We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worse hotel experience!!! I will never even drive by this place again!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel
Ranked #19 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Hello all! I'm currently staying in this hotel and first I'd like to say that my wife and I vacation at least three times a year so were pretty experienced when it comes to traveling. So when we booked on Jet Blue website this hotel it wasn't made clear that although we were landing in San Juan Puerto Rico at 230am the non refundable room rate quoted was not the actual cost. in fact, unless we wanted to wait until 3:30 pm to checkin we'd have to pay an additional $60 plus tax. So for a one night stay in a small room we paid nearly $250. To add insult to injury when we pulled up the parking is $20 or you can park on the side of the hotel if there is parking right next to the several homeless people sleeping on the benches. I really wouldn't have minded if I was traveling alone but since I was traveling with my wife and two children(4 and 7 year old) I was a little concerned when one these drunken hobos was screaming at me for not tipping him for utilizing the public street parking. My rental car was vandalized when I believe this pissed off guy yanked on my bumpers and left it hanging.(I could be wrong though) so I bit the bullet and paid the $20. Besides the tiny swimming pool, this hotel has nothing what so ever for the kids to do. For the money we spent we could have stayed at the Embassy Suites which include breakfast to order! The staff were friendly although we needed new towels because the ones in our room had yellow stains on them. The front desk said they'd send them right up and three hours later we just asked one of the cleaning ladies who were more then happy to help. Again the staff were friendly so my experience is no reflection on them. I will say if you come alone or just a couple looking to wait until your cruise ship comes in then this place is good because the ships dock right across the street. otherwise Save yourself the disappointment.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ibodre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Dear guest from New Jersey,
We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with us. We regret you had this experience due to the time of arrival of your flight. All hotels on island, check-in time is around 11am although we do make exceptions whenever we have the rooms available, but at 2:30am, the $60 fee is reasonable. We also have self parking for our guest just 40 feet away at Dona Fela and our Associates should have informed you of this at check-in. We hope you and your family did enjoy the rest of your trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,384)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,312 - 1,318 of 2,384 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2013

The staff here was very friendly and helpful--every one always had a smile on their face when we encountered them! The hotel is in a great location for exploring Old San Juan and a 10-minute walk to everything you need. Great place to stay for a few nights! Room on the Starwood Preferred Guest floor was clean and spacious with great views of the water. The gym was small but well-equipped with new machines and weights. Didn't use the pool, but managed to lose some money in the casino :) Overall, a great choice in Old San Juan!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor facing the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaliCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Dear Carol from California!
Thanks for sharing your experience and compliments here. Nothing makes us happier to know that your valuable time off was memorable. Hope you had a pleasant journey back to Cali and that we have the pleasure of your visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

My mother and I stayed at the Sheraton in Old San Juan, Puerto Rico while on vacation. Joseph S., one of the bellmen there was our greatest help! Joseph recommended many restaurants (within walking distance) that were excellent! He gave us directions that were exact and we had no problem finding the places that he recommended. Joseph made our experience there at the hotel a very good one and went above and beyond our greatest expectations to help us in any way that he could. He was very professional, informative, and very friendly...a nice balance. He was prompt in assisting with our bags and wasted no time in getting us in/out of our arranged transportation. Also, I must mention Luis & David who were also friendly, informative, and eager to help us as well!
When we arrived our room was not ready and to keep us from waiting, and as to better accommodate us the manager upgraded our room...and boy, was it worth it! The view was excellent...ocean view and cruise ships/ferry! We could feel the breeze at night from the ocean and actually wanted to sleep with the balcony door open...it was so relaxing! Also, you must experience the tasty food that Pallio (inside restaurant) has to offer...request Fernando as your waiter if you want great service with a smile! He was excellent and very friendly!

Room Tip: The 8th floor was quiet for us. Also, there are vending machines on some of the floors. Try to book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Candice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Dear Candice from Alabama,
Thank you very much for taking notice & names of all Associates that contributed towards your great experience here. Your feedback will be shared accordingly. We all hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

I stayed there with my mom and daughter for one night (Friday to Saturday) because we had an early flight the next morning and we live 3 hours away from the airport. Location is perfect for visiting the Old San Juan and if you are taking a cruise. It's about 15 minutes from the airport. Room was very comfortable and clean. Pool was very nice, my mom and daughter enjoyed it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Dear Maria from St. Loius!
First of all, you're daughter (photo posted @ pool) is super cute. We are glad you enjoyed your visit although too short. Don't be a stranger and hope to welcome you sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

The hotel staff were super friendly and helpful, always going out of their way to make recommendations and suggestions. They were definitely the best part of the hotel. It has a good location but is NOT right next to the cruise ship pier. You will have to take a taxi. Also, there is no television (unless you pay way too much for a movie) so if you enjoy watching the news in the morning or watching TV before you go to bed don't stay here. The room was just ok and would have been better if it had a mini fridge.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank McKenna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Dear Guest from Illinois,
Glad to see compliments about our Associates. We understand the role every trip has on everybody's memories - you just never forget wherever you have traveled. True, on must check if your particular cruise is docking in the Panamerican Piers (2 miles away), but if you had selected a closer property to your ship, you most certainly would have taken a cab to visit Old San Juan since it's the place to be and be seen. Also, not sure what happened with your cable-TV services. We use the same "On-command" cable system of the brand and offers plenty of channels in english besides the paying movie option. If this was not reported to one of our associates, would really appreciate a note to us with your room or dates-name in order to inspect this right away. sales@sheratonoldsanjuan.com Hope to see you all back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

My wife & I just return from a 5-day vacation to PR 8/4/13 to 8/8/13; we chose this hotel b/c of location; we saw the previous reviews of old place needed update, etc... but we were pleasantly surprised :) we got a room on the 3rd floor, side street; overlooking Mr.Frog's parking lot...but it was OKAY; the entire area (room & hallway were UPDATED); and b/c we stayed out late & left early in the morning; the renovation work did not bother us. We did go to the pool/hot tub & exercise room on the ROOF.. the VIEW was GREAT !
Our room was "cleaned & made" daily. All the staff we interacted with were FRIENDLY & COURTEOUS. We did
not want to DRIVE/rent a car... the ferry to Bacardi is across the street; same with the FREE TROLLEY to all the
local attractions; we walked to dinner (lots of fine restaurants) & shops EVERYDAY !!!
The UNIFORMED POLICE OFFICERS in the tourist areas were EVERYWHERE & a GREAT COMFORT :)
We enjoyed our stay & would RETURN AGAIN & RECOMMEND this hotel to ANYONE looking for a place to stay in OLD SAN JUAN !!!! First time Visiting Couple from NYC

Room Tip: ask for high FLOOR; 5th ---9th with a WATER VIEW !!! away from elevator.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Dear Andrew from NYC,
Thanks for the great compliments and honest - detailed feedback. We only have like 60 days left to complete renovations but have implemented all possible measures in order not to inconvenience guests during their stay. We are really glad you enjoyed the hotel and Old San Juan and we look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

I stayed here from 8/3 - 8/7. Didnt choose this exact location. Opted to use Priceline's express deals option where you save up to 45% if you let them choose your location after you pay. So for the price I paid I have very few complaints. If you want to experience Old San Juans culture then this is a great place to stay. If you're in PR to hang out by the beach then this is not the location for you. The hotel itself is outdated with a much needed makeover. Hallways and room look like something out of the late 70's. The only modern looking thing in the room was the Flatscreen TV. Pool on the roof is ok but very small and if there's more than 6-7 people up there if feels cramped. The one thing that does shine about this place (for me at least) was the cleaning service. My room was made up perfectly every single day while I was there with attention to detail. They even took it upon themselves to organize my toiletries that I had thrown all over the sink countertop. Overall the place isnt bad but at the same time aside from the area, there's also nothing great about it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deevel79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback. Glad you got to experience our property and the Old San Juan. Although it's not invasive, you probably noticed some crew and renovations in the exteriors. The new rooms have not been used by guest to date but will all be completed this November. We are certainly very excited about this since combined with so many other great things happening in Old San Juan, this city will be even more awesome. This weekend alone, we have the SOFO food festivals, the Amazing Race reality show & the 3X3 World tour of basketball, all just steps from the hotel. Hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
1.7 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
0.1 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#5 of 47 in San Juan
975 reviews
1.7 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#18 of 47 in San Juan
7,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 47 in San Juan
2,775 reviews
3.3 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
2.4 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel

Address: 100 Brumbaugh Street | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico (Formerly Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino)
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#13 Family Hotel in San Juan
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
Price Range: $171 - $393 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel is situated in the heart of historic and romantic old San Juan district. We are ideally located on the waterfront, just a few moments from the docking point of grand cruise ships. We are literally "Steps from Everything" as you can walk to over 200 restaurants, cafe's, pubs, shops & much more. There is also a secluded beach 0.7 miles / 13 minute walk across Capitol - Senate house in Old San Juan or a 1.1 mile scenic walk to pristine Escambron beach which has food kiosks etc. Discover why Old San Juan is the Caribbean's most visited city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel And Casino
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel San Juan
Sheraton San Juan
San Juan Sheraton
Old San Juan Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing