We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel
Ranked #18 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Great personal service, clean and comfortable rooms, good HDTVs and I believe that if you want to enjoy the Old San Juan this is the best place to stay... Its right at the center of the city, you can go everywhere without the need to use the car.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

Dear Eric from Aguadilla,
Thanks for your feedback and compliments. Glad you enjoyed your visit with us and hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,376)
There are newer reviews for Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,332 - 1,338 of 2,376 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

This place needs a scrub. It may have been cool a few years ago, but it needs some care and attention. The fitness Center was small and the equipment not in order. The Chicago Burger Bar was a nice spot with a very friendly bar tender which was the one saving grace

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pete H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear Pete,
Thank you for your feedback. We value your feedback and are currently working on many improvements that should be completed by end of October this year. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Stayed here when we got off the cruise ship, our flight didn't leave until the next morning. loved the location. The room was spacious, clean and quite. Rate was reasonable. I would definitely stay there agin.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear Sandra from Tennessee,
Thanks for your brief note. We are glad you enjoyed your stay although too short. Hope you had time to walk around Old San Juan and perhaps experience some of it's world class restaurants or authentic local foodie cafe's. Of course, we hope you also had a fabulous time on your cruise vacation and for your next visit, carve out a couple of nights for Old San Juan. You won't regret it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Stayed here with my wife in mid April for 4 nights. The location can't be beat being cruise-ship central (we are not cruise people but it seems many people stay here prior to cruises) and in old town San Juan where there are great bars/restaurants (e.g.Marmalade, Dragonfly etc).

Am platinum member and was upgraded to corner room, I believe on 7th floor if I remember correctly, highest floor suite which was nice. The rooms are standard Sheraton fare. The view was nice, clean, spacious suite with a balcony area but room furnishings and room itself probably are in need of a renovation; not deal breaker but just honest observation. The bathroom itself also was standard Sheraton bathroom (personally I would upgrade the whole hotel and make it more trendy/chic given amazing location a la W or even Aloft but guess its just Sheraton brand).

Facilities/Wifi:

There is a small pool and decent gym on top level (personally feel gym was a little small for size of the hotel itself but it had standard equipment). The WiFi was free as SPG member and worked fine with no problems. There is a small casino on ground level with mostly slots and some tables (it isn't Vegas but nice for a short little break). There is a restaurant and banquet area on 2nd floor; we had complementary breakfast every morning (SPG amenity) which was standard buffet course with typical American breakfast (bacon/scrambled eggs/sausage and fruit/grains/cereal if you don't want to get a heart attack); the service in the restaurant was somewhat slow and in fact we had an issue one day that was resolved wonderfully by management and staff (kudos to Raul Fantauzzi at front desk, Alejandro Rios Front Desk Mgr and Leonardo, restaurant manager for their prompt response and thoughtful resolution of the issue) who not only addressed the issue but made us feel welcomed by their prompt and courteous response!


Pros:
--Location near cruise ship terminal/old town San Juan
--Casino (small but ok if you are into that type of thing; we didn't spend really anytime here but that is just us)
--Service was attentive and friendly and as SPG member they not only acknowledged our SPG membership but they were very hospitable and "took care of us." The hotel is very standard but the service alone plus the SPG amenities alone make me loyal to this brand. I would stay here again just
--There is an evening wine reception (we didnt make it but free wine is always a plus!)
--Got room using SPG points + Cash so for that price was relative deal. . .don't know what going room rate is so can't address if room rate is deal etc


Cons:
--Hotel entrance is on side street on one way/one lane street which is where valet is located so can result in back-up of traffic/this entrance can be hard to find initially.
--Only two, slow, elevators for the entire hotel
--Valet is only parking option
--Hotel itself probably needs facelift but not a deal breaker; just feels a little dated
-Room was facing the valet street side and apparently there is a Senor Frogs nearby with accompanying trash dumpster (we could see it from balcony as well).. .well every morning the trash dumpster would be picked up and we would have an unwelcome morning wake call from the cacophony of loud metal banging against metal (Contrary to my wife who gets awoken by any slight sound, I can sleep through an atomic bomb explosion and I even was awoken up!)

Probably would stay here again on return trip to San Juan as we love Old San Juan and love SPG brand!

Room Tip: Avoid Room was facing the valet street side and apparently there is a Senor Frogs nearby with accomp...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RonanJordi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Dear Guest from Michigan,
Wow! Gotta say this must be the most detailed and objective review I've seen in a while. Kudos to your excellent writing skills and attention to detail. Glad you enjoyed your stay and experience at Old San Juan. In addition to valet parking, we do provide self parking guest rates @ $10.71 (tax inclusive) per night at the adjacent Dona Fela parking. We appreciate your loyalty to Starwood SPG and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

This hotel was not bad nor was it great. For the price we paid, ~$250/night, I definitely expected more. I stay in hotels in D.C. for that price and get very nice rooms with excellent hotel services and amenities. To start, the hotel has a casino in it, which would not bother me except that you can't avoid it. When you enter or leave the hotel you walk right past it and all its "drama". Basically, the casino is part of the hotel lobby. The concierge's desk sits next to a half-wall it shares with the casino so talking with the concierge is a battle between you and the casino. The concierge is not particularly helpful. We asked if they could make a car reservation for us, instead we were given a few company phone numbers to call ourselves. That level of service matched all other requests we made. The room is fine and what you would expect for a Sheraton. The window is on the small side. The pool on the top floor is also small. The photos of it make it look bigger than it is. If I return to stay in San Juan I will definitely look for another hotel to stay. If, however, this was the only hotel I could find with a room I wouldn't be too bothered.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JGGNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Dear guest from Virginia,
Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us here. Most hotel concierge desk's on island are operated by a Tour company but we certainly expect better service and your feedback will be shared. We regret that you don't feel you received the value for the rate paid. Although that is the average rate in this month, we certainly strive to exceed our guest expectations and it's evident we did not. Our new room product will be completed by October and we do hope we have the honor of your visit in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We decided to stay here before our cruise for the 2nd year in a row for its location in Old San Juan, and proximity to the cruise port. I reserved a Bay view room, and was pleasantly surprised when they upgraded me to a junior suite on the 8th floor. I'm not sure if this was because we were past guests or because of the proms that were held there all weekend, but either way I'll take it! The hotel itself was nice, and the staff friendly and helpful. My one major complaint about this hotel is that it only has two elevators. For such a large Hotel to have only two elevators is fairly ridiculous. there was almost always a line at each floor and in the lobby for the elevators. Even this I would not have minded so much if you could use the stairs, but the stairs only go to the 2nd floor and they come out in the back of the restaurant Palio, and it seems the staff doesn't want people making their way to the lobby via this route. We also had several friends staying at the hotel at the same time who were on the 3rd floor, and they complained that the casino was a bit loud. Other than this I would probably stay here again for the convenience of Old San Juan.

Room Tip: I'd avoid the 3rd floor above the casino if you want a quiet night!
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear Sean from New York,
Thanks for sharing your experience with us here. Glad you had a pleasant stay although I can understand your frustration when most guest attempt to use the elevators at the same time. My office is in the 7th floor and I've never had a problem but perhaps is more common during dinner time. Anyhow, we have 34 rooms per floor, so with 2 elevators and a back-up 3rd back of the house we usually have no issues with this. Anyhow, your point is well taken and we do hope you and your friends did enjoy your visit to Puerto Rico and keep coming back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed here once before due to the convenience of being a very short walk across the street to the Carnival dock. They require a two night stay on the weekends. Last year we had a smaller room with a view of the parking lot, but I recall the room being updated. This year, we paid for a room with a bay view. When we checked in, they told us we were upgraded to a junior suite. When there are even a few people at this hotel it takes a very long time to get up to your floor because there are only two elevators. How, for a hotel this size, they only designed it with two in mind I will never understand. Worse than that, we are in shape and would not mind taking the stairs even to the 8th floor because it would be less hassle. However, you cannot even access the stairway until the third floor. Therefore, if you want to take the stairs, you MUST first get the elevator up to the third floor. How does this make any sense? It is extremely frustrating and for this reason alone I don't believe any of us will stay here again.

As far as the room, the junior suite was HUGE but needed a lot of updating, like a previous reviewer said. There was a couch and two large chairs but both had stains all over them, which made me not want to sit on them. There was no mini fridge, so we couldn't keep any leftovers from meals. There was a micro balcony that you could barely stand on, but at least we were able to open the doors and enjoy the view. The bathroom was older and not updated like most others are.

Positives:
-You can literally walk across the street to board your Carnival cruise
-Old San Juan and all of the bars and restaurants it has to offer are within walking distance
-It is a clean safe place to stay with reasonable rates

Negatives:
-Elevator situation
-Lack of easily accessible stairwell
-Requirement to stay two nights on weekends
-Lack of a real lobby area so things get very crowded at checkout time at the end of the weekend

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Dear guest from Albany,
Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with us here. You make some valid points and although we seldom have issues with elevator access I can understand that it could be slower on heavy check-in / check-out dates. Rooms are currently under renovation to be completed y October this year. Anyhow, we truly regret we did not provide for a better experience and hope that next time you journeys bring you to town, you try our new product. Hope you also enjoyed your cruise vacation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
1.7 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
0.4 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 47 in San Juan
2,762 reviews
0.1 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#5 of 47 in San Juan
961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 47 in San Juan
7,192 reviews
2.4 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
2.1 mi away
The Condado Plaza Hilton
The Condado Plaza Hilton
#24 of 47 in San Juan
4,912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel

Address: 100 Brumbaugh Street | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico (Formerly Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino)
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#15 Family Hotel in San Juan
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
Price Range: $154 - $322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel is situated in the heart of historic and romantic old San Juan district. We are ideally located on the waterfront, just a few moments from the docking point of grand cruise ships. We are literally "Steps from Everything" as you can walk to over 200 restaurants, cafe's, pubs, shops & much more. There is also a secluded beach 0.7 miles / 13 minute walk across Capitol - Senate house in Old San Juan or a 1.1 mile scenic walk to pristine Escambron beach which has food kiosks etc. Discover why Old San Juan is the Caribbean's most visited city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel And Casino
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel San Juan
Sheraton San Juan
San Juan Sheraton
Old San Juan Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing