We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Location, location, location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel
Ranked #19 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Zanesville, Ohio
Level Contributor
143 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Very clean room In a great location. Pool is tiny and due to shape doesn't get sun in early and/or late day. There were plenty of restaurants within walking distance, free tram was right across the street to the forts, piers for cruise ships were right across the street so plenty of vendors everywhere. The casino is nice but small and tight. Went to El Dente (Italian), Triana (Spanish), and the Berlin Cafe. I would recommend any of them in a second. If you take the free tram to bus stop 20 on top of the hill you can walk back down the cobblestone streets and do some shopping. Very fun town and very nice and centrally located hotel. Enjoy.

Room Tip: Ask to face bay and the higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dble-D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear guest from Ohio,

Thanks for sharing your feedback here. We are glad you enjoyed our privileged location and our stay overall. We hope to see you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,088 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    553
    820
    468
    134
    113
See reviews for
485
914
86
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (458)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
66 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We arrived on a midnight flight and were pleased to have no issues upon checking in. Although the rooms here are a tad outdated and worn, the place is spotless. And I do understand that they are getting ready for a renovation. We were staying on starwood points, so we did not have the best view, BUT, we did get upgraded to a suite which had a large sitting area and a very large bedroom and bath area. The staff was friendly and helpful with the exception of the consierge, who was not helpful with directions, in the least. The hotel is located directly across from where the cruise ships dock so there is alot of acitivity and shops. There is a CVS around the corner that sells wine, beer and liquor, sunsceen, and everything you need! There is shuttle the putters around Old Town that stops about every quarter mile, that you can catch right across the street, although everything in Old Town is within walking distance. The pool at the hotel is very small, and there is not a reasonable beach close by, but you will be able to have an amazing amount of dining options and shopping steps away. Be prepared that there are alot of homeless along the streets begging during the day and sleeping at night.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 515. No view but a nice layout for a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Icaretwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear guest from Colorado,
We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience during your stay. Very nice and detailed review. We will follow-up with concierge services. Glad you really enjoyed your time here and recognized the benefits of being in Old San Juan just steps away from so much to do. Look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

We are arrived at the Sheraton Old San Juan location, It was a smaller lobby but nice presentation and location! We PAID to upgrade our room to a suite and had a wonderful view of the ships and cruises that came in to Puerto Rico! The room was OK, and location was ok. Although no actual beaches in Old San Juan you can take a local bus or taxi to a beach near by. This hotels manager and management proceedings has been the WORST I have ever experienced, While I checked my bank statements I saw that a total of 1300 dollars was being held for "incidentals" (my room & tax was already pre-paid) the room upgrade was no where near this hold, and I was told that it was a mistake and we had also incurred a smoking fee of 200 dollars. Now we are smokers and enjoyed smoking black and mild cigars outside with the local workers at the next door "Senor frogs" We would bring in the remaining part of our cigars with us. We NEVER smoked in our room. While housekeeping came to clean our room they actually brought a camera with them to snap pictures of our cigars inside our sweater pockets and on the main table where they where set! TALK ABOUT VIOLATION OF PRIVACY!!! When we went downstairs to talk the manager she was uninterested, unapologetic and quick to flaunt the pictures that where taken in our room saying this was proof enough and that she was not crediting the 200 dollar fee. In front of us where 2 elderly women, one of them an actual Nun that had blessed us the day before and they where being charged a ridiculous amount for stains on a blanket!! Also I witnessed them showing them pictures taken of inside their room. Is this a SHERATON property, since when is it ok to send housekeeping with cameras in to a guests room??!!! The manager went so far as to accusing us of having illegal drugs in our room! We where so shocked and appalled by this behavior that we could not wait to leave this property. We where a group of 4 and none of us have ever been treated this way in any other country or Sheraton hotel. The hotel is ok, location is ok, the management at this hotel needs a boot!!!! Oh and the pool is horrible, its so small and dirty.

Room Tip: Walls at the hotel are paper thin and just by having a simple conversation they will send someone up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Z P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear ZP from New York,
Wow! Not sure what happened here. We are a non smoking property but I we'll certainly have to review the SOP's for better handling. Also, confused by the amount held on your credit card. We regret this marred your otherwise pleasant stay at our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

This hotel is located directly across the street from the cruise ship terminals and a short walk to shopping, restaurants, and old San Juan attractions. The free trolley stop was located 1/2 block away. Senor Frogs is next door and a CVS is one block away.The hotel was very clean and the staff friendly and helpful. The beds were exceptionally comfortable.The pool area with hot tub is located on the 9th floor and great views are provided on this level. We were upgraded to a partial water view room on the 7th floor. This provided good views of both the water and the cruise ships. I think views from the full water view rooms would be mostly blocked by the huge cruise ships docked there. We do not gamble, therefore can not rate the casino. The only drawback we had was the noise level in the hallway. The doors to all rooms slam closed and the sound penetrates. Our room 712 was located directly across from the ice machine room. This was also noise generating. We found the noise to be only a minor annoyance and definately plan to stay here again.

Room Tip: Do not pay for airport to hotel transportation offered through some travel sites at $45-$50 per pers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Allen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Allen from Florida,
Thanks for your great feedback shared here. Short, detailed and with great tios. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Peak
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Booked a suite for a 6 night stay for Feb 2013 several months ago and after some initial teething problems with the online booking system we were looking forward to our stay

The room/suite was great(332) clean and spacious although some of the fixtures and fittings were very dated. Continental breakfast was inc within the deal and they operate a voucher system so make sure the receptionist hands them to you on check in. Ours didn't and when we finally got them we were 4 short. 5 trips later over 4 days to reception we finally got the vouchers but sadly no apology or explanation. The servers in the restaurant at breakfast were a bit hit and miss- when good they were excellent and when bad they were terrible and on numerous occasions we had to ask for refreshments (milk, tea, juice) several times over. One in particular, actually huffed at me when I asked for tea !!
Avoid sitting outside for breakfast as tempting as it is - too many pigeons scavenging on the tables - poorly managed by the restaurant as the tables were not cleared quickly enough when guests had finished enabling the pigeons to have a veritable feast of scraps !! It also means you daren't leave your table either !! This needs urgent attention in our opinion.
They have a great happy hour where you can sit and cruise ship watch with very reasonably priced drinks - just wished they opened this facility at lunchtime for a snack. Again watch the service as it can also be poor
As other reviewers have mentioned, the wifi is very poor and slow - stronger signals were available from the cruise ships parked over the road !!
The hotel is very busy with pre and post cruise ship passengers as you would expect but it can too often result in a clinical/business like atmosphere which is a shame
The hotel is dated, but we knew that when we booked so that didn't matter but it does lack quality service which for the price we paid we did expect it to be better

Can't fault the location and it allowed us to visit with easy access, lots of restaurants/ historical sites all on foot or by using the free trolley that stops across the road.

Avoid the Chicago Burger grill - it was so poor with dirty tables, tasteless food, poor staff and over run with pigeons -quite expensive too what a waste of $57 !!

All things considered, if visiting OSJ again, I would stay here although probably wouldn't pay the premium for a suite again. We feel the issues we had over our 6 night stay are easily fixed - it just needs managing !!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cook1e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Mr. Cook from High Peak,
We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with us. Glad you enjoyed our great location but obviously in agreement with your comment about many of the Hit & miss are avoidable. We certainly will take note with the respective areas in order to address and correct were needed. We hope to see ou back soon and delivering the quality service you are entitled to.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dearborn, Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

We recently stayed here after a cruise. We picked this hotel based mainly on location. The hotel is within walking distance of the cruise piers and located in Old San Juan. We arrived in port around 7AM and was off the ship around 9AM made the short walk to the hotel and of course the room was not ready that early. We did request early check in and was told the room should be ready around noon. The hotel staff stated they would call me when the room was ready. The hotel was staff was able to store our luggage until the room was ready. Many, many other cruise guests were checking into the hotel at the same time. I suggest making reservations well in advance. Once checked in, we walked around Old San Juan. The hotel is located in a great location for shopping, eating and sightseeing so there was plenty to do while waiting for the room. If you decide to wait at the hotel there is only a very small lounge area that quickly filled with other waiting guests. We were able to get into our room around noon. The rooms are large in size and comfortable. The hotel was slightly dated both in the common areas and in the rooms. Some of the furniture in the room had some damage (mostly cosmetic). Bathroom was large, but slightly outdated. Nothing special as far as room amenities, which included just the very basic shampoo, hand soap, coffee and plastic cups. I only point this out because the price for this hotel is about $250/per night. Usually for a price that high you have a more up to date room and quality amenities. We only stayed one night and spent most of the time out of the hotel, so we were not able to experience much of what the hotel had to offer
All and all this is a good hotel for a short stay prior to or after a cruise. Great location in Old san Juan! Taxi service available 24 hours directly outside the hotel. Just a little high in the price category. Enjoy!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Dan from Michigan,
Thanks for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your visit with us although too short. Hope you also enjoyed your cruise and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ct., USA
Level Contributor
130 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

We booked through Expedia, which promised/sold us a bay view room and king size bed. We got a room with double beds and a view of Dona Fela's parking lot (room 820). But since we arrived at 10 AM from New York and were given the room key on the spot we accepted the down-sized value. Since our plan was Valentine's day weekend in Old San Juan--no beach, just walking around and watching the ships--it was ok for 4 nights.. Pool is very small but the gym is good size and open 24 hrs. I lost a blouse at the computer station in the reception area and by the time j turned around and asked if any one had found it it was already sitting across the street at their lost and found office! Nice service. Will stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MyrellaCt_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Saludos Myrella,
Thanks for sharing your experience. Will look into the room category booked since we do value our relationship with Expedia. However, glad you both enjoyed your Valentines getaway weekend n magical Old San Juan and very glad we found your lost item. Hope to see you both back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,506 reviews
2.4 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
1.8 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#20 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
2.1 mi away
The Condado Plaza Hilton
The Condado Plaza Hilton
#24 of 46 in San Juan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,328 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel

Property: Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel
Address: 100 Brumbaugh Street | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico (Formerly Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino)
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#15 Family Hotel in San Juan
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel is situated in the heart of historic and romantic old San Juan district. We are ideally located on the waterfront, just a few moments from the docking point of grand cruise ships. We are literally "Steps from Everything" as you can walk to over 200 restaurants, cafe's, pubs, shops & much more. There is also a secluded beach 0.7 miles / 13 minute walk across Capitol - Senate house in Old San Juan or a 1.1 mile scenic walk to pristine Escambron beach which has food kiosks etc. Discover why Old San Juan is the Caribbean's most visited city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel San Juan
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel And Casino
Sheraton San Juan
San Juan Sheraton
Old San Juan Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing