We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“location...location!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel
Ranked #20 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Belleville, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“location...location!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

we found this hotel to be very clean and also had friendly staff..they had great dinner and drink specials. From here you can walk around all of San Juan or catch the free bus or tram right across the street. The ferry that takes you to the Bacardi rum factory is also right across the street!
no it's not a 5 star ...but the prices are reasonable and the location is first rate! hotel is clean and food is wonderful

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlene E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear CE from Canada,
Thanks for the nice, straight to the points facts. You took some very nice photos. We are glad you really enjoyed your stay with us and hope you come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    611
    898
    501
    144
    122
See reviews for
539
996
95
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (497)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Wareham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
49 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

This is a nice hotel. But do not stay here expecting to walk out to the beach. Most beaches are 30 minute drive. Cruise ships dock across the street so it is busy. Better for couples without children. You must park in garage up the street. $13.00 a day. You are also charged when leaving $19.66 a day for maintenance fees. Pool is on 9th floor and very small. Also only 4 feet deep. If you are here for beaches, this is not for you. Old San Juan has a busy night life. Expect a lot if car traffic. Room had no fridge or microwave. No couch or pullout. Windows do not open. View of parking garage. A/C can only be turned down to 68. Enjoy. Staff was very friendly. For what was offered, not worth the price.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jon r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Jon from Massachusetts,
Thanks for the brief but condensed review. We are sorry you booked here expecting a beachfront location. Although, you could walk 1.5 miles to the very nice Escambron beach or take the $0.75 air conditioned bus to 4 excellent beaches within 20-30 min. (Escambron, Condado, Ocean Park, Isla Verde), we certainly don't promote ourselves as a beach property. We cater mostly to those who want the convenience of being at walking distance from all the many, many things to do in Historic Old San Juan. Parking and hotel fees are also very competitive for this market. Nonetheless, we do regret you did not feel you receive a good value vs expectations. We hope we can have another opportunity in the future to make it up.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

My group was travelling back to the continental US after staying in a rental property for a week and spent the last night here. The room I stayed in was very smelly and quite small, especially for the price. The room wasn't particularly clean, nor was the fitness center very impressive. The front desk was helpful enough to send up a rollaway upon request. Typical of hotels like this category, nothing was free or included. The casino was small, and had very few table/card games, with the majority being slots. I played at a $10 blackjack table and the dealers were good, but I was disappointed with the lack of games. The location is pretty nice for exploring Old San Juan, but not very convenient for anything else (including the airport).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Alex from Colorado,
Thanks for sharing your experience here. Your feedback is important to us as we all of our guest quality experience. Taking your time to share your points of view assist us with planning and or corrections as needed. We hope that you also enjoyed your rental vacation and continue to visit Old San Juan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janesville, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
145 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

I stayed here 3 nights as part of a business program that I attended. The location is great as you can walk everywhere in Old San Juan, but otherwise I found this an average hotel.
First off, the room is clean as is the bathroom. Also the bedding was new and sparkly white, which I love. I found the tv hard to use as you had to hold the remote just a certain way to get it to even work. Also the hotel room information was missing - you know the booklet that tells you when to check out, work the tv and its channels, use the phone, where the amenties are in the building...... when I called to ask for it, all got was a print out of tv channels............ Oh boy! Patience is a virtue!
I found it to be secure as in the fact that you have to use your room key card to access the elevator. Now having said that, I stupidly left out a silver bracelet that I had purchased the day before and of course, 20 minutes later as I rushed back to the room, the bracelet was gone. Now I know not to do that as I have travelled a bit and I do accept that it was my fault for leaving it out. I did call the security office and front desk several times, but nothing was ever "turned" in. I also felt that I was bothering them as they really could have cared less.
Having said all this, I did not let it ruin my time in San Juan, as I found it very lovely.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Temple_seeker853
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear guest from Wisconsin,
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. Although glad you enjoyed your stay in Old San Juan we sincerely apologize for the inconveniences experienced which are quite unacceptable. Would appreciate if you have other details that you could share about the persons, dates, times you had these issues at: sales@sheratonoldsanjuan.com so that we can follow-up accordingly. You have a very nice attitude and this is a great asset these days. We do hope we get to have you back at some time and provide the WOW! experience you deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

My husband and I flew to Puerto Rico to catch a cruise ship. We stayed 2 nights in this wonderful hotel. It is walking distance to everything in Old San Juan. Very convenient when you have no idea where you are :). The restaurants attached and close by are great! Also, nice when you want to sight see and you can either walk or take a trolly. The rooms and amenities are pretty fabulous as well. Totally going back again.

Room Tip: The higher up you are the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aimee0423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Aimee,
Thanks for sharing your experience here and the kind words. It makes us very happy to learn when we contribute to great memories. Traveling should always be exciting and fun and we are glad to be part of that. We hope you also enjoyed your cruise as well and that we see you here soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chesieres
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

I stayed there just one night on my way to the Virgin Islands.
The hotel is barely to the Sheraton standard.
There is a tired microscopic casino and a tired small bar, where in the morning you get a tired breakfast. Everything is dusty and tired.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruggero2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear guest,
We appreciate your feedback and we regret that your experience was not in accordance with our quality brand standards. We hope we have another opportunity in the near future to make it up to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stayed at the Sheraton Old SanJuan for one night after our cruise. The hotel was very clean and the staff was very helpful. Our room on the 9th floor with a view of the port was fantastic. The Sheraton stored our luggage after we got off the ship which allowed us to tour Old San Juan. they called uswat about 1:30 to let us know our room was ready. I highly recommend this hotel because of it's location and friendly staff.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wilkie628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thanks for sharing your experience here and the nice comments about our staff. Although we have 240 guest rooms, we strive to act and feel like a small personal boutique hotel. Look forward to having you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
1.6 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
2.4 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
1.8 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,653 reviews
3.3 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
1.7 mi away
Hyatt House San Juan
Hyatt House San Juan
#9 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel

Property: Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel
Address: 100 Brumbaugh Street | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico (Formerly Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino)
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#15 Family Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel is situated in the heart of historic and romantic old San Juan district. We are ideally located on the waterfront, just a few moments from the docking point of grand cruise ships. We are literally "Steps from Everything" as you can walk to over 200 restaurants, cafe's, pubs, shops & much more. There is also a secluded beach 0.7 miles / 13 minute walk across Capitol - Senate house in Old San Juan or a 1.1 mile scenic walk to pristine Escambron beach which has food kiosks etc. Discover why Old San Juan is the Caribbean's most visited city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel And Casino
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel San Juan
Sheraton San Juan
San Juan Sheraton
Old San Juan Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing