We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location excellent”
Review of Condado Beach

Condado Beach
Ranked #16 of 202 things to do in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Beach that extends for several miles east of downtown (Old San Juan), which is lined with high-rise resorts and packed with sun worshippers.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Location excellent”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Right in the heart of all activities and away from the traffic. Have loungers and umbrellas for rent, waiters around to provide drinks, great place to just relax.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Comfort Inn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    409
    399
    242
    37
    19
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York,NY
Level Contributor
559 reviews
134 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“Favorite beach in San Juan”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

I love this beach. Plenty of restaurants,clubs and hotels in the immediate area. Water and waves are great as well.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank StefMillz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, PA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“San Juan - Holiday Inn and tidbits”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Stayed at the Holiday Inn 1 Mariano Ramirez Bages, Condado, f/1 night before leaving for cruise on Mar 2. Upon return from cruise, stayed at this same hotel f/extended trip to explore/enjoy San Juan.

When made reservation was not aware HI was under construction.
Prior to our visit, received email from Rewards dept. of this construction and if we wanted to cancel out the reservation. Contacted the Rewards dept. and discussed with them this issue. We (4 of us) decided to keep the reservation and work around the construction. Have stayed at other hotels (not HI) during construction and did not have issues. For the most part you are out and about during the day when the construction crew is there.

We arrived Sat. afternoon along with several other guests. Of course first thing we noticed was the renovation in the lobby. The “check-in/out” was moved down a curved hallway to a small open room where Edith was checking in other guests. Edith was helpful and processed each of us as quickly as possible. I would say it took about 15 mins. till the other guests were checked in till we were next for Edith to take care of us. This really was not long. We had been travelling all day – from about 6am till 4pm. A long day. We were tired and hungry. Of course with travelling we just wanted to get into our room and get settled, then out for a bite to eat. Patience goes a long way.

The 2 elevators are small and slow. We loaded the elevator with 1-person and our luggage – 8-pcs. The rest of us took the next elevator. When we got to our room (706) we were in one of the renovated rooms on the 7th floor – still in process. The room was small as is the bathroom. Everything appears to be new and very clean. With the renovations, there are no pictures on the wall (really, who cares…though it is nice and adds to the room). The shower does not have a door (has a glass wall) and the water does go out onto the bathroom floor. We tossed extra towels onto the floor. The toilet paper is low to the floor and if a child or small person, you would have difficulty reaching the TP. There is limited space at the sink or even in the bathroom to place items. We put the toilet seat down and used that for our clothes and the back of the toilet for other items. The towels / washcloths are on shelving in the shower area. There really is no place to hang any towels/washcloths after use (we used corner of the shower stall) or a place to put your bar of soap. These items may be added in later with completion of renovations? There was not a hair dryer in the room. I did read someone’s review where they noted this and called the front desk and one was brought to them. Having read this, I took my travel hair dryer. You know, on your cruise, depending on your room type, there is probably as much room in the cruise bathroom and the room itself, as to what was here at the HI.

When we returned from the cruise, we were in room 704. This room seemed a bit bigger than the room we had prior to our cruise ; bathroom same setup. There was a nice view to the beach/ocean, along with views of neighboring buildings/hotels. Watch the closet door, comes off the track. The beds (in both rooms) were nice size and very comfortable. That was a big plus for me. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Got us extra towels and towels for the beach and/or the pool.

The pool is small but a nice size to get in and jump/splash around. Great for those with little ones. Who needs an Olympic pool. It more than met our needs and we’re 4 Adults having fun. The hot tub was nice and soothing after a long day out walking around. Both were very clean. There are several lounge chairs and a little area with an awning for shade for the early morning.

Breakfast is (during our stay) next door at the Comfort Inn. Breakfast can be crowded depending on time you get there as they are not only serving their own guests but the HI guest as well. Patience. There was also a group of young students staying at the CI which may have a bit to do with the crowdedness. Breakfast consisted of eggs w/cheese made into like an omelet, sausage links, hard boiled eggs, asst. breads (toaster), 2-types of yogurt, waffle (make your own) with syrups and jellies and butter available. Danishes, bananas, several types of cereal plus milk, along with 2-types of juices and your coffee and hot tea. With being crowded the staff kept the food stocked. There was a nice selected of foods though after the 3rd day we did go somewhere else for breakfast.

To the beach, it’s out the front door to your right about 1-block to Ashford Ave. Cross over Ashford through the nice park to the beach. There’s the Renaissance Concha hotel with outside showers and bathroom facilities. We were able to use these which was very nice of the hotel to allow outside guests the use of these facilities. The beach is very nice and clean. Waves are high and rough. It was posted not recommended for swimming, though people were. There were quite a few surfers out enjoying the waves. We enjoyed watching them.

Ashford Ave. is the main hub of the area. Everyone talks about Walgreens being nearby, which it is. When you get to Ashford, turn right – its’ about 1 block. There’s also various restaurants. If you go to the left (this will take you towards old San Juan and to another beach – Condado). Nice little area. Cross over the bridge will take you into old San Juan. Near the HI there is a pizza place – Mike’s pizza on Ashford Ave. When you get to Ashford from HI, turn left; go about 1 block. Good pizza.

Streets are not very well marked in Condado. We had a map of area. We were able to figure out where we were and get around without to much difficulty. Thought once around the area you got a good feel of where you were. Watch out – there are quite a few people begging for money. Everyone seemed to have at least 1 dog. Dogs were quite, well behalf. Just laded there. Guest they are used to that life style too.

In evening, the main front lobby doors were locked over night and unlocked next morning. Access to hotel was at the temporary check-in/out desk area. At no time did we feel unsafe.

At HI, taxi's were readily available, parked nearby. On our departure to airport, gentlemen at front desk called a taxi for use. Before we got to the front door, our taxi had arrived.

Taxi’s. From airport to HI Condado cost is $15 plus $1 per luggage piece, plus driver tip.
From HI to ship, same price. And vice versa. At ship port, luggage handlers are seeking tips as well.

Keep lots of $1's handy.

Upon return from cruise, we did get a porter or luggage handler to help with luggage. This got us through customs so much quicker and out the door to a taxi to our hotel. I would recommend doing this. The $5 was well worth the tip.

Taxi into old San Juan was $15 one way, plus tip. In Old San Juan there are trolley’s that will take you around town at no cost, though they are seeking donations – collection box available. You can jump on/off the trolleys throughout the day. Great way to get around town.
We visited both the forts. Admission cost is $5 for both which is good for several days. So if you are in town you can do 1-fort and the 2nd fort another day. Or visit couple times. I can not recall price for one fort only. I would say $3ea. But if you are planning on visiting both the forts you have this option.

We had a great time in San Juan. Would definite do again. Yes, would stay at the HI again though may stay at another hotel as we like to “jump around” and see the difference between hotels. We are not fancy people. We like a nice, clean hotel w/breakfast offering a plus. This we got at the HI even under renovations. We don't need the resorts and the fancy bells and whistles...though, yes, sometimes that is nice!

I know this is long and covers more than the HI. But it gives you more info than on just one thing and may be of help to you. When, and if you do travel to San Juan, relax, and enjoy. It's a great place.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good location, can be crowded”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

I liked that this beach was very accessible by Condado Ave. There were times it was too crowded and the merchants were kind of annoying.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank mgiacone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful Beach”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We came here for a little while when we were in San Juan. Gorgeous beach area surrounded by hotels, restuarants, casinos. I will for sure revisit Condado beach when I return to San Juan. Not alot of algea like in some other san juan beaches.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Condado Beach also viewed

San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Condado Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing