We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Felt safe and great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel
Ranked #20 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Felt safe and great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

We where very pleased with our stay. Check-in was fast, Upgraded to a suite, downside was loud music one night. Bellstaff really kept on eye on the lobby and loved the fact the room key made the elevator move. Casino also kept an eye on who was coming in back door. Room was a little dark but clean. Great home base for walking all over Old San Juan. Really enjoyed Old San Juan compared to many years ago. They have done a great job in restoring the town. Would stay here again. We were able to walk to the cruise ship, and I don't pack light. Eat the the Chicago Burger twice which is in the hotel. View of the cruise ships from our room.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lizzyrazzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Lizzy from Arizona,
Gracias! for the compliments. Glad you enjoyed your stay and Old San Juan. True the city has had many new improvements. However, the best is yet to come. Hope you had a chance to see the new pier boardwalk, Bahia Urbana with outdoor cafe, trapeze school etc... all just steps from us. We hope you also enjoyed your cruise and that we may see you back here soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    611
    897
    501
    144
    121
See reviews for
539
994
95
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (497)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

Check-in was quick and easy, thanks to a wonderful clerk - Sibelia Castro. Room on the 3rd floor was clean fresh and comfortable but lacked now standard amenities of microwave and refrigerator. The Palio restaurant was our choice for dinner that night but a sign said "closed on Monday". We had breakfast there the next morning and opted for the a la carte menu instead of the buffet. We both ordered an omelette then the waiter came around with coffee and orange juice. We said yes to both without thinking that we would be charged $12 extra. The bill (with tip) came to $50 for 2 people. Outrageous! Once again, we tried to have dinner at the Palio...it was closed again, under construction the front desk said. There was no construction going on as we opened the doors and peeked in to see it all set up for breakfast the next day.
The first morning our room was serviced by 11:a.m. The following day we were out sightseeing then checked at noon...room not done. We went out for lunch and returned at 2pm...room not done. I questioned the housekeeper in the hallway and her supervisor(?) who said they had other rooms to do but would do our room right away. So we had to go out again but I registered my complaint at the front desk. The excuse?...they don't start cleaning rooms until 11am. That was utter nonsense!
We ate at the Chicago Burger Co. twice, poor service one day but better the next day. On the pricey side as I had a house salad for $9.99 which consisted of some iceberg lettuce topped with shredded carrots, 3 slices of cucumber and 3 slices of tomato.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sydney G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Sydney from Florida,
We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us here. We will certainly share your compliments with Sibelia as well as with the Restaurant manager regarding your feedback. Indeed we closed Palio for 4 days because of new carpet and flooring installation. We apologize for the delayed housekeeping service. We do hope to see you again sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Great hotel, great room with view of the harbor. Location excellent to see all that Old San Juan has to offer. Walking distance to all important sites and also a free shuttle with two stops close to the hotel. Had breakfast there every morning and it was good! If you want to take your time and explore Old San Juan, this the hotel for you. Great restaurants close by as well. Stayed a week and enjoyed every minute of it. You can also get tours right from the hotel as well.

lh

Room Tip: We had a mini suite. Very large and comfortable room with view of the harbor and the comings and go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Spike58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Spike from California,
Glad to know that you really enjoyed your stay with us as well as Old San Juan. This week they inaugurated Bahia Urbana which is a new Pier / Boardwalk across from us with Music Auditorium, Cafe Bar, the New York school of Trapeze and more. Historic Old San Juan is the place to be & be seen. I spoke with a couple from Cali in the elevators, perhaps we met. Hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights,overall we were happy/satisfied customers . The best location -close to everything: restaurants/cafes,CVS around the corner,trolleys/bus stops ,casino etc. ...one small complaint - you can hear people talking outside the room ( maybe coz we're close to the elevator area)...every single staff we encountered were friendly and ready to help

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carobatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Carobatt,
Thank you for the kind remarks regarding your experience here. Look forward to your return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cordova, California
Level Contributor
124 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

I stayed at this location for both work and for play. I had a two-day event at one of the conference rooms and everything was first class all the way. The room was setup as requested everyday and the catering staff was on time and very professional. The conference rooms are right across the street from the piers so each day the training was briefly interrupted by cruise ship whistle blasts.

The casino was mediocre and definitely not on par with Vegas or even Tahoe. Slots, roulette and blackjack were the dominant games. The staff was friendly and accommodating, always there with a drink. Upon check-in, I was given 5 tickets for $5 payback if I wagered $5 and won. Pretty cool.

I ate at the restaurants- Chicago Burger and The Palio- but made separate reviews for them.

The room rates were reasonable and always clean. Modest amenities but I liked the real Half & Half serving cups in the room with the Starbucks coffee, although the Cafe Coca'o is right across the street past Pier 2 and is absolutely incredible. Best coffee I have ever tasted. The workout room is good but the view is what makes it. I used it once since the weather supported running to the fort in the mornings. I received breakfast coupons for each day I was there. Pretty good food.

There is a CVS within 1 minute walk that has everything you need if you forgot something. There are a lot of shops by the piers but I recommend walking up the hill a bit towards Old San Juan for cheaper prices. There is a Senor Frogs right next door but if you've seen one you've seen them all. There are much better places within walking distance for a beer and better food.

Room Tip: Get as far away from the elevators as possible. I heard a constant bell ringing even when they were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GSmith07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Guest from Cali,
Thank you very much for your compliments. Glad you enjoyed your stay during business and leisure time. Convenience of never having to take a cab sure makes a difference since it seems you really got around by foot in such a short period. Keep your adventurous spirit and we hope to see you back here soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

We are on our last day at this hotel and found it clean with the best view of Carnival ships arriving and leaving the dock . It was fun to stand on our balcony and see the passengers disembarking. This view alone was worth staying here.

The staff here are friendly and helpful. Loved the clean bedsheets and bedspread.

The location is excellent -close to transportation restaurants and shopping areas.
How many times have one had the Director of Sales answering each of the letters?

I will definitely book here again.

Room Tip: One with a view facing the ocean. I did not use the spa or had breakfast at the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivedt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Ive from Canada,
Glad to know you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks for the recognition of my time and effort to respond to all reviews. We really take everyone's feedback to heart here. Suppliers of food, products, procedures, amenities etc... have been changed just based on our guest feedback. This is the power of the internet which really bring us much closer. We understand the role and responsibility we play in each of our guest memories and that can't be taken lightly. Gracias! and see you soon. :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

We picked this hotel because of it's location coming off a Carnival Cruise ship. The hallways had outdated carpeting and had a musty smell. The elevators were a big pain because you had to insert your room card to go from the 3rd floor and up and 60% of the time it did not work! You have to keep swiping and swiping until you got the green light to proceed to your floor. There was one lady in the elevator with us who said she had her card replaced 3 times and other people in the elevator were commenting on the same thing. When we got to our room, the safe did not work, either using a 6 number combination or a credit card. When I called it down, they said they were going to send somebody up right away and after waiting an hour, I went down to let them know again and I was told that they did send somebody up so I just told them to send the guy up to reset it or whatever. I was told that I had to be there in the room so they could show me how to use it (like I was dumb and it couldn't have been their system at fault). I have been to many hotels and resorts and even in ship's safes and it is certainly not rocket science to operate them and they certainly don't need you in the room to reset it. The last thing I wanted to do was stay in my room waiting for somebody to reset the safe in my one night stay in Puerto Rico! The burger place (Chicago Burgers), I don't know if they operate it, was way overpriced and service was terrible. We had to wait almost 10 minutes after seating down before we were shown the menu. The only reason I did not give it a terrible rating was because of it's location but I expected much better from a Sheraton Hotel. You would be better off choosing another hotel in Old San Juan and probably end up paying quite a bit less. I would definitely not stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mannie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Mannie form Canada,
We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. We truly regret the inconveniences incurred during your one night stay. The key on the elevators to access all guest floors is a security measure and we just happened to replace the sensors yesterday, so we expect the keys to work fine on your first try. We don't understand why you had to wait for the safety box reset and also regret you did not feel like you got value for your rate. Not sure when you stayed but usually one night stays during weekends cost more since we seldom get to resell the room for 1 night only. Nonetheless, overall we needed meet your expectations in all aspects. We do hope that we get another opportunity and deliver a Wow! experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
1.6 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
2.4 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
1.8 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,652 reviews
3.3 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
1.7 mi away
Hyatt House San Juan
Hyatt House San Juan
#9 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel

Property: Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel
Address: 100 Brumbaugh Street | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico (Formerly Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino)
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#15 Family Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel is situated in the heart of historic and romantic old San Juan district. We are ideally located on the waterfront, just a few moments from the docking point of grand cruise ships. We are literally "Steps from Everything" as you can walk to over 200 restaurants, cafe's, pubs, shops & much more. There is also a secluded beach 0.7 miles / 13 minute walk across Capitol - Senate house in Old San Juan or a 1.1 mile scenic walk to pristine Escambron beach which has food kiosks etc. Discover why Old San Juan is the Caribbean's most visited city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel And Casino
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel San Juan
Sheraton San Juan
San Juan Sheraton
Old San Juan Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing