We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel
Ranked #18 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Reviewed February 3, 2013

stayed here for a couple of nights pre and post cruise...perfect location for getting to walk around and see all of Old San Juan.
Decent room for the price with a little kitchenette.
The hotel restaurant upstairs had a great view of the waterfront and cruise ships coming and going even if the service was a little sketchy.

Room Tip: Waterfront view room would be really nice..we had a parking lot :(
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RuthajBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Dear guest from Canada, Thanks for sharing your feedback here. Sorry you did not get a great view. Room views are separated by categories and rate structure. Anyhow, the good thing is that being in Old San Juan you have too many temptations and attractions to explore that the room view often goes unnoticed by many of our guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,376)
There are newer reviews for Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,443 - 1,449 of 2,376 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2013

Last September, my wife and I visited PR and stayed at the Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel and Casino. We had a great time and it is in the Old San Juan area. it is at walking distance from restaurant, bars, clubs, parks and tourist sites.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dcharles1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Dear guest from D.C.
Thanks for taking the time to share your experience here. Indeed, similar to many areas in D.C., Old San Juan has the convenience that everything you want & more, are just steps away from the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Just spent 3 nights in the Sheraton. A perfect location to tour Old San Juan. Hotel is clean and staff is pleasant. Pool on 9th floor is nice. We hung out there watching the cruise ships depart. Pretty cool. Our room was across from the elevator and we could hear everyone in the hallway. Also in the room next to us a group partied until 5, and I could hear them all night. Not the hotels fault. But just saying.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Dear guest from Maryland,
First of all, Congratulations on the Super Bowl win! Glad you enjoyed your visit although we are sorry you had some noisy neighbors. Next time, please let us know and our Associates will gladly address the situation to ensure your comfort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We had booked 2 nights with SPG cash and points at the Sheraton Old San Juan. The front desk was pleasant, and as we arrived early at 1pm, our room wasn't ready. We ventured out for a few hours and after coming back, we received our room key. As a Platinum SPG, they upgraded us to a suite facing the water and the cruiseship docks (room 432). The room was spacious with the living room area containing a table with chairs, desk, and couch, and flat screen TV and the bedroom with a separate flat screen TV. The room decor was a bit outdated, and the only complaint I had was the layout of the doors in the room, as the bathroom door kept banging/hitting the door between the bedroom and living area. The doors are not that thick, and if there are people talking outside in the hallways, you can hear it quite clear.

The location is great, we were able to walk outside and walk around Old San Juan. A lot of guests coming and going seemed to stay here before/after their cruise. At night there are a lot of police officers on the main street. There is a CVS close by and convenient if you need anything. We didn't try out the restaurants and the pools, but the casino was ok and we enjoyed playing with the penny slots. They did give us a set of $5 vouchers to match your game when you play blackjack.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay here, and would come back here again using cash and points.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gizm0_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Dear guest from PA,
Thanks for sharing your experience here. Very detailed and I don't think we had this feedback regarding the bathroom door, so it is an interesting point that we will look into. Indeed, Old San Juan is very safe since it is busy with locals and tourists 24 / 7 all year round. Thanks for being an SPG Platinum and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

I flew out to San Juan from New Jersey with one day of notice, and I booked my room at the Sheraton from the airport before flying in, which pretty much involved going on spg.com and booking the first thing I saw. In retrospect, I should have booked the Convention Centre Sheraton or the Courtyard, as that was more in the area I needed to be. With that being said though, this Sheraton is in a very tourist-friendly part of town right on the ocean with plenty of bars and restaurants within walking distance. The bar just down the street serves some especially good Puerto Rican food.

The staff were all quite friendly and enthusiastic, including in the casino where I used up my match bet coupons. Other than that, the room and decor was pretty standard Sheraton but with a more touristy feel. If I go to San Juan on a leisure trip in the near future (and I certainly want to) I would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PersonalEnsign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Dear guest from New Jersey!
We appreciate your feedback online and are glad you enjoyed Old San Juan. We are only 10 min. (2 miles) from the Convention Center and hope you continue to explore the Caribbean's most visited city, even during your business trips. Here, you won't have to drive anywhere at night after a long day at work. Look forward to your visit soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

As an SPG member, I chose this Sheraton over likewise priced hotels because of the service I always receive at SPG chains. Also, based on the location I knew it was central to everything I would be doing in El Viejo San Juan. I was greeted as soon as my taxi pulled up and my bags were retrieved promptly. The lobby area was clear and I went right up to the desk. I was somewhat disappointed to see the Casino as I knew this would add about 20% of fees to my bill and I was not wrong. I got my room key #708 and the bell boy took me to my room. He gave me a brief overview of the layout, offered to get me ice and left. As mentioned by previous reviewers, the hotel is located to where the cruise ships dock and therefore experiences high traffic. As a result, the rooms look worn. I had a great view of Pier 2 from my window and spent hours just gazing outside. The hotel was pleasant enough, service was great but compared to say the Sheraton at the Convention Centre, this one lacks the elegance and class of the latter. Nevertheless based solely on location, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Miicha04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Thank you for your feedback and for being one of our loyal SPG members. Gov't. Tax on island is 9% for non Casino properties and 11% for Casino properties. We are glad you certainly enjoyed staying at the heart of Old San Juan. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stayed here and although I enjoyed the area in which the hotel was situated, I was not encouraged by the individuals rooms. The moment I entered the hotel room for the first time and saw the bathroom, I was disappointed to see a Sheraton look like...this. The sheets were dirty (there were spots on the flat & fitted sheets) and the bathroom tiles needed a severe upgrade. The carpet also needed to be pulled out and replaced. Great area...just needs updated rooms.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Haids L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Dear Customer from Vancouver,
Thanks for the feedback. We regret that your room here seemed outdated in some areas. We are currently taking steps for mayor exciting improvements to all guest rooms this year. Thanks again for your support and hope we may have the opportunity to host you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
1.7 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
0.4 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 47 in San Juan
2,762 reviews
0.1 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#5 of 47 in San Juan
961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 47 in San Juan
7,192 reviews
2.4 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
2.1 mi away
The Condado Plaza Hilton
The Condado Plaza Hilton
#24 of 47 in San Juan
4,910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel

Address: 100 Brumbaugh Street | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico (Formerly Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino)
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#15 Family Hotel in San Juan
Price Range: $153 - $320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel is situated in the heart of historic and romantic old San Juan district. We are ideally located on the waterfront, just a few moments from the docking point of grand cruise ships. We are literally "Steps from Everything" as you can walk to over 200 restaurants, cafe's, pubs, shops & much more. There is also a secluded beach 0.7 miles / 13 minute walk across Capitol - Senate house in Old San Juan or a 1.1 mile scenic walk to pristine Escambron beach which has food kiosks etc. Discover why Old San Juan is the Caribbean's most visited city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel And Casino
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel San Juan
Sheraton San Juan
San Juan Sheraton
Old San Juan Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing