We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Disappointed” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Condado Plaza Hilton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Condado Plaza Hilton
Ranked #24 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

We arrived at the hotel and right from the start there was poor service. The porter asked if I needed assistance with the bags and I said, yes please and he disappeared. Multiple times on our trip I needed assistance with bags following our excursions and not once did a porter offer assistance and then the hotel had the nerve to charge me a "porter" fee.

We were promised an ocean view room and were not provided one but were charged an ocean view rate!

The room was mediocre at best and the small bathroom where the base boards were loose and you can see the poor workmanship were awful, and the door that wouldn't close all the way allowing for very little privacy. Don't get me started on the shower and the design, you got soaked and flooded the floor every time you turned it on and waited for the water to heat up.

The service was ok but the maid service left a lot to be desired, we went to the beach and of course had sand in our suits...the sand was not cleaned from the shower even after I called and asked them to take care of it twice...the sand was in our sheets and it took us stripping the bed to get them to change the sheets, even after I asked for that to be handled.

The coffee shop and Denny's had good service but the food was poor and neither one offered creamer for the coffee, only milk.

The pool area and the equipment rentals were good and the high end restaurant was excellent as well as the lobby bar.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Meredith J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,289
    1,538
    925
    450
    343
See reviews for
988
1,619
165
687
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,006)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
128 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

The hotel is in a great location in Condado. You are at walking distance of many restaurants and shops and most important it is in front of the beach. Service is fairly good also.
My main concern was the rooms. They are not as nice as they should be for a Conrad Brand. Beds are not comfortable, balcony was very deteriorated and it did not feel very clean. Bathrooms are ok.
Price is tricky. They advertise a price, but then they add some charge for "amenities" that increases your bill. There are plenty of choices in San Juan, so look around for different options.
Important note: The Hotel is very close to the Isla Grande Airport, so if you are a light sleeper take note!

Room Tip: Try to get rooms ocean front. The ones looking at the city are cheaper, but the airport makes it dif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FRDR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

Good pool/beach area, bar was nice, location was good although it is a haul to get to Old San Juan and a bit of a walk to Condado's nightlife. Received an upgrade so the room was great but a little cold. Didn't have many requests throughout the stay but the service upon check-in/out was nice. If I return, I would consider another stay but would also like to check out additional Hilton properties in the area, as I am a Diamond member.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Conrad Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Harrison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

Overall a great place to spend some relaxing and fun time. The main hotel employes were very attentive. We had a great time at the Conrad. Customer service was great. Our ocean view was spectacular. Food was good, not amazing but, their Parcha Mohitos were the best.

The poolside is another story. Waiters not very attentive I got the feeling they didnt want to be there. However, David, a waiter at the pool bar was the exception. Very attentive and made sure we were having a great time.

Pool side music needs to be addressed. Nice pool, pool bar, but the music was repetitive, a mood breaker. Dated, old fashioned. I felt I was at some Jersey Shore kids hang out instead of a Caribbean Tropical Paradise.

We had to complain several times, and we got a slight change of pace, ( then we got all merengue music one after another after another.)

Hopefully the manager and DJ in charge read this review and reconsider to update their selection a little.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lillian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

It was average as far as the food and amenities go. The view was beautiful at the ocean side and pool area neat and clean. We had an issue with the amount of the resort credit we were to receive and that is currently being worked. City view was a bit noisy.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Conrad Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi, United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

I went to Puerto Rico for the first time last February. One of my best friends was having an all girls party there for a week. I decided at the last minute to go. Well it was peak time and hotels were very expensive so I ended up booking through Expedia. I am big on reading reviews and allowing other customers to help me in my selection of hotels. I have found that reviewers tell the truth. And if several people are saying a hotel is good/bad... Believe it! The reviews were awesome for this property. So I decided to try it. From the moment I walked it... I knew I was we're I wanted to be. The lobby was very modern and edgy like I like it to be... Lots of red, a big glass wall filled with exotics fish and just plain cool atmosphere. The front desk clerks were ok in friendliness... This is something I have found with a lot of Hilton... And definitely something they need to work on! I told the receptionist I was in Puerto Rico to meet up with friends that were staying between the Conrad and Hilton Carib, around the corner. I had paid for a large room and she upgraded me to a wonderful suite. I couldn't have asked for a better room. I was overlooking the Ocean and partial street. It was magnificent. I had the best room out of all the girls in the party, so my room became the go to room for the group. Puerto Rico is very expensive they try to get you for everything. They think because you are coming from the mainland that you have money to burn. So everything is up for negotiation with price and everything is for sale... Literally! Beware! The other girls left and went on a cruise and I stayed an extra day to enjoy the fab hotel and beach. Well a major storm came thru the night after they left and I ended up staying a few more days because I couldn't get out, all flights were full. There was nothing scarier than being on that tiny island in the middle of the ocean and a major storm. Everything went black and the phones and Internet were dead. This hotel had a backup generator that powered lights and water. So we were not completely in the dark. Even tho this happened the hotel staff handled things better than expected. Thank you for a wonderful and memorable stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RubyRudi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

What a disappointment. The brochure made it sound like a nice resort, however the employees made it more of a Motel 6. Being ignored and reprimanded in front of other guest by the male clerk is not an acceptable customer service practice. Oh wait...Omar thought his employee reaction was okay. I guess it is true. The management sets the tone and customer service level of the employees establishment . This hotel failed. I did have a pleasant interaction action however with Jean ( hope I got his name right) he did recommend the Vieja Ropa. And some of the other female desk personnel were great. Overall, if you need a place to stay in San Juan, look elsewhere. They have plentiful other hotels, besides the Hilton family of hotels

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TonyDDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleBurn, Guest Relations Manager at The Condado Plaza Hilton, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear TonyDDenver,

Thank you for your review. I understand that you were dissatisfied with our prices and that you found them to be too expensive. I sincerely apologize for this and assure you that we do all we can to create a great experience for each one of our guests. We are actively looking for ways keep costs low and offer enhanced services for your comfort and convenience and will definitely keep you review in mind.

Again, I do thank you for your review and sincerely apologize for any inconveniences you may have gone through. I hope that the next time you are in the area, please consider staying with us at again.


Best regards,

Michelle Burn
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Juan hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
0.3 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,672 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
4.3 mi away
El San Juan Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#6 of 13 in Isla Verde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,079 reviews
4.0 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
0.8 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Condado Plaza Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Condado Plaza Hilton

Property: The Condado Plaza Hilton
Address: 999 Ashford Avenue, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico (Formerly Conrad San Juan Condado Plaza)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#8 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#11 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#15 Business Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Condado Plaza Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 572
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Condado Plaza Hilton, the only hotel overlooking both the Atlantic Ocean and Condado Lagoon, is an enchanting alternative to typical San Juan hotel. Our unique location boasts cool ocean breezes, breathtaking sunsets, and a shimmering, protected beach. Whether you're traveling for work or play, this sparkling hotel offers it all, superb dining options including the award-winning Pikayo restaurant, elegant event venues, three glistening pools, water slide, waterports, 24-hour fitness center, tennis, poolside massage and bustling nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com and Hilton Hotels Direct so you can book your The Condado Plaza Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conrad San Juan Condado Plaza Hotel San Juan
San Juan Conrad
Condado Plaza Hotel San Juan
Hotel Resort Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing