We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Had to change hotels”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Condado Plaza Hilton
Ranked #24 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Had to change hotels”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

Stayed one night of a three-night trip at the Condado Plaza, having departed after the first night.

The hotel is in an okay location, but is surrounded mostly by abandoned buildings and construction.

Service was mediocre, and as a Gold HHonors Member, the breakfast is pretty weak (just a coffee and a pastry near the Casino). The WiFi was perhaps the biggest issue - it cut in and out constantly and was completely unreliable.

The rooms are okay but seem dark and a little dirty. The closet is located in the bathroom, which is awkward.

I didn't go to the pool, but it looked fairly sad. The fitness center was just okay.

I'd stay at La Concha, a much better option in SJ.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CuseSox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,634 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,308
    1,575
    938
    465
    348
See reviews for
1,033
1,639
167
697
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,027)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

We were thrilled with our choice of the Condado Plaza. Courteous staff, clean and modern facilities, mind blowing ocean front room. Old San Juan was a treat, and as we moved out to a more remote resort later in the week, we longed for our accommodations back at the Hilton! Would definitely stay there again and recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

The Hilton Condado Plaza is our company hotel of choice. I have been staying here since 2008 and the quality of service is consistently great. We appreciate the care and attention they give to our corporate visitors.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

Hilton Coronado has everything you would want to have an enjoyable vacation; good resturants, awesome casino staff, and a housekeeping staff that serves with a smile. When my mother was ill the hotel staff advised me that if I needed a doctor during the night they would have one come to the hotel. The hotel staff made sure we had a great experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Tamara Gay F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
64 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

While on our cruise we went straight to this hotel for lunch by the pool. My husband had been here on business and never got to enjoy the hotel during the day. When we stopped in San Juan for just the day and didn't want to do the usual tourist thing. We took a cab to the hotel to check it out .
The hotel is in a dream location, as a matter of fact they were setting up for an ocean side wedding for later in the day. They have two pools, one is salt water and the other has a water slide and the bar/restuarant inside it. We sat poolside and enjoyed a wonderful lunch. There is also a public beach on the property. The views are spectacular. After lunch we took a cab back to our Holland American ship.

Room Tip: ocean side would be the best . If not choose the lagoon side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Priscilla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

My wife and I just spent 5 days in San Juan at the Condado Plaza Hilton. This is a beautiful hotel right on the ocean in the Condado Area of San Juan. The hotel is very modern and the lobby is not as grand as some. The neighborhood, however, is very safe and it is an easy walk to shopping. It is also very easy to hop on the bus to head down to Old San Juan. Be aware that the bus route circles the convention center which is a little out of the way, but still its only a 15 minute ride to the old city.

Our room: definitely opt for the ocean view. It is stunning. The room itself is average but comfortable. Wifi is excellent. to be aware that there is a $27/day resort fee. Not really sure what this covers other than wifi and towels at the pool. We only had one on our last night where our room was never cleaned after being out and about for most of the day.

Restaurants: We ate at Pikayo, Caribe Cafe, and Starbucks. Pikayo is excellent but a little pricy. The cafe is standard. I would venture out to restaurants within a few minutes walk.

Pools and Grounds: Again, stunning. Keep in mind though, most of the grounds are on the rocks facing the Atlantic. There is a small cove with a beautiful beach though with some pretty good snorkling. The pools (especially the main pool with a slide) are great. However, they only get sun for about 3 hours a day during November. Keep this in mind. The best option is a secluded pool on the lagoon side of the hotel that is beautiful, quite, with a 9 foot pool. Only issue there is that there is no bartender.

All in all, it was a great stay. We did walk to the Caribe Hilton across the Dos Hermanos bridge. Only about a 10 minute walk. That hotel is more of a resort with amazing pools and a larger beach. Would consider there is looking for less of an urban feel to a hotel.

Room Tip: Ocean view or lagoon view is a must. Keep in mind though at night you cannot see anything on the oc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrentNOLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpelier, Virginia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

We went to Puerto Rico for a basketball tournament and the package accommodations were at the Condado Plaza. When we arrived in our room, late at night, everything was unplugged and not where they should have been located. There was one lamp and it was on the desk. I had to climb under the desk to untie the cord that was knotted and tied to things under the desk. The tv had to be moved closer to an outlet so it could be used. The chair in the room had a lot of stains and was very uncomfortable. There were other things missing from the room as well. I spoke to the front desk and some things were taken care of very quickly, but not all. The hotel looked very tired. The setting was beautiful, the pools were very nice and the terrace overlooking the ocean was very peaceful. The hotel is within walking distance of a lot of restaurants and a little shopping. I would not rush back to this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ramona N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
0.3 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,774 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
4.3 mi away
El San Juan Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#6 of 13 in Isla Verde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,114 reviews
4.0 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
17.5 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Condado Plaza Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Condado Plaza Hilton

Property: The Condado Plaza Hilton
Address: 999 Ashford Avenue, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico (Formerly Conrad San Juan Condado Plaza)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#8 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#11 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#15 Business Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Condado Plaza Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 572
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Condado Plaza Hilton, the only hotel overlooking both the Atlantic Ocean and Condado Lagoon, is an enchanting alternative to typical San Juan hotel. Our unique location boasts cool ocean breezes, breathtaking sunsets, and a shimmering, protected beach. Whether you're traveling for work or play, this sparkling hotel offers it all, superb dining options including the award-winning Pikayo restaurant, elegant event venues, three glistening pools, water slide, waterports, 24-hour fitness center, tennis, poolside massage and bustling nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Condado Plaza Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conrad San Juan Condado Plaza Hotel San Juan
San Juan Conrad
Condado Plaza Hotel San Juan
Hotel Resort Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing