We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Best Stay Yet” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Condado Plaza Hilton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Condado Plaza Hilton
Ranked #24 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best Stay Yet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

I usually stay at this hotel on average twice a year for business. When I checked in Sara was very nice and gave me a room on the ocean side tower with an ocean view room. The hotel towers are split between the ocean side and across the street (there is a covered walkway to get to them from the mezzanine level). I do not like that side due to how far you have to walk to get there and then if your room key doesn't work you have to walk all the way back! I don't think the rooms are as good on that side either. My interaction with the staff was a very good experience, all were very helpful and eager to assist. Yes as some reviewers have written, the property needs updating and probably a fresh coat of paint (sea salt and wind take a big toll). However, the inside is and has always been nicely kept and clean. In 5 years I have never had a dirty room or seen trays of food all over the hallway from left over room service as you sometimes find at other hotels.

I like the location and there are many good restaurants to choose from if you know where to go. The Waikiki is a very short walk and although it is kind of touristy the Seafood Mofongo is very good and you can have an ice cold beer with it while you sit out on the back deck and watch the waves come in. On the other side of the street a little further down is a place called Waiters Bar and Grill. Not as touristy and the food and prices cant be beat in Condado.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Patrick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,211
    1,467
    878
    435
    332
See reviews for
932
1,535
159
652
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (977)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

THIEVES!!!!!!! DANGER!!!!!
Me and my husband decided to take a vacation, and our friends from puerto rico recommended  the Condado Area since it is what you could call High Class Puerto Rico... The service provided by the staff is very poor, which doesn't affect me as long as the hotel is clean and safe.  But the first night out my ENGAGEMENT RING and WEDDING RING were taken out of my make up bag, which was INSIDE my suitcase.  As soon as we were back I noticed it.  And after looking everywhere in the room we decided to go inform the manager of the hotel... and he did NOTHING! he said it was my responsibility... He said he didn't care and that I had to take care of this.  After a long night... NOTHING WAS DONE. Not even checking which staff members had entered the room... It's been almost one month and NO-ONE has contacted me.

So if you stay at this hotel. Bring LOCKS and lock everything up if you are going out. because these are thieves and the customer service is horrible... So a hotel supposedly located in a high class area.. in which you wouldn't even have to worry about  safety...in which people pay higher just for the status and the name... Well there... PEOPLE STEAL and NOTHING is DONE about it.

Good luck.... I WOULDN'T RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL TO ANYONE.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Selene G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolina, Puerto Rico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

My wife and I really enjoyed our stay at the Condado Conrad Hotel. Rooms clean, facilities great with fantastic sea view. Not boring and close to Old San Juan. I highly recommend this hotel for those visiting Puerto Rico or local residents.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Conrad Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
4 Thank Luis N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

This was our first trip to PR. We were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the hotel. We had an ocean view room on the 3rd floor and loved it. The main restaurant is fair-I've had better food. The room was very nice, however we had a different maid every day and it depended on who the maid was whether or not you received the same number of towels on a daily basis. Overall the hotel was clean.
The bell persons were nice but left a bit to be desired in terms of quality of service. Often they were more interested in talking with each other or to the pretty women than doing what they should.
Our luggage was lost by the airlines and when it did arrive, we had to go downstairs to get it rather than a bell person bringing it up to us.
We lounged at the pool one day; drinks by the pools were twice as much than going to the inside bar. Very unreasonable.
It was a short walk to a bus stop; taxies were always available; rental car agency on site.
The hotel "beach" was actually a public beach site next door.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kfjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kissimmee, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

With the Conrad name, you expect the best from Hilton brands. Sorry to say, it just wasnt here. Its a building reminiscent of an old Howard Johnson from the 70s. It seems like nothing in Hotel was changed since the 70s. We went in with such high expectations, only to be crushed upon arrival. Our room faced the other Conrad Building, no city view their, the room smelled of wet carpet. Worse of all experience, had to be the smell of urine emanating from the parking garage . I really can not recommend this property.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Conrad Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
7 Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleBurn, Guest Relations Manager at The Condado Plaza Hilton, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Bill R,

We are sorry we were not able to provide you with the quality of services you deserve. We apologize that you found our property outdated, our most recent renovation was in 2008 and was an estimated $75 million dollars invested in property, and room renovations. This is not typical of our hotel, and we are always looking for ways to improve our customer experience. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. We again apologize for the inconveniences that you endured, if there is anything we can do to correct this please let us know. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you will consider staying with us again.

Best regards,

Michelle Burn
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

This hotel was pretty far from Old San Juan - we walked it and it was about 45 mins, at a stroll. I didn't use the casino but it looked like every other one. The restaurants within were expensive and mediocre, as all hotel restaurants generally are. There are plenty of restaurants on the same strip as the hotel, and taxis are pretty much lining up in front so it's easy to get one. My room was in the second building, and we had a balcony which overlooked the city and some water (not the ocean or the beach). The view wasn't so bad. Both pools in the hotel were outside and of a medium size. The one at the back of the fitness center was generally empty, so if you want some privacy, go there. However, there's no view and you're pretty much looking at the side of the building. The main pool area has an eatery, as well as a server that walks around, and a water slide. They have two hammocks, which are comfortable but there's no view from them at all. It's on the beach but I don't think there was any beach access from the hotel. The staff was courteous and the room was very clean.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beesham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

I'm so thankful with William and JanPier there are so amazing and helpful!! Thanks to them I really found a home in Puerto Rico. I go to Puerto Rico at least 4 to 5 times a year and this where I stay. I even brought my staff recently and stayed at the Conrad and they loved it! I'm can't Thank enough to William and Janpier for making me feel welcome every time. I'm definitely a faithful client for live thanks to them. Also Randy at the pool he was so helpful and attentive. -Abby

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Conrad Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
0.3 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#20 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,280 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
0.4 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
4.0 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
0.4 mi away
Condado Lagoon Villas at Caribe Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Condado Plaza Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Condado Plaza Hilton

Property: The Condado Plaza Hilton
Address: 999 Ashford Avenue, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico (Formerly Conrad San Juan Condado Plaza)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#8 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#11 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#15 Business Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Condado Plaza Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 572
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Condado Plaza Hilton, the only hotel overlooking both the Atlantic Ocean and Condado Lagoon, is an enchanting alternative to typical San Juan hotel. Our unique location boasts cool ocean breezes, breathtaking sunsets, and a shimmering, protected beach. Whether you're traveling for work or play, this sparkling hotel offers it all, superb dining options including the award-winning Pikayo restaurant, elegant event venues, three glistening pools, water slide, waterports, 24-hour fitness center, tennis, poolside massage and bustling nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your The Condado Plaza Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conrad San Juan Condado Plaza Hotel San Juan
San Juan Conrad
Condado Plaza Hotel San Juan
Hotel Resort Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing