We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Condado Plaza Must Read Review!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Condado Plaza Hilton
Ranked #23 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Reviewed March 31, 2007

ROOM: We got much more than we expected. We did not book an Ocean View room but got upgraded on check in. (Tip: Sweet talk goes a long way when checking in.) This made our stay here fantastic but I think we would have been very disappointed if we did not get ocean view. The hotel has 2 separate towers and they have been under a long remodeling period. One tower is right on the ocean and the rooms are completely remodeled. This is where we stayed. I stay in a lot of hotel rooms and this room was great. Very private balcony over the ocean, great beds, great AC, modern bathroom with romantic shower, & large flat screen TV. CAUTION: The problem with this tower is if you don't get ocean view and are on the other side you are looking at the 7 day per week construction of the other tower. The tower under construction is directly across the street and that is why I say we would have been very disappointed if we did not get Ocean View. Even when the other tower is 100% done I would not want to look at other peoples balcony's for the money charged at this hotel. Now the other side of that tower over looks the bay with the city behind it. That would be my second choice. It also looked like the top floors of the construction tower were done so staying there might have some unwanted noise.

HOTEL STAFF: Before going to PR many others told us most wait staff was not helpful or friendly. We found the complete opposite to be true. All the hotel staff were great and we met friendly staff where ever we went in the hotel.

HOTEL POOL: The pool area was great with both salt water and fresh water pools but the 105 degree hot tub was too much for most people. Many complained and each time and staff said they were going to look into it but 4 days later the hot tub was still 105. Drinks in the hotel and by the pool are very, very expensive. Many people had sticker shock after the first round. Every drink has 15% added on also. Next door to the hotel is a small store that sells beer, wine, liquor and a little of everything else at good prices. Even the bartender told us to stock up next door and use plastic cups by the pool. After the first day we never bought a drink in the hotel.

HOTEL FOOD: Again very, very expensive but many other places are in the area. A couple of doors down from the hotel is a great Mexican restaurant that offers breakfast and lunch specials that are very cheap and great food. Also there is a 24 hour Subway close by for when you come back to the hotel at 2am and you are starving. Also MIRO is a few blocks from the hotel and food is 5 star seafood. Do not miss MIRO while staying here.

OTHER: Cabs run 24 hours per day and the prices are all pre-set to most places. Old San Juan is about 5 miles away and we loved it. Very safe after you get to know it. My wife shopped all day by herself while I worked. Oh and local police are everywhere all the time. Every couple of blocks are more police. Always felt safe. Old San Juan has some great places to eat. Some expensive and some not. Don't expect the speed of service you would in a large US city but much more friendly. Bathrooms are not very good in most places by not a problem for my wife and I. We love the local culture. Dinning in OSJ is not like dining in Manhattan, NY. Don't expect it and you won't complain. If you expect it, don't go. Take your time and enjoy the night.

Hotel had large casino but we did not go into it. We don't gamble.

Next to the hotel is Charlie's Car rental. Only one who had cars available and the hotel will arrange for you. Very good cars at cheap rates and you can drop off by the airport if you want. Rent a car for the day and head out to the rain forest. PR has a bad rush hour in the morning and also evening so head out early if it's a weekday.

There is no real beach by this hotel. It is very small and crowded on the weekend but if you walk a couple of blocks down there is a longer beach by the other hotels. There are also 2 other large beaches within a cab ride. Isle Verde beach was our favorite close to the airport.

All in all a very great experience.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank PatRat,Original
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,926)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,371 - 4,377 of 4,926 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2007

This was our second time staying at this resort hotel in San Juan. We stayed last year for 2 nights before our cruise and this year we stayed 3 nights before and 1 night afterwards.

The guest rooms are all being updated and renovated. We were in a renovated "red" room. Very large, modern and clean. Definitely upscale.

The grounds of this resort hotel are beautiful - right on the ocean with the water crashing on the waves. There are 2 pools, one with a swim up bar and 2 whirlpools. There is also a sand beach right off of
the property.

All of the San Juan hotels have gone non-smoking. Currently there is an outside terrace that smokers can use with ash trays provided.

The "only" downside of this property is the price of their alcoholic beverages. Our room was not ready at check in so we thought we would go to the outside bar for a drink. A pina coloda and a specialty island drink came to a small fee of $26.00.

Overall experience was excellent!

3  Thank opiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2007

We stayed at this property from March 22-March 25, 2007. The property is stil under renovations. We were giving the best available room at the Internet rate and thus spent the first night in the Lagoon Wing. The decor was really nice in the room - yellows, blues and greens. From the balcony, you could see the water. However, the room only had a stand up shower and thus the bathroom was a little clastrophobic for me.

At 10 pm on the first night, we get this note saying that the water will be turned off teh next day from 9am to 4:30 p.m. So, whatever plans we might have had to lounge around in the room late or whatever - we suddenly had to nix. The water didn't come back on at 4:30. It didn't come back on at 6:30. That means no toliet, no water, no shower after about 3 hours of that - that was enough. I couldn't believe the hotel put us over there in the first place if they knew that was going to happen.

We were finally switched to the Ocean WIng - which looks exactly like the picture on the hotel Web site.

The room was much bigger and nicer. The property itself was very nice. It is in a great location that is walking distance to great restaurants - ROPA VIEJA is about three blocks down and highy recommended. There are also nice restaurants on the property - complete with an ice cream parlor.

Included in the resort fee is LIVE ENTERTAINMENT via the Casino Lounge every night at that was very nice as well. Kind of a cruise ship atmosphere . The pool was lovely and included a salt water pool, regular pool and jacuzzi. There are nice lounge chairs and hammocks all around.

The beach was indeed on the property and a public beach, but it was still nice.

All in all, we enjoyed our stay at this property. Shopping is nearby and the BUS 21 will take you to Old San Juan for $0.75.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank KWTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solution_Condado, Guest Relations Manager at The Condado Plaza Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2007

Hello, I am happy to heat that overall you seemed to to how enjoyed your stay at the hotel. As you mention we are still remodeling some of the areas of the hotel, like the Ballrooms and some guest rooms. All of the guest rooms that we have open to the public are completely remodeled. I do want to apologize about the water storage during that three hour period. We do not expect this to happen in the future. If I can be of any assistance in the future, please do not hesitate to contact me. Best Regards, Henry E. Neumann Hneumann@luxuryresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2007

We stayed at the Condado Plaza on 3/9, prior to a Southern Carribbean Cruise. The stay on 3/9 was best, had a room overlooking the ocean. The view was awesome. The room was nice, but the tile floors are cold and very noisy (especially during maid service next door and above). Make sure you get an "armband" to use the pool, the security guard was way overzealous. We walked out without one (we were not using the pool, just sightseeing) and were harrassed going to the "private beach".

Our stay on the back end was not quite as nice. We got there about 11am after we got off the boat. Major line to check in, they took our luggage, but we were told to come back at 11:30 to check in. We went to the Concierge at 11:30 (line still out the door for check in) and was told we should not have been told that, come back at 4. After checking at 4, we got a room on the street side (even though ocean was request). It was extremely noisy and to make matters worse, after coming in at 2am from Old Town, the whole room smelled of cigarette smoke. Even though it was a non-smoking floor, someone next door or above was smoking. We waited on hold for 30mins to talk to the front desk, and we were moved about 2:30am to the "last" room. Still on the street side but much quieter has it was higher up. Woke up very early to the maids cleaning other rooms (see above) and doors slamming.

This hotel is not for light sleepers, however the location, ocean side rooms and pool area is great.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Cruze-lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2007

We got an ocean view room, and the renovation is really nice. Quite cool rooms. duvets , nice bed linens, and good size bath towels .Just make sure that you don't get a room cross the street as it is in renovation and very noisy now. The 2 buildings are connected by a skyway above the street. It's also situated near a nice stretch of restaurants. beware when you make the reservation, instead of using my credit card to guarantee the room, they actually charged me a full nights stay before I got there, and I really do NOT like that. Down the street, quite close, there are many restaurants available; we had an awesome diner at a cuban/puertorican restaurant not 3 minutes from the hotel (can't remember the name). And if you are thinking of visiting Old San Juan, consider walking one or both of the ways. The clerk at reception told us we couldn't possibly walk; it would take 1 1/2 -2 hrs and goes through a bad part of town. We walked back and it took us 40 minutes and was quite a nice walk.

Also some advice; for the small flights around the carribean, only the first 2/3 of passsengers to check in are guaranteed a seat on the plane. the balance are automatically all on standy by based on the weight restrictions of the plane. We were the last 2 passengers allowed on our San Juan-St Kitts flight, the rest (6 people) weren't allowed on. I recommend that you check in early if you don't already have your boarding pass and are in transit.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Montrealmomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2007

A great location in the Condado area to be close to restaurants and amenities in that area of San Juan. Good bus service to and from Old San Juan, as well as other areas in the city.

Hotel pool area, both fresh and salt water pools, and access to a protected public beach area on the lagoon. The water is calm and pleasant for swimming. Even though the beach is fairly small and is public, the controlled access to and from the hotel pools and lounge area is very convenient. Lounge and food service for lunch is located in the pool/lounge area.

Hotel amenities are good. Staff is pleasant and helpful. The prices are not out of line with what is expected in comparable facilities.

There are two buildings to the hotel, seaside, and lagoon side. The lagoon side rooms with a view of San Juan city are pleasant, though they primarily face south so you have afternoon sun on your balcony. (I did not see rooms in either building which faced the street between the two building, but I expect they would be less favorable than the rooms facing the seaside or lagoonside.)

The hotel was undergoing interior renovation while we were there, and even though we had to walk through common areas being refurbished, the workers were pleasant and accommodating .

We would select the Condado Plaza Hotel again when we wished to stay in San Juan.

Stayed: February 2007
4  Thank whuntw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2007

The previous negative review has prompted me to respond. My college age daughter and I planned a short visit to Puerto Rico for her well deserved February break . We chose the Condado for its proximity to the airport and the fact that we would not need to rent a car, and, the price was right. Also, we took a nonstop flight from Boston and we were basking in the sun in no time at all. First, always do your research before you choose a hotel. Yes, the beach is public, and very small, however, it's not a surprise if one actually pays attention to the information provided by the hotel and tripadvisor. Before we left, we emailed the hotel to ask for a renovated room. It was lovely, clean and quiet, looking out over the ocean. I researched a couple of restaurants and checked with the professional and helpful concierge, Jean Pierre who would either agree or suggest another choice that my daughter might prefer. He would make the reservation and when we appeared at his desk, he would escort us to a taxi and give the driver the address. Delirio's, Dragonfly and Pikayo were all different and delicious. For breakfast, walk down the street and sip your tea or coffe at Hacienda Don Jose, where you can have eggs, toast, and OJ for around $5.00 or simply order tea and toast and read. It's a tiny neighborhood cafe where the windows open up over the ocean. (TripAdvisor idea, of course)..
The Condado is really trying to please....and by the way, there is construction all over San Juan...a necessary part of keeping the city revitalized and beautiful. And, always take some time to do your travel research...it's so easy .

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank travelmere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solution_Condado, Guest Relations Manager at The Condado Plaza Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2007

I would like to thank you very much for your visit and for taking the time to write your review. Many times guest who have a positive experience do not take the time to write a review. Thank very much, if I can be of any assistance please do not hesitate to contact me, Best Regards, Henry E. Neumann Hneumann@luxuryresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.3 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#18 of 47 in San Juan
7,207 reviews
1.3 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Condado Palm Inn & Suites
0.3 mi away
Condado Lagoon Villas at Caribe Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Condado Plaza Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Condado Plaza Hilton

Address: 999 Ashford Avenue, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico (Formerly Conrad San Juan Condado Plaza)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#7 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#12 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#15 Business Hotel in San Juan
Price Range: $202 - $420 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Condado Plaza Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 572
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Condado Plaza Hilton, the only hotel overlooking both the Atlantic Ocean and Condado Lagoon, is an enchanting alternative to typical San Juan hotel. Our unique location boasts cool ocean breezes, breathtaking sunsets, and a shimmering, protected beach. Whether you're traveling for work or play, this sparkling hotel offers it all, superb dining options including the award-winning Pikayo restaurant, elegant event venues, three glistening pools, water slide, waterports, 24-hour fitness center, tennis, poolside massage and bustling nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Condado Plaza Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conrad San Juan Condado Plaza Hotel San Juan
San Juan Conrad
Condado Plaza Hotel San Juan
Hotel Resort Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing