We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Before & after cruise stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel
Ranked #19 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
colorado springs, co
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Before & after cruise stay”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We spent 4 nights at the Sheraton Old San Juan before and after a cruise. This hotel is right by the piers and it is an easy walk to lots of sights in Old San Juan. The room was ok, nothing to brag about but it was clean (our room had a view of the parking structure across the side street) and the staff was friendly. Across the street you can catch a ferry over to the Bacardi rum factory which was a fun adventure. Much cheaper to catch ferry & then a taxi, then to take taxi all the way around. All an all, this hotel is very convient to wandering around Old San Juan and a wide assortment of places to eat.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tcfb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
We appreciate the time taken to share your experience and more importantly are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope you also noticed the new Boardwalk across the street "Bahia Urbana" which is also expanding later thins month to include auditorium with live music, kiosks, etc.. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    644
    925
    515
    145
    122
See reviews for
572
1,022
96
157
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (509)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ohio
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Stayed at the Sheraton Old San Juan Oct 12-14 2012 pre cruise. My husband and I stayed at this property 10 years ago when it was a Wyndham property and knew it was a great choice then, hoping it would be again. We were not disappointed! Perfect for touring the forts, dining in the area, and getting on a cruise ship! We ate breakfast 2 mornings while we were there. Had the buffet both times. Quick, convenient and good. Ate dinner one night at The Chicago Burger Co. that is in the hotel. Very good! Sat outside, service was good and there was a band playing. Great atmosphere! We had a suite overlooking the pier. I woke up very early (3:30 am) the morning of our departure, and, my ship had come in!!! Hard to get back to sleep after seeing that! Check out was quick and easy. Overall this was a great choice again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jmarie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thanks for coming back even if it took you 10 years. We are very glad you continue to enjoy your experience here. Let's see how we can surprise you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Sheraton for one night just as a stopover between Caribbean flights. It is an easy ~$20 taxi ride from Luis Muñoz Marín Airport and an excellent place to start a walking tour around Old San Juan. We arrived mid-afternoon and had a great time wandering around the cobblestone streets for a couple hours. There seem to be quite a few good places to eat/drink nearby also.

The hotel itself is nice, clean, and the staff are perfectly friendly. The rooms are average; nothing too extraordinary but a comfortable place to spend the night. When we were there, no cruise ships were in the port. We never went in the casino area of the hotel nor did we take advantage of the breakfast room service.

Overall, we were satisfied with this hotel. I wouldn't have wanted to spend more than a couple days here, however; you can probably see most of OSJ in two days and would probably want to find accommodations with a bit more character (and for less money).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JustinCase713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thanks for the feedback. Indeed, Old San Juan is the best city to truly experience the island history and culture. There are over 200 restaurants / pubs within walking distance of the hotel. Glad you enjoyed the visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

I've stayed at this property in the past, & enjoy the location, plus the simplicity of the property. Being in Old San Juan you walk everywhere. There are stores close by (CVS etc), restaurants, bars, both forts, & ferries. The property itself is always clean. The concierge is great when it comes to booking trips, tours etc. We only did the breakfast buffet in the morning. No other services. But we were content with the food offered on the buffet. However, I wish there was 24 room service!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the "outside"
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Saludos Mark! Thanks for sharing your experience here. Sorry I responded late to your comments, I must have by passed by error. Anyhow, very glad you had fun and enjoyed your stay with us. You're right..... we provide everything you need - BUT excess. We regret we currently don't offer 24 hr room service (til 11pm). We've tested this before but there never seem to be enough demand at this location; provided that we are surrounded by over 200 Restaurants & Pubs some of which stay open all night. Look forward to your next visit and if you plan on late evening meal ;-) let us know beforehand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Really enjoyed this property. Perfect location. We were able to get the free trolley right across the street and most of the time we walked everywhere. Room was clean and the hotel staff were extremely helpful, especially the concierge. We had a water view and were able to watch the cruise ships come and go. Had previously read a few negative reviews and was a little skeptical but I have to say this property was a great value and great place to stay. My husband and I travel a lot for business and so we get pretty critical of properties. Is this a 5 star resort - no. But, like I said, it is a great value, great location, clean property with a wonderful staff. I would not hesitate to recommend this to travelers.

Room Tip: Get a water view room and get higher up to enjoy the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrissyT1023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you so much for this kind review. We are glad to contribute towards your positive memories during this visit. Hope we have more opportunities to host you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga
Level 6 Contributor
590 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

if you are attending congress at San Juan convention centre, this is most perfect hotel to stay, while it is - within one min walk from each other, has a great rooms, infinity outdoor pool, bars, restaurants and even some altearnative restaurants neer by. be aware that hotel public areas are very well air-condinioned and upon entrance to large lobby, you will have cool air shower. when you get to the room, it is spacious and well organized. bed is comfy. only i can't understand, why blankets is not inserted into cover, but placed over sheet... you also can't open windows in rooms without balcony, so there are no chance to get fresh air :( i don't know about breakfast, but our group has specially arranged and that was fine. please note that there are no shuttle services between hotel and airport, so you will need to use taxi, but it is reasonably priced.

Room Tip: if you have a chance, than ask for the sea view instead of garden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aigars S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Based on the location and hotel facility description, I believe you are referring to the Sheraton Puerto Rico hotel across the Convention Center. Although, many convention attendees stay with us as well, we are two miles from the Convention center located in the hear of Old San Juan. Glad you enjoyed your visit to a Sheraton property as well to Puerto Rico and hope you return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manati, Puerto Rico
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

I was staying there for 2 nights, the bedroom is beautiful and big, very clean and comfortable, Just perfect. It has wunderfull view to the bay of San Juan and the cruises from the last floor where the pool is located but the only thing I did'nt like was that the pool was too small and it wasn't to deep just 4 ft.. It has a nice and huge gym.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Imeth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thanks for the note. Perhaps our pool is not too large due to our rooftop limitations but hope you did enjoy our privileged location just steps from everything there is to do in Old San Juan. We look forward to having you here soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
1.6 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
0.4 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 47 in San Juan
2,711 reviews
2.4 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#20 of 47 in San Juan
7,050 reviews
0.1 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#6 of 47 in San Juan
944 reviews
3.3 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel

Property: Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel
Address: 100 Brumbaugh Street | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico (Formerly Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino)
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#15 Family Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel is situated in the heart of historic and romantic old San Juan district. We are ideally located on the waterfront, just a few moments from the docking point of grand cruise ships. We are literally "Steps from Everything" as you can walk to over 200 restaurants, cafe's, pubs, shops & much more. There is also a secluded beach 0.7 miles / 13 minute walk across Capitol - Senate house in Old San Juan or a 1.1 mile scenic walk to pristine Escambron beach which has food kiosks etc. Discover why Old San Juan is the Caribbean's most visited city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel And Casino
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel San Juan
Sheraton San Juan
San Juan Sheraton
Old San Juan Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing