We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“enjoyed the beach in Condado” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Condado Beach

Condado Beach
Ranked #18 of 194 things to do in San Juan
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Beach that extends for several miles east of downtown (Old San Juan), which is lined with high-rise resorts and packed with sun worshippers.
Louisville, Colorado
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“enjoyed the beach in Condado”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

I wasn't sure what to expect and was pleasently surprised with the beach. I was staying at the Marriott and the beach stretches all along Condado. It's not narrow at all and and I didn't notice a lot of trash or anything like that. Also, never noticed any homeless/beggars on the beach. Be careful of the currents -the undertow is very strong -I would not recommend children going in past their knees. there was some wind and storms in the area when I was there so the waves were big. Lots of body surfers were taking advantage and seemed to be having a ball.

Nicest beach we saw during our visit was on Culebra -powdery white sand beaches with clear water -awesome to visit and experience. It's a good day trip from San Juan for a change of pace.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,042 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    383
    374
    232
    36
    17
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
138 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Exciting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

Went twice and did walking along the beach. Enjoyed watching water and the big waves. My son and daughter played and did a little soaking at the edge because large waves came and scary to be in the water that long. Beach here have a lot of trash, cigarette butts, bottles etc. no one manage the beach. It was just nice that our hotel is next to the beach, can see also the big waves from our hotel balcony.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Condado Beaches- DANGEROUS CURRENTS”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

I live in the area and my neighbors and friends are amazed at the lack of information about the beaches in Condado. We figured this is a good forum to share information. Hotels will not tell you that Condado beaches are very dangerous, strong undertow. Drownings happen and nothing changes, you will not see any signs about it but will see a small incospicuous flag alerting of sea conditions. Winter months are the worst. Just yesterday a couple was last seen attempting to survive the current behing the breakers at Condado Plaza. The Coast Guard boat capsized in their late attempt to do anything. (this was in the news, yet nothing about drownings). We are hoping this couple survived. Beaches in Puerto Rico are not serviced by lifeguards (no budget in PR for such services) and the hotels rarely have lifeguards as well. PLEASE BE INFORMED AND AVOID BEACHES IN CONDADO ALTOGETHER except the small cove next to Condado Plaza hotel and lagoon.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
9 Thank Belagirl2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
83 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Too Much A City Feel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

I didn't enjoy this beach for a few reasons:

1. It is not clean - it's not filthy, but it needs some more upkeep.
2. It's so close to the city edge that it doesn't feel like I'm in the Caribbean.
3. it's more crowded than I prefer and beach to be.
4. it's not that bigger.

A better pick for a nearby beach is Isla Verde - much prettier, cleaner and bigger.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utica, New York, USA
Level Contributor
352 reviews
104 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Nice beach”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

The hotel we stayed at was on Condado Beach and it was nice. There are big rocks on either end of the beach so you cannot really walk very far. The beach basically starts at the San Juan Marriott and ends at La Concha. We stayed in Isla Verde last year and that beach was nicer, you could walk for a really long time.

Helpful?
Thank Shannon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Condado Beach also viewed

San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Condado Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing