We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location for old town San Juan” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel
Ranked #20 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Herndon, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
98 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Good location for old town San Juan”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

I came to PR with a group of friends and we all stayed at the Sheraton. First impression was it is very convenient for old town san juan and the cruise terminals. Additionally, it's very lively at night if you walk around a bit. There are some great restaurants close by, plus bars and clubs just a few blocks away. The rooms aren't bad, maybe we got lucky but I didn't have any complaints about the rooms themselves. We easily walked around Old Town from our hotel, going through the fortresses and city shops. One thing, and I'm not sure if I was just lucky, but the casino tables are hot. Blackjack I kept winning (and no i'm not really much of a black jack player). Seriously, I'd spend like $250 for the day and win mroe than that back at the casino. I repeated this several nights. it's a small casino, slots and a few card games (roulette being one too) but was nice to unwind in the late evenings. It seems to aslo be open all day and night.

Food we didn't eat at the hotel, their Pina Colada is awesome though, not sweet like it is here but very tasty. Last thing I didn't really feel threatened by that may be because I was in a group (talking about the area now). It is dark at night, lot of people around walking up to food carts and such...but didn't feel any more or less scared then I would normally. if you get a good price, sheraton is pretty good stay. Recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Winston S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for the time to post a review. Glad you really enjoyed Old San Juan. It is a special city since it's busy with visitors 24 / 7 which also enhances it's safety record. You could have even tried the food carts as they are really famous between locals. One of my favorite is "trompo taco" the most original Mexican food cart ever. Anyhow, Old San Juan keeps evolving, now with NEW free trolleys and soon the light-rail system with stops to other areas including the Convention Center (2 miles away). Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    593
    883
    492
    143
    119
See reviews for
521
981
93
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (488)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malta, New York
Level Contributor
170 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed here a few nights before our cruise. Nice room, nice location. We were able to walk easily to the port and to all other areas we visited in Old San Juan. The area got a little sketchy at night, with several homeless people sleeping in the storefronts nearby. Also, a man with a cut up face approached us at night telling us some story of how he got jumped and his father was in the hospital, and that he was staying at the Sheraton. He claimed his father already was at the hospital but that he didn't have money for a cab to meet him there. He tried asking us for a few dollars but we didn't bring any cash on us for these types of reasons. The story didn't add up and we never asked the hotel staff if there was any truth to it. Some areas are very unsafe, you need to be careful around this area of SJ.

Don't waste your time with the burger joint attached to the hotel. Terrible service. Slow. Unfriendly. Unappreciative. Nothing special about the food. I wish we'd never gone there but we were desperate and it was close.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience. We regret your experience at the Burger outlet was not excellent. Amazed by the story some jobless people may come up with for a few bucks. Old San Juan has one of the safest records in the Caribbean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roland, Arkansas
Level Contributor
83 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

Just stayed there September 22 to go on a Carnival cruise the next day. The rate was slightly under $200. We had a view of a parking garage, this was OK as we arrived late in the evening. The only negatives were the slats on the left shutter did not close enough to keep out the light from the parking garage and the room smelled musty and damp, but not unbareable. This is a great location for boarding the cruise ship. The front desk staff and the bellmen were very friendly and helpful.
The restaurant was good. We had the continental style breakfast. The oatmeal was wonderful. There were assorted cold cuts, cheese, breads, and fruit. The meal was very filling.
If I were going on another cruise, I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Opt for the ocean view if you arrive early enough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deborah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
We truly appreciate your feedback. Not sure if we were notified about the shutter - light problem since I'm pretty sure we could have helped with black-outs, etc. Glad you enjoyed the great breakfast buffet served daily at Palio. You really look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

Location - directly across from the cruise port/terminal, restaurants, CVS and old San Juan.

Room - stayed in room 619, window view was of the garage; however, I wasn't expecting a view anyways as I opted for a affordable standard room. Maybe next time I'll pay more for a view of the harbor/ocean as the window directly faces the cruise ships as they come into port. Knowing this hotel is on a tropical island, I expected the room to have a damp/musty smell but I bought an air freshener beforehand and it made the entire stay more welcoming.

Pool Towels - Provided, however, they look old and used...I suggest bringing your own. They also charge $20/towel if they are not returned to the room.

Staff - all the ladies at the front desk were very warm, friendly and courteous. The gentlemen that stood at the Valet and inside the hotel lobby to greet you always smiled.


Would definitely use the hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chibi00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Gracias for the note! We just completed installation of new digital thermostats in all guest rooms allowing us to control room temperatures more efficiently in order to maintain a/c on when room is not occupied. Not sure about the pool towels (blue) since they are relatively new. Will double check and review with vendor. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambria Heights, NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

Stayed here 9/30-10/1. Room 303 was supposed to be a suite. Spacious, YES. Food and gum wrappers were on the floor upon arrival. TV barely worked. Stains on couch and carpet. Please I know its tempting to stay here if you are going or returning from a cruise but don't do it! Never again. Paid $315 but room was worth $50.Dont do it! Stayed at Ritz Carlton the weekend before and it was AMAZING!

Room Tip: Go to the Ritz Carlton..you won't regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank woodsie86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
We appreciate your candid feedback, but truly regret your experience did not meet your expectations. This room has been thoroughly inspected for cleanliness and standards. Anyhow, if we can ever be of service to you in the future, please send me a note at sales@sheratonoldsanjuan.com (Armando). We will make it a mission to surpass your expectations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
201 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

The hotel is across the street from the old cruise ship terminal. There were three Carnival’s ships in the harbor on my arrival date.

Most of the shops, restaurants and tourist sites are within walking distance.

The parking lot is operated by a private company and the structure is about a block from the hotel. Hotel has a valet on duty 24 hours per day.

The Internet speed on Wi-Fi was very good.

The hotel is an older building. The outside of the building is very modern. The interior is very clean has a fresh smell. The front desk staff found my reservation without any problems.
The room was very large the clothing closet and dresser are very large. The bathroom has a bath tub with a shower. The sink has an extra long countertop.
There is a medium size work table. The room has very good lighting.

Room Tip: The building takes a square block. The best view of the harbor are from the rooms facing the harbor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George700East
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thanks for the compliment. We try to act & feel like a small boutique hotel with personal guest interaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Stayed here one night since we are traveling around to look at wedding venues and locations around town.

Room - Double queen bed on the 5th floor. A/C works once started and left for a few hours, when arrived it was muggy. Room consist of tv, safe, dresser, closet, coffee, hair dryer etc.

Casino - Small casino - Mainly blackjack tables at $10 min (maybe 6 tables). No Craps table, 3-4 roulette table 10-15 minimum. Lots of slots, but overall very small casino, nothing fancy. American currency used and exchanged etc.

Hotel - Has restaurant that we did not try, pool and gym did not visit.

Internet - Room had free wifi and free hard wire connection. There was also office business counter downstairs with 3 cpu and a printer

Valet - Noted sign for $20 per day

Taxi - Taxi to airport or to hotel is flat rate in town.

$19 up to 4 people
$21 6
$22 up to 8

$2 dollar instant charge
$1 per bag

3 of us for 3 luggage from airport to this hotel was $24 about 30 min. Set flat rate to and from airport/hotel no matter.

Location - Good place, can walk to various areas along streets. Cruise port is near as well. Overall decent safe place and quiet. Recommended if get a good deal of course. Staff was helpful and some knew English and some didn't but all worked out Did not use taxi around town, just walked to various places and used yelp

Phone service - Have At&t and Sprint, had 3g/4g USA service throughout the town we went through which was VERY NICE! Helped and no dropped or spotty calls. Happy about that. All vendors use American currency and or cash of course. Nice place

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mbtran321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thanks for the thorough review. Hope to see you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
1.8 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,658 reviews
2.4 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
1.6 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,612 reviews
3.3 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
2.1 mi away
The Condado Plaza Hilton
The Condado Plaza Hilton
#24 of 46 in San Juan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel

Property: Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel
Address: 100 Brumbaugh Street | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico (Formerly Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino)
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#15 Family Hotel in San Juan
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel is situated in the heart of historic and romantic old San Juan district. We are ideally located on the waterfront, just a few moments from the docking point of grand cruise ships. We are literally "Steps from Everything" as you can walk to over 200 restaurants, cafe's, pubs, shops & much more. There is also a secluded beach 0.7 miles / 13 minute walk across Capitol - Senate house in Old San Juan or a 1.1 mile scenic walk to pristine Escambron beach which has food kiosks etc. Discover why Old San Juan is the Caribbean's most visited city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel And Casino
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel San Juan
Sheraton San Juan
San Juan Sheraton
Old San Juan Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing