We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5-Star Service and Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel
Ranked #18 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Arden, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“5-Star Service and Location”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

My husband and I spent 3 wonderful nights at the Sheraton Old San Juan. The location has amazing walkability. Beyond the location, we experienced fantastic service. When we first checked-in, we were given a room on the 9th floor (swimming pool floor), across from the elevator. Concerned about potential noise, we asked to switch and were promptly met with new keys by the bellman. We had great service from everyone we encountered; housekeeping even cleaned the hair from my hairbrush!

On a side note, we ended up eating at the Chicago Burger place 2 out of the 3 nights we were there. We felt like total tourists, but the burgers were amazing! We ate local Puerto Rican food the other night, and we wished we had had the burgers again!

We will definitely make a return visit to the Sheraton Old San Juan again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Jenn from GA,
We thank you for the nice compliments shared here. Glad you really enjoyed your 3 nights with us as well as our Chicago Burger restaurant. Old San Juan just keeps getting better and we hope to welcome you back soon to experience more of it's magic.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    646
    925
    519
    145
    123
See reviews for
575
1,025
96
157
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (511)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Murrieta, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

This hotel has great location in Old San Juan. It is located near the entrance of Old San Juan and everything is within walking distance, but if walking is not your think then you can take the local free trolley that goes around Old San Juan.

As far as the hotel amenities things were fine. The staff was friendly, but honestly I was out most of my trip and basically only came back to room to sleep. One night I did go to the pool which is on the roof and has an awesome view. My wife and I were the only ones at the pool so it was great.

I would stay there again if visiting Old San Juan.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nathan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Nathan from Cali,
Glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Great advice on the trolley. We certainly also look forward to welcome you an your wife back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airlie Beach, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed a few days before our cruise. Check in was efficient and the room was good. Bed is SUPER comfortable, almost didn't want to wake up in the mornings! Location is great, right in Old San Juan, next to everything. The Hertz counter is right there, so you can easily rent a car. The only thing is parking is a pain. There's a parking garage next door, but it does cost a bit.
There is a fitness center and pool (small, but adequate). There is also a casino which we were excited about, but after walking around the casino, we realized there is no bar inside the casino. Very weird. We asked a bouncer how can we buy drinks and he said to just start playing and they come around with drinks. I don't want to wait ages for drinks. I don't mind paying for drinks. I just want a bar. So that was a little bit of a downside. Also, if you are taking a Royal Caribbean cruise, you WILL need to take a taxi to the dock. It's a lot farther than you think.
Overall, would return.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank CaptKD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Aussie Captain,
Thanks for sharing your experience here with us. Glad you enjoyed your stay. Sorry we did not have a bar inside the casino, we do have a full bar at Chicago Burger Co. Just 5 feet from the Casino. Indeed, Royal Caribbean boarding pier is 1.5 miles away. Hope you make it back to this part of the world soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed here in early September 2013 for one night pre-cruise. This hotel is great for a pre-cruise hotel it was walking distance to the port even lugging all our luggage. Check in was very easy, our room was adequate and comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dyfennell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Cali guest,
Thanks for the brief compliments. We hope you enjoyed your cruise and that we welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in August. Very nice room with balcony overlooking harbour. There was a band that played at the patio below that made it very quaint. We easily walked across the street to board our cruise ship. The ship was boarding early 11:00 rather than 3;00 so there wasn't even a line. The day before we explored all of san Juan by foot and free trolly. The old city was easily walked from our hotel. Would definitely stay here again

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank debra321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Debra from Toronto,
Glad to learn you enjoyed your visit and would stay here again. We certainly would love to welcome you too and hope you also enjoyed your cruise vacation. Perhaps coming winter we may see you around here seeking the tropical weather.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed at this hotel as our primary stop on a week-long vacation to Puerto Rico. We read several reviews written by people who stayed for only a day or two; folks that needed a place to stay before getting on a cruise ship (very conveniently located) and decided it would suit us.

There was nothing fantastic about the hotel, it is not a luxury destination. I thought that its primary function should be for business travelers, a convention location, or for cruise ship bound travelers.

Rooms were clean, Starbuck's coffee singles are stocked gratis, anything you need from room service was taken care of. It just wasn't anything more than average overall.

The pool is on the roof, it's open-air, fairly clean, and provided it's not crowded very pleasant. My wife and I rarely utilize hotel pools, and we visited theirs several times. **If you do not like lots of hallway sound, request another floor. It just makes sense.

Hertz has a location just off the lobby, they stock a handful of economy class vehicles. very nice.

The front desk representative was a bit shy of professional- obviously making a mistake in her computer system and becoming frustrated. Complained to her counterparts in Spanish about how she couldn't find us in the system and assumed we don't speak the language... nothing horrible, just not professional.

We ate at Chicago Burger twice (1st level restaurant); both times for convenience and location. This was convenient and inexpensive, but a review for their business is better elsewhere. It must be said that the staff was incredibly friendly and engaging.

The main hotel restaurant (called Palio) was also Average. We ordered off of the breakfast menu (for typical reasons- smaller portions, less expensive, hygiene....). Strangely enough, my wife saw the waiter stock my plate from the buffet, her oatmeal was assumed to be made fresh. Like most things about this hotel, it wasn't fancy nor special, it was average in that it filled our needs.

Overall it was a no-frills/basic/mid range hotel that served its function for us. Best for a short stay en route to a final destination or a quick 3 day jaunt to Old San Juan.

I WOULD suggest people stayed here, but manage your expectations and do your research.

Room Tip: If you have a specific request for your room make it at the time of your check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TeamGumz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear guest from MN,
Thank for the detailed feedback about your recent stay with us. We are glad were served your needs although you address some points we certainly need to review at our end. We strive to make guest experience more memorable regardless of the value offered for this unique location. Hope you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Petersburg, Florida, United States
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Went on a cruise, and one of our ports was San Juan, PR. This is the second time I have rented a car here from Hertz at the Old San Juan Sheraton. Jessie L was the wonderful lady who helped us. She was fluent in both English in Spanish, rented us a car as quickly as possible, and got us on our way! She was so kind and friendly, and being a native, she recommended the best beaches and lunch spots to go to, since we normally stay on the other side of the island. She drew on the map the most scenic, efficient route we should take. Being a professional in the hotel industry, I appreciate great employees like Jessie. We had the best time, and we couldn't have been happier with our experience at Hertz. Thank you!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenna N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Jenn,
Glad you had a great experience and we will certainly share accordingly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
1.6 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
0.4 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 47 in San Juan
2,737 reviews
0.1 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#6 of 47 in San Juan
949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
1.8 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#20 of 47 in San Juan
7,120 reviews
3.3 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel

Property: Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel
Address: 100 Brumbaugh Street | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico (Formerly Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino)
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#15 Family Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel is situated in the heart of historic and romantic old San Juan district. We are ideally located on the waterfront, just a few moments from the docking point of grand cruise ships. We are literally "Steps from Everything" as you can walk to over 200 restaurants, cafe's, pubs, shops & much more. There is also a secluded beach 0.7 miles / 13 minute walk across Capitol - Senate house in Old San Juan or a 1.1 mile scenic walk to pristine Escambron beach which has food kiosks etc. Discover why Old San Juan is the Caribbean's most visited city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel And Casino
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel San Juan
Sheraton San Juan
San Juan Sheraton
Old San Juan Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing