We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expensive hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Condado Plaza Hilton
Ranked #24 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Expensive hotel”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

This hotel was pretty far from Old San Juan - we walked it and it was about 45 mins, at a stroll. I didn't use the casino but it looked like every other one. The restaurants within were expensive and mediocre, as all hotel restaurants generally are. There are plenty of restaurants on the same strip as the hotel, and taxis are pretty much lining up in front so it's easy to get one. My room was in the second building, and we had a balcony which overlooked the city and some water (not the ocean or the beach). The view wasn't so bad. Both pools in the hotel were outside and of a medium size. The one at the back of the fitness center was generally empty, so if you want some privacy, go there. However, there's no view and you're pretty much looking at the side of the building. The main pool area has an eatery, as well as a server that walks around, and a water slide. They have two hammocks, which are comfortable but there's no view from them at all. It's on the beach but I don't think there was any beach access from the hotel. The staff was courteous and the room was very clean.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beesham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,627 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,308
    1,570
    938
    463
    348
See reviews for
1,029
1,636
167
697
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,023)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 9, 2013

I'm so thankful with William and JanPier there are so amazing and helpful!! Thanks to them I really found a home in Puerto Rico. I go to Puerto Rico at least 4 to 5 times a year and this where I stay. I even brought my staff recently and stayed at the Conrad and they loved it! I'm can't Thank enough to William and Janpier for making me feel welcome every time. I'm definitely a faithful client for live thanks to them. Also Randy at the pool he was so helpful and attentive. -Abby

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Conrad Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westampton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
84 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

A very nice hotel with two outdoor pools - fresh and salt water and an outdoor hot tub. In the hotel were several restaurants: We had lunch and a breakfast at Caribe Café. Excellent service, prices not too expensive, food delicious. Had coffee, muffins, breakfast sandwiches on different days at Starbucks. There's a small casino on premises.
What impressed us the most? The concierge service was the best we have ever experienced. They were at their desk in the lobby every time we needed them. They were helpful, had suggestions about activities, and helped us with personal matters.
Room was clean, bed was comfortable, bathroom was very small. In the room were a sofa, safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, coffee maker and coffee fixings and TV with many good channels.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The Conrad was the old Condado Plaza they did a great job with the renovations. The Front Desk staff was very friendly and helpful. My room was not ready they took down my cell and called when it was ready. The room was outstanding very modern and spacious. Casino was nice (I won at the slots). Great Location. They even have a Denny’s restaurant on the premises. The elevators were slow and the buttons dont light up. Plenty of places to see and visit around the Condado Area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut Creek, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

When I first walked into the hotel, the walls were beautiful but I couldn’t help but noticed the terrible smell. It smells terrible - like wet mop and smoke mixed in together. The room and bathroom were small. The staff was somewhat friendly but they try to rip you off by telling the taxi drivers to charge you more. So if you don’t know the quickest way to get to your destination, ask more than one person. The restaurants inside the hotel were mad expensive, so we eat out instead. The best part about the hotel was the view and it was walking distance from all the restaurants, beaches, and other tourist spots. So overall it was an ok stay, just expected more for the buck.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsNique P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed at the Conrad in June 2013, had a great time. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Our room was very clean, I'm a sniggler For hair in bathrooms and floors, the Conrad really lived up to what I was hoping... Would definitely stay again. However, the pool area was left to be desired, hair hair and more hair in pools, Yuke!!! Need to pay a little more attention to cleanliness around pools and they need new furnishings around that area as well, but overall a great time. My ten yr. old loved it.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shadell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maumee, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

for an upscale location, the hotel was very disappointing. The rooms were clean, but very plain. The bathroom was horrible. It seemed about the size of a cruise ship bathroom. It was difficult to maneuver and everything was in one place. The only good thing about the bathroom was the water pressure was excellent. Other than that very disappointing hotel. The service was good, the food was good, but the price for the rooms was very, very overpriced.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sjpmd317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
0.3 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 46 in San Juan
6,755 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
4.3 mi away
El San Juan Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#6 of 13 in Isla Verde
3,110 reviews
4.0 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
0.8 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Condado Plaza Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Condado Plaza Hilton

Property: The Condado Plaza Hilton
Address: 999 Ashford Avenue, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico (Formerly Conrad San Juan Condado Plaza)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#8 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#11 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#15 Business Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Condado Plaza Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 572
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Condado Plaza Hilton, the only hotel overlooking both the Atlantic Ocean and Condado Lagoon, is an enchanting alternative to typical San Juan hotel. Our unique location boasts cool ocean breezes, breathtaking sunsets, and a shimmering, protected beach. Whether you're traveling for work or play, this sparkling hotel offers it all, superb dining options including the award-winning Pikayo restaurant, elegant event venues, three glistening pools, water slide, waterports, 24-hour fitness center, tennis, poolside massage and bustling nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, HotelsforEveryone, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Condado Plaza Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conrad San Juan Condado Plaza Hotel San Juan
San Juan Conrad
Condado Plaza Hotel San Juan
Hotel Resort Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing