We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Won $2,100 in the casino, I'll be baaaack!!!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel
Ranked #19 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Won $2,100 in the casino, I'll be baaaack!!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

In all seriousness, winning in the casino was just icing on the cake. The location of this property, can't be beat! After staying at another location in PR for a few days prior to arriving at this hotel, I appreciated the easy access to restaurants, shopping and historic sites. There is a free shuttle a block away from the hotel that takes you around Old San Juan. It was a pleasant surprise to be able to get a tour around the island for free.

I found the hotel to be very clean, and the staff extremely helpful and friendly.

Though there is no beach access within walking distance, there is a great beach within a 15 minute drive.

The one word of caution is not to eat at the restaurant located in the hotel, the food was not worth the price. There is a burger place located in the hotel that was very good.

Overall, I absolutely enjoyed my stay here, and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Geri from D.C.
Thanks for sharing your feedback with us here. Congratulations on your Casino wins. Glad you really liked staying with us and enjoyed the magnificent Historic Old San Juan. Will share your feedback with the restaurant execs. Look forward to your next visit and continued luck in the Casino.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,090 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    554
    820
    468
    134
    114
See reviews for
486
915
86
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (458)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

This was a nice hotel, the only thing I did not care for was the little female with the nasty attitude when we arrived on May 6th, that lil chick had tude that made me an my husband sick, if you do not want to work then leave, give someone else the job, we check in an she ran our credit card an told us very rude like, your card is no good, so we had her run my husband credit card, she replied the same, the other guy clerk watched her an finally cut in an told us,u guys just have to call your banks an tell them you are in Puerto Rico an they willallow charges, she never told us nothing,she could have cut thru all that if she had just told us that, remember if you are going over there, pre call your bank, because they consider Rico international,, other than that, room upgrade was nice, room was clean everyday very wellcleaned don't worry about getting a rental,u can walk to plenty of shopping, food,etc, the taxi guys r nice an u can flag one down easily, the price of taxi is good, we never paid over 20 bucks for the places we went, we did a rainforest tour, an they have many choices of yours to choose from, casino was nice, won 190 bucks in there, great place

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pepie25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and took time to explore the wonder of Old San Juan as well as other island attractions. Please accept our apologies for the handling of your check-in. Your feedback is important and has been shared with staff. We hope we have the privilege of your visit again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aguadilla, null, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

Great personal service, clean and comfortable rooms, good HDTVs and I believe that if you want to enjoy the Old San Juan this is the best place to stay... Its right at the center of the city, you can go everywhere without the need to use the car.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear Eric from Aguadilla,
Thanks for your feedback and compliments. Glad you enjoyed your visit with us and hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

This place needs a scrub. It may have been cool a few years ago, but it needs some care and attention. The fitness Center was small and the equipment not in order. The Chicago Burger Bar was a nice spot with a very friendly bar tender which was the one saving grace

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pete H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Pete,
Thank you for your feedback. We value your feedback and are currently working on many improvements that should be completed by end of October this year. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodlettsville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Stayed here when we got off the cruise ship, our flight didn't leave until the next morning. loved the location. The room was spacious, clean and quite. Rate was reasonable. I would definitely stay there agin.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Sandra from Tennessee,
Thanks for your brief note. We are glad you enjoyed your stay although too short. Hope you had time to walk around Old San Juan and perhaps experience some of it's world class restaurants or authentic local foodie cafe's. Of course, we hope you also had a fabulous time on your cruise vacation and for your next visit, carve out a couple of nights for Old San Juan. You won't regret it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
632 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 369 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

Stayed here with my wife in mid April for 4 nights. The location can't be beat being cruise-ship central (we are not cruise people but it seems many people stay here prior to cruises) and in old town San Juan where there are great bars/restaurants (e.g.Marmalade, Dragonfly etc).

Am platinum member and was upgraded to corner room, I believe on 7th floor if I remember correctly, highest floor suite which was nice. The rooms are standard Sheraton fare. The view was nice, clean, spacious suite with a balcony area but room furnishings and room itself probably are in need of a renovation; not deal breaker but just honest observation. The bathroom itself also was standard Sheraton bathroom (personally I would upgrade the whole hotel and make it more trendy/chic given amazing location a la W or even Aloft but guess its just Sheraton brand).

Facilities/Wifi:

There is a small pool and decent gym on top level (personally feel gym was a little small for size of the hotel itself but it had standard equipment). The WiFi was free as SPG member and worked fine with no problems. There is a small casino on ground level with mostly slots and some tables (it isn't Vegas but nice for a short little break). There is a restaurant and banquet area on 2nd floor; we had complementary breakfast every morning (SPG amenity) which was standard buffet course with typical American breakfast (bacon/scrambled eggs/sausage and fruit/grains/cereal if you don't want to get a heart attack); the service in the restaurant was somewhat slow and in fact we had an issue one day that was resolved wonderfully by management and staff (kudos to Raul Fantauzzi at front desk, Alejandro Rios Front Desk Mgr and Leonardo, restaurant manager for their prompt response and thoughtful resolution of the issue) who not only addressed the issue but made us feel welcomed by their prompt and courteous response!


Pros:
--Location near cruise ship terminal/old town San Juan
--Casino (small but ok if you are into that type of thing; we didn't spend really anytime here but that is just us)
--Service was attentive and friendly and as SPG member they not only acknowledged our SPG membership but they were very hospitable and "took care of us." The hotel is very standard but the service alone plus the SPG amenities alone make me loyal to this brand. I would stay here again just
--There is an evening wine reception (we didnt make it but free wine is always a plus!)
--Got room using SPG points + Cash so for that price was relative deal. . .don't know what going room rate is so can't address if room rate is deal etc


Cons:
--Hotel entrance is on side street on one way/one lane street which is where valet is located so can result in back-up of traffic/this entrance can be hard to find initially.
--Only two, slow, elevators for the entire hotel
--Valet is only parking option
--Hotel itself probably needs facelift but not a deal breaker; just feels a little dated
-Room was facing the valet street side and apparently there is a Senor Frogs nearby with accompanying trash dumpster (we could see it from balcony as well).. .well every morning the trash dumpster would be picked up and we would have an unwelcome morning wake call from the cacophony of loud metal banging against metal (Contrary to my wife who gets awoken by any slight sound, I can sleep through an atomic bomb explosion and I even was awoken up!)

Probably would stay here again on return trip to San Juan as we love Old San Juan and love SPG brand!

Room Tip: Avoid Room was facing the valet street side and apparently there is a Senor Frogs nearby with accomp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ledezmacjl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Guest from Michigan,
Wow! Gotta say this must be the most detailed and objective review I've seen in a while. Kudos to your excellent writing skills and attention to detail. Glad you enjoyed your stay and experience at Old San Juan. In addition to valet parking, we do provide self parking guest rates @ $10.71 (tax inclusive) per night at the adjacent Dona Fela parking. We appreciate your loyalty to Starwood SPG and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

This hotel was not bad nor was it great. For the price we paid, ~$250/night, I definitely expected more. I stay in hotels in D.C. for that price and get very nice rooms with excellent hotel services and amenities. To start, the hotel has a casino in it, which would not bother me except that you can't avoid it. When you enter or leave the hotel you walk right past it and all its "drama". Basically, the casino is part of the hotel lobby. The concierge's desk sits next to a half-wall it shares with the casino so talking with the concierge is a battle between you and the casino. The concierge is not particularly helpful. We asked if they could make a car reservation for us, instead we were given a few company phone numbers to call ourselves. That level of service matched all other requests we made. The room is fine and what you would expect for a Sheraton. The window is on the small side. The pool on the top floor is also small. The photos of it make it look bigger than it is. If I return to stay in San Juan I will definitely look for another hotel to stay. If, however, this was the only hotel I could find with a room I wouldn't be too bothered.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JGGNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear guest from Virginia,
Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us here. Most hotel concierge desk's on island are operated by a Tour company but we certainly expect better service and your feedback will be shared. We regret that you don't feel you received the value for the rate paid. Although that is the average rate in this month, we certainly strive to exceed our guest expectations and it's evident we did not. Our new room product will be completed by October and we do hope we have the honor of your visit in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,507 reviews
2.4 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
1.8 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#21 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
2.1 mi away
The Condado Plaza Hilton
The Condado Plaza Hilton
#24 of 46 in San Juan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,332 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel

Property: Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel
Address: 100 Brumbaugh Street | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico (Formerly Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino)
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#15 Family Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel is situated in the heart of historic and romantic old San Juan district. We are ideally located on the waterfront, just a few moments from the docking point of grand cruise ships. We are literally "Steps from Everything" as you can walk to over 200 restaurants, cafe's, pubs, shops & much more. There is also a secluded beach 0.7 miles / 13 minute walk across Capitol - Senate house in Old San Juan or a 1.1 mile scenic walk to pristine Escambron beach which has food kiosks etc. Discover why Old San Juan is the Caribbean's most visited city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel San Juan
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel And Casino
Sheraton San Juan
San Juan Sheraton
Old San Juan Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing