We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and comfortable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Condado Plaza Hilton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Condado Plaza Hilton
Ranked #24 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Clean and comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

During a recent visit to San Juan we stayed at the Condado Plaza Hilton. Marisol, front desk reception, made our visit very pleasant right from the start. Due to her exceptional customer service skills we throughout enjoyed our stay in spite of the rain!
While the people at the concierge desk were not very helpful at all, Marisol always was! She went out of her way to provide us with great places to see and eat.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,287
    1,538
    925
    450
    343
See reviews for
988
1,618
165
687
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,006)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Midlothian, Virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

After reading some reviews, I was a little concerned about the hotel. However we found it to be very nice. My only criticism is that the bathrooms -ours was in the lagoon facing tower- are quite small by today's standards and the sliding door for the bathroom didn't really close off the bathroom. Odd but not too disconcerting. Room was clean and housekeeping kept it that way. We found the staff to be helpful and pleasant. Particularly the bell men and in the restaurants. The location is nice - ocean and lagoon. The staff at the water sports desk was very helpful with novice paddle boarders. Several good ocean front restaurants nearby, particularly for seafood lovers.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DSOVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleBurn, Guest Relations Manager at The Condado Plaza Hilton, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear DSOVA,

Thank you for sharing your review regarding your recent stay at our property. I am very grateful that you gave us an opportunity in spite of some of our reviews. Yes, bathrooms in our Laguna Wing are smaller in size than some of our suites and ocean view rooms; this has to do with the layout of the Laguna Wing Tower and its standard city view guestrooms. I will investigate further and have Engineering make sure that the sliding door of the bathroom is working to perfection. I am very pleased to read that you found our staff to be helpful and pleasant; I will make sure to share your review with our staff. If you wish to give us another opportunity I would be both very appreciative and pleased to be of service. Again, thank you for your comments and for having chosen to stay with us.

May you have a wonderful holiday season; best regards,

Michelle .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconson
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

I like the modern look of the this hotel. I have a balcony overlooking a very peaceful lagoon. I tried the bar last night, I liked the creative drink menu. Enterprise rental cars on site makes it easy to rent a car for a day trip. Even though their office closes at 5pm...you can return cars after hours with the help of the valet. I would love to stay here again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Will C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleBurn, Guest Relations Manager at The Condado Plaza Hilton, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Willcccc,

Hello! Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay at our property. I am very joyful to read that you enjoyed the modern look of our property and our view of the lagoon. I would definitely recommend you consider staying on the ocean side so you can experience another beautiful area of our property! Let me know whenever you wish to visit us and I will be delighted to assist; you may reach me at michelle.burn@hilton.com. Again, thank you for your time and for choosing to stay with us; we look forward to seeing you soon!

Happy Holidays; kind regards,

Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

This was an amazing experience. The view was breath-taking. Very Romantic and everything is close to the hotel. If you are in the mood to take a walk and go dancing or just buy pizza, its a matter of 5 to 10 minutes and you're there.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Jayleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleBurn, Guest Relations Manager at The Condado Plaza Hilton, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Jayleen S

Thank you for your review! Thank you very much for chosing to stay at The Condado Plaza Hilton. We look forward to seeing you in the near future; I am at your service!

Wishing you a very happy holiday season; all the best,

Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nc
Level Contributor
88 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

I am giving this hotel a 'GOOD' rating for the location, the great casino staff, the front desk staff, and the family room option. The Family Room is only available in the second tower but had 1 bedroom with 2 twins and another separate bedroom with a king. There is a small balcony off the king bedroom. The bathroom is small, no tub. There is a fridge and microwave which is very handy. This hotel really needs updating cosmetically. It is worn. The pools are great, nice and clean. I loved the freshwater pool! Unfortunately for us, it rained the entire 5 days we were there. Fortunately, Old San Juan is a 7 minute city bus ride that cost $.75 and was great for a restless husband and 3 teens. We spend A LOT of time in the casino. That was fun because with all of us we could play table games together and the older guys are very patient and will show you the ropes. We did finally get to swim for 2 hours the day our flight left. I love the lagoon. Be careful getting out past the rocks and kelp. We saw a lot of fish. Our biggest disappointment was the weather. If we had been able to be outside in the sun everyday, I'm sure the old carpet and missing tiles and things wouldn't have bothered me as much. Also, go to a store and buy your own drinks, booze, and snacks. The food and especially drinks are very expensive in the hotel. I have mobility issues so when I wanted to go out I had to cab it. Fortunately the cabs are not too expensive. I hope to go back again as soon as I can afford it. I want an oceanfront room but if I bring the kids again, I cant afford it for quite a while. I do dream of going back and sitting by those pools!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank mommamiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleBurn, Guest Relations Manager at The Condado Plaza Hilton, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear mommamiya

Hi There!

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We take a lot of pride and hard work to ensure our property is up to date and in the best conditions; I will make sure to share your observations with our Director of Engineering as well as with Management to continue improving our facilities.

I know we have had our share of rainy days, and I feel sad for guests that were not able to enjoy the sun these past couple of days. It is so beautiful outside when the sun is out and you are able to sit over our ocean garden and enjoy the breathtaking view of the ocean, it is absolutely divine. I am at your service should you wish to visit us again in the future; you may contact me at michelle.burn@hilton.com; looking forward to welcoming you once more to the Condado Plaza Hilton!

Happy Holidays; warm regards,

Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

Our stay at the Condado Plaza Hilton was wonderful! Check in was fast and courteous.

The room:
Nice Room with a huge bathroom with a mini-fridge and coffee maker. Can not complain about anything at all.

Hotel Location:
Close to Old San Juan - literally walking distance
Close to other hotels
Close to Chillis and other budget conscious resturants.

Hotel Amenities:
Wonderful private beach!!!!!
Two pools: one salt water one regular **Swim up bar was closed for the first 3 days of our stay..would have been nice if they had posted that information on their website.
Casino is fun and always open and waiters are always serving drinks with a smile.

Upon leaving there is a taxi that charges $19.00 per customer to the airport which was great!

This is our second time staying at this hotel the first time we had an awesome ocean view but they have really hiked the price up for ocean view rooms so we had a view of another hotel directly across from us but if we looked to our right there was a partial view on the water...kinda nice :-)

Room Tip: If you can get an ocean view.....it's absolutely beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuernavaca
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

I chose the hotel due to a special offer on Travelzoo. I liked the location very much, right in the heart of condado. The pools are nice with plenty of deck chairs even though there are over 500 rooms. My guess is there was low occupancy thanksgiving week. I didn't care much for the modern neon lobby. Looks like they are trying to draw in a younger crowd. The concierge desk was usually staffed with two persons but they were overworked and there was almost always a wait to ask a question. But they were helpful and friendly. I was pleased by the restaurant options. The Café Caribe for breakfast or a light lunch or supper was excellent and very fairly priced especially for having an ocean view. The light breakfast was just $6,95 plus tax and tip and they did the poached eggs perfectly, not always easy. One could also eat in Denny's and the food there was excellent but the service unbearably slow for both a breakfast and a dinner. Best of all is the deluxe restaurant Pikayo, a real splurge but surely one of the top restaurants in the city and I had a delightful if pricey dinner there, reviewed under restaurants. There was also a Starbucks but I don't ever go there preferring to visit small local coffee houses. If the price is in your budget I would recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: An ocean-view room was 40 dls more per night but the view was sensational.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank edutrvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
0.3 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,667 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
4.3 mi away
El San Juan Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
4.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#6 of 13 in Isla Verde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,078 reviews
0.8 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Condado Plaza Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Condado Plaza Hilton

Property: The Condado Plaza Hilton
Address: 999 Ashford Avenue, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico (Formerly Conrad San Juan Condado Plaza)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#8 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#11 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#15 Business Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Condado Plaza Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 572
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Condado Plaza Hilton, the only hotel overlooking both the Atlantic Ocean and Condado Lagoon, is an enchanting alternative to typical San Juan hotel. Our unique location boasts cool ocean breezes, breathtaking sunsets, and a shimmering, protected beach. Whether you're traveling for work or play, this sparkling hotel offers it all, superb dining options including the award-winning Pikayo restaurant, elegant event venues, three glistening pools, water slide, waterports, 24-hour fitness center, tennis, poolside massage and bustling nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Hilton Hotels Direct so you can book your The Condado Plaza Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conrad San Juan Condado Plaza Hotel San Juan
San Juan Conrad
Condado Plaza Hotel San Juan
Hotel Resort Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing