We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unexpected Treat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Condado Plaza Hilton
Ranked #24 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“An unexpected Treat”
Reviewed December 7, 2009

From a smile at reception, to speedy check in, and a wonderfully modern room, the hotel has the air of a first class resort. Add to that the casino, and some fine restaurants and you have the makings of a terrific place to spend a few days.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,815 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,368
    1,626
    975
    480
    366
See reviews for
1,102
1,700
170
718
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,058)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orange County CA
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2009

Service was great, after staying at the El San Juan which was a horrible experience the Conrad was a much better option. We would definitely stay there again. The casino was great, restaurants onsite were great and the front desk staff was exceptional.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank topaz309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
330 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 401 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2009

The Conrad Condado is magnificent. The lobby looks chic and trendy. The rooms are
spacious. The 4 pools, whirlpool, steam room, and sauna can't be beat. The beach next to Condado (towards the bridge, not the one directly behind it) has great snorkeling and is protected by a double barrier reef to prevent undertow and large waves from sweeping you away. The set-up of the hotel is kind of different because it's 2 hotels across the street from each other, connected by a bridge on the mezzanine level. there's some amenities in one building, and some in the other. there's also a great water slide in the shape of a fort of old san juan. The downside is there's no free internet ($7 for 15 minutes) and the maintenance crew is shoddy. My bathroom sink stopped working and
they didn't fix it after I called the hotel lobby.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krawner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, AB
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 1, 2009

My friend and I stayed here for one night before we left on a cruise. The hotel had obviously been renovated but was chic and colourful. The lobby was beautiful, the room was very tastefully decorated and the view from our balcony over the ocean was great. The bar/restaurant deck looked very inviting, as did the pool and grounds but we were not there long enough to use them. The mojitos in the lobby lounge were excellent!

I have noticed that people complain about the damp or dank smells in many hotels - when the humidity is as great as it is there you have to expect a little of that. The room was spotlessly clean and the bathroom was beautiful, although I understand that some people may not have appreciated the somewhat loose sliding doors as a privacy issue.

I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wwyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2009

Booked a flight/hotel vacation that included 5 nights stay in an ocean view vista room at the Conrad Condado for a great price. The hotel itself far exceeded my expectations. The lobby has a night clubby feel, but don't let that frighten you. The rooms are updated with modern furniture, a beautiful bathroom, comfortable beds, and a killer ocean view from the balcony. The restaurant choices are great, including 2 of Wilo Benet's establishments (don't miss Pikayo while you're in San Juan!). The casino was small compared to Vegas establishments but lively on most nights.

The location is another story. The Conrad is located at the far western end of Ashford Ave in Condado. It's not too long of a hike to the shopping area with LV, Gucci, etc, but it's quite far to the "heart of Condado." I would say the La Concha and the Marriott are better located for restaurants and bars in that area. We didn't do too much in the Condado area (rented a car and drove around outside San Juan quite a bit) so it wasn't as big of an issue. But when we wanted a meal outside the hotel, we either had to drive, get a taxi, or walk at least a mile down Ashford for a few choices.

There's also not much of a beach at the Conrad. The public beach by the bridge (Playita Condado) is really tiny. For a good day at the beach, I recommend driving out to Luquillo Beach or staying at one of the properties on Isla Verde.

Overall, I felt that the amenities and services provided by the hotel were great, but the location could be better.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donnaaries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2009

Arrived in rain, an old hotel, re-modelled, money spent on public areas. Our room smelt dank. The balcony was useless, the view appalling as a derelict building with graffitti was off to the right and a poverty-stricken block of flats in front of it. The room felt like a prison cell designed by the colour blind - bright primaries that clashed. They'd used some nice materials like marble and granite, but the room design made them useless. Hopeless bathroom with no privacy. It depressed us to be there. We phoned Expedia and they managed to get us moved to the Ritz Carlton, which was expensive but very good. I'd recommend the Conrad to adult gamblers who don't sleep much. Pool small and looked decrepit.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmondeYenne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2009

I am a Hilton Honors member and was able to pay for my entire stay with my points so I essentially stayed for free....so, keep that in mind. The lobby is very modern and chic, check in was fast, easy and the staff are very nice. The hotel is a little dated, but the room is nice, very modern. We had an ocean view on a high level and we looked out to a gorgeous view of the ocean from the bed. The beach is actually a public beach that is in a little bay, the view isn't the best as it looks directly onto a roadway. The pool is wonderful with no shortage of spots to lay out. And while the shore is very rocky --you can't go out on it--it is a gorgeous view.

Now to a couple of downsides that would have been BIG downsides if I didn't stay for free. Room service ends at 11:00 pm, which is disappointing since what is the purpose of room service it not the ability to eat at any time of the day. Their are no drink vending machines, so if you need water, you are out of luck. The gift shop is open very limited hours and is insanely expensive. Eight Noodle cafe is open until 4, but is expensive and not all that great. The casino was fun and Pikayo was great for appetizers. The location is odd, its a fair walk from other hotels and restaurants. But, I guess the big question is would I stay there again? yes, i would, even if I had to pay! Oh, one last thing, there is virtually no privacy in the bathroom and wireless internet would not work I had to actually plug in!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cinnam0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
0.3 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#20 of 47 in San Juan
7,049 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
4.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#7 of 13 in Isla Verde
3,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
17.5 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
30.6 mi away
Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Condado Plaza Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Condado Plaza Hilton

Property: The Condado Plaza Hilton
Address: 999 Ashford Avenue, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico (Formerly Conrad San Juan Condado Plaza)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#8 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#11 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#15 Business Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Condado Plaza Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 572
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Condado Plaza Hilton, the only hotel overlooking both the Atlantic Ocean and Condado Lagoon, is an enchanting alternative to typical San Juan hotel. Our unique location boasts cool ocean breezes, breathtaking sunsets, and a shimmering, protected beach. Whether you're traveling for work or play, this sparkling hotel offers it all, superb dining options including the award-winning Pikayo restaurant, elegant event venues, three glistening pools, water slide, waterports, 24-hour fitness center, tennis, poolside massage and bustling nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Condado Plaza Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conrad San Juan Condado Plaza Hotel San Juan
San Juan Conrad
Condado Plaza Hotel San Juan
Hotel Resort Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing