We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Condado Plaza Hilton
Ranked #24 of 48 Hotels in San Juan
Miramar, Florida
Level Contributor
70 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Business Trip”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Great business hotel. My prefer business hotel there with Hilton always. Great location. Rooms have been upgraded and very nice. AC issues always, need to work on them, specially on the junior suites! First time that i been there and the hotel was full of locals, which was not good impression for the business man there, very noise at night. Still a good hotel, but standards of Conrad are going down at this hotel, they need to be more careful. Staff is great always and very friendly. Business center, was very helpful with a small project i needed to finish.
Overall, will continue to stay there, but improvements needs to be done!

Room Tip: High Floor, Never face the street, very noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jose C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,757 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,354
    1,606
    964
    473
    360
See reviews for
1,073
1,689
170
707
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,046)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Piscataway, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Thought the hotel was much nicer from their ads, etc. We booked a three day 2 night stay there expecting a romantic get-away but got that "ehh..." feel about the place. The stay wasn't terribly bad but it wasn't terribly good either.

Experience:
We got there and the hotel was crowded. They held prom nights there both nights Friday and Saturday that we were there. So the hotel was fully packed. This just made it that more crowded for a big hotel with small amenities. We asked and suggested to pay for a room higher up from the 3rd floor and was rejected. Nothing that I could do.

Three elevators (one near the pool) made it impossible to get up and down to your room. The one in the back did not work. We wound up using the stairs most of the time. the front elevators were always packed and would not stop at your floor when full. This made everyone jump on when it was available whether going up or down. Took us 10 minutes to get an elevator during check out.

We had asked for late checkout since our flight was not until 4 PM, check out time was 12:00 PM and was denied. Front desk said hotel that they could not accommodate us even though most of the visitors (including prom) were checking out.

Beach:
Was a shared beach with other hotels and public. Locals were letting their dogs romp around the beach. Beach was rocky and to the side of the hotel off an inlet, Not beach front because it was so rocky with rip tide the entire area. Literally no beach front the entire area of Condado. There may have been a small beach somewhere in front but we had no time to go and find one. If you want a beach experience, this is definitely NOT the place.

Pools:
Hotel had two pools, one salt and one chlorine. Salt was filthy with some sort of scum pushed into the corner. We barely went in there. It was small and felt uncomfortable getting in there with others. The other pool were filled with small children on one side and prom kids on the other side.

The drinks were out-right too expensive and offensive. A small 8 ounce cup of mojito was $10.50. This was smaller then a small cup of coffee served in a cheap plastic throw away cup. NYC doesn't even charge that much.

There were two hammocks near the pool and both were always used for hours. No other area to hand out at. Mezzanine level had two workers/gardener sleeping on the bench one afternoon. I guess it was siesta time. No one ever went up there anyway. Waste of space.

Room:
Booked a ocean view king bed. The room was clean but the balcony only had one chair. We had to bring the inside office chair out so that the both of us could relax. View was nice watching the waves break and people below. Always a nice cool breeze.

The bed however was not to my liking. Way to soft for my back. I had to sleep on the couch. This is just my opinion thought. So if you like a software mattress this is comfy for you. Room was clean and roomy and more then enough for the both of us.

Bathroom is nice and clean. A lot of room with a nice stand up shower. There is no bath just shower stall. Closet in there so it made it easier to dress.

Fridge was not stocked so we purchase our own water and beer from outside CVS to keep it cold. This kept the cost of the way too expensive drinks at pool bars/bars/lounge down.

Noise factor was loud! We could hear the toilet flush from the next room. The night we got there there was a loud family next door that made so much noise. Door slamming could be heard from across the hallway. I guess hotel is poorly build for noise control.

Restaurants:
We did not try any because we wanted local flair food and were always out dining.

Parking:
Expensive. Park outside for half the price.

Overall:
Ok for a short getaway, but we could have gotten the same from NJ beaches for much less money. Maybe the other hotels are much better but this hotel is just...

ehh.

Room Tip: Definitely ocean view. Other views are of the bay/city or the front building. LOL
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Qtiep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

After camping all over PR we were more than happy to check into a hotel and get a clean mattress and electricity after a week. Check in took a little longer than we expected but our hotel room was nice and spacious, the indoor lounge area and restaurants were gorgeous (even though a little pricey) but the only thing that bummed us a little bit was the fact that we had to pay to park our car. which was like $16 per day. After paying $200/ night I was at least expecting to park the car for free, which is the only reason I give it 4 stars and not 5.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that faces the street. Lots of people watching from the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Minakshi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

There is no 3+ rating so I put average. The hotel is nice but not great. If you are looking for a high end resort this is not it. If you want perfection this is not it. If you don't have OCD you will be fine. Location and staff are great. The property needs a little love but it has everything you need. It might not be 5 star but it's not awful either. With everything to do in San Juan sleeping, showering, and taking a swim in the pool or lagoon is all you need if you stay here. Go explore. Our ocean view room was great. There were lots of weddings so the hallway was a little noisy. Other than that no complaints. For breakfast there is a Denny's on the property and a Starbucks. A full breakfast at Denny's will cost about the same as a cup of coffee and a pastry at Starbucks. Taxi's are $15 one way into old San Juan. There is a bus stop in front of the hotel that takes you for 75¢ if you want to wait. You can usually find a group of tourists waiting there so cut a deal and ride in together in a van it ended up being $2-3 per person. Any tour packages are $$$$$. It will be cheaper to rent a car. They are definitely trying to upgrade the place. Keep a open mind and you won't be disappointed. Expecting a luxury facility catering to your every need need go elsewhere. Its clean and maintained just not brand new.

Room Tip: Breakfast at Denny's if your in a hurry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Just got back from a trip to San Juan where we stayed at the Conrad Plaza Condado. The hotel itself was unimpressive, looks like they went for a modern look from the 1970's, but I have to admit, modern is not my preferred style, so others may like it. The hotel did have few different pools which were nice and offered a great view of the Atlantic Ocean. What struck me the most about the hotel was how friendly the staff was, they were truly hospitable. The location also was convenient, walking distance to lots of restaurants and a short cab ride to Old San Juan. Only downside other than the decor was the hotel is pretty loud.

Room Tip: Go for a higher floor, lots of street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benchwarmers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed June 12, 2013

This hotel has most everything covered, from high end to low budget restaurants, a casino, bars, pool, beach, ocean veranda, and lots of room to spread out on the grounds. We also very much enjoyed our room. Its also located in a very strategic spot, in between Condado and Old San Juan areas. We were very happy to be able to walk to all of the places in Condado, and be a simple bus ride from Old San Juan.

The best part of the trip was the people. Both locals and hotel staff all seemed happy to be there. My wife and I are generally happy people, and this was reflected back to us by everyone we met. I noticed some guests with scowls on their faces when talking to the staff and thus not receiving a rosey reception back... to those that think this is OK thing to do to hotel employees and thus complain about service: "what do you expect when you yell and scowl at people?!"

Best of all, the staff were very knowledgeable about the area. They were not just transplants from another city/country/etc. We were pleased with 100% of the recommendations from the staff on restaurants, bars, attractions, and what to/what not to do while there. Ask for Erick with a "k" at the Eternal Lounge in the lobby. He knows his way around and has a lot of common sense when suggesting places. He (personally) should replace Yelp or Trip Advisor as reference for the island. If he is not around, the valets out front do a nice job as well on suggestions.

Overall, this place has enough to keep you busy for days. If/when we go back, we will probably stay here.

Room Tip: I was thrilled with 9th floor ocean view. I say "Wow!" not only for the view, but the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Honest_John_TN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Generally enjoyed my four night stay at this resort. It is very modern, features several different restaurants, and our room was very nicely appointed. There are 3 pools -- the one at the lagoon side of the hotel is kind of a hidden gem with less people. But on the "main" side of the resort, you'll find a pool with a waterslide and a swim up bar. There's also a salt water pool there as well. Pools are open 24 hours a day, so night swimming was great fun.

Drinks at the hotel are outrageously expensive. After a $50 bill for 4 drinks, I opted to walk to the liquor store down the street and keep bottles and mixers in my room. There's a small fridge in each room, so stock up and save yourself the extra cash.

We are late risers when we are on vacation, and housekeeping kept checking in with us to clean our room. I felt pressured to leave it. We ordered room service once for lunch -- prices are expensive for this and after a 40 minute wait, we finally got our order. Thankfully, our waiter acknowledged this and the hotel offered to comp us with juices and dessert which was very nice.

I was generally pleased with the staff at this hotel with the exception of the pool bar area. This is a truly unpleasant group of people. One of the waitresses was helpful, but you generally could stand there for several minutes at a time without anyone else at the bar and not even be acknowledged. This was yet another reason to stock up on my own alcohol and bring it with me.

One major nuisance related to the elevators. There were only two main elevators and an additional one located near the pool. They took forever and were frequently so full you couldn't even get on when it finally stopped on your floor. At major times of the day, this is a problem and it became a big problem when i was finally checking out with baggage and finally gave up after two full elevators stopped (8 minutes apart) and walked my suitcase down the stairs, almost late for my ride to the airport.

The Denny's on the lagoon side of the hotel is open 24 hours, has a nicely appointed bar (I'm not kidding), and some fantastic nachos for late night cravings.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank red_x_oktober
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
0.3 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 48 in San Juan
6,946 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
4.0 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#7 of 13 in Isla Verde
3,174 reviews
17.5 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
0.8 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Condado Plaza Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Condado Plaza Hilton

Property: The Condado Plaza Hilton
Address: 999 Ashford Avenue, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico (Formerly Conrad San Juan Condado Plaza)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#8 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#11 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#15 Business Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Condado Plaza Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 572
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Condado Plaza Hilton, the only hotel overlooking both the Atlantic Ocean and Condado Lagoon, is an enchanting alternative to typical San Juan hotel. Our unique location boasts cool ocean breezes, breathtaking sunsets, and a shimmering, protected beach. Whether you're traveling for work or play, this sparkling hotel offers it all, superb dining options including the award-winning Pikayo restaurant, elegant event venues, three glistening pools, water slide, waterports, 24-hour fitness center, tennis, poolside massage and bustling nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your The Condado Plaza Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conrad San Juan Condado Plaza Hotel San Juan
San Juan Conrad
Condado Plaza Hotel San Juan
Hotel Resort Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing