista) were delicious! I stopped by each night just for those alone! I slept well each night but I think I have the mojitos to thank for that!

Room Tip: Go for a room with a view of the harbor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GibbsA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Gibbs from Atlanta,
Thanks for the nice compliments. Glad you really enjoyed your visit. Hope next time you explore more of Old San Juan. There are over 10 blocks filled with every food theme and budget possible. If walking more than a few blocks is not in your plans, there is always the free trolley service with stops throughout the city. Hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
1.8 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,658 reviews
2.4 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
1.6 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,612 reviews
3.3 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
2.1 mi away
The Condado Plaza Hilton
The Condado Plaza Hilton
#24 of 46 in San Juan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel

Property: Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel
Address: 100 Brumbaugh Street | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico (Formerly Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino)
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#15 Family Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel is situated in the heart of historic and romantic old San Juan district. We are ideally located on the waterfront, just a few moments from the docking point of grand cruise ships. We are literally "Steps from Everything" as you can walk to over 200 restaurants, cafe's, pubs, shops & much more. There is also a secluded beach 0.7 miles / 13 minute walk across Capitol - Senate house in Old San Juan or a 1.1 mile scenic walk to pristine Escambron beach which has food kiosks etc. Discover why Old San Juan is the Caribbean's most visited city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel And Casino
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel San Juan
Sheraton San Juan
San Juan Sheraton
Old San Juan Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing