We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value and 5 Star Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Condado Plaza Hilton
Ranked #22 of 48 Hotels in San Juan
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Overall wonderful experience. Got an great deal on priceline but didn't know what to expect. Hotel is right on the ocean. We asked for an oceanview balcony after booking and our wish was granted. Yes, the hotel has some signs of wear but I choose to see that as character. Pics attached. The Café Cribe(look for a waiter named Kenneth-excellent) and Denny's on the property quite enjoyable. Denny's was good but service was super slow.
Here is where they earned a customer and referral for life. After checkout we caught a shuttle(mostly dedicated to the hotel) to the cruiseport. I left my backpck in the shuttle and wasdevastatedd as it had all myvaluabless in it. We headed back to the hotel and spoke toPhilippee and Czar who the tracked down the taxi drive and my backpack. This is Superior Customer Service!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zookeeper30165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,936)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,903 - 2,909 of 4,936 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

We only stayed here a night after being terribly disappointed with the whole ordeal. I cannot fathom how this is still classified as a Conrad hotel. Seriously.

The Good:
Upgraded to an ocean view room which was very nice. I would have hated to seen a city view room as it look down on the roof of the parking/entrance area which is just concrete. Really you can't even put a few potplants in here? Felt sorrier for the hotel behind us as their ocean view rooms look onto the concrete desert.
Pools - looked inviting.

The Bad:
Service - this was mixed from a somewhat helpful checkin to an extension of checkout by 30 minutes (despite it taking 15 minutes to get to front of line to checkout) and then checkout where I was presented with a blank piece of paper to keep. Despite it printing out with my stay and cost on one piece they presented me with a blank page. Bravo. When I asked if I could keep the actual printout I was met with not only a facial recognition of disbelief I would actually want it but a sarcastic response of you already have this. From where?? I'm checking out now!! Hmm. They were only chucking it out anyway!
Rooms - nice enough but is obvious refurb. Some parts are ultra modern like a white trim tv and sofa but then other parts like some tiling and balcony rails looked like it should be in a Humphrey Bogart film. Chewing gum had been stuck (and unsuccessfully removed) on the side of the bedside table which stared at me all night. Gross.

The Ugly:
Breakfast - being a gold member of hhonors we got brekky. Or what I thought was brekky. Two vouchers to use up. So went down to cafe caribe and presented vouchers which was for a continental breakfast. This included a juice a coffee and a piece of bread. In what world did this become a continental breakfast?!? Ridiculous. Oh and guess what you still had to pay tax (and tip but was good enough service for this) on top. So to me breakfast is NOT included.
Value - forthe night we stayed it was $174. Plus tax. Plus resort fee. This came to another $50. For what you got here was ludicrous. I knew about the resort fee before getting here but what did I get for my money? Just include it in your base price and stop nickel and diming customers.

Afterthoughts - don't do it. Plenty of other nicer places nearby in similar price bracket. The Conrad brand is being disserviced by leaving it on the title of this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ramenmuncher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for seven nights in a king ocean view room. The hotel has two towers with several views that either overlook the street, the ocean, or the lagoon. The hotel had several restaurants, 24 hour casino, coffee shop, and a really nice gift shop. We ate in several of the restaurants which I reviewed separate. The hotel does need some attention and I think it's more of a matter of management/attention to detail. A pool should never have broken chairs missing arm rests or rusty bolts sticking out, pull them that day! A plugged drain near the pool with standing water (was fixed days later) but should never go on that long. The property needs a little updating and some paint, but the lobby and landscaping are beautiful. The lobby had so many places to sit and a huge deck with plenty of seats. Bar service just about everywhere and food is served pool side. If you turn to the left exiting the hotel the street is filled with restaurants, shops, bars, 24 hour Walgreens (cheaper then gift shop). The area is also safe with police just about on every corner. If you turn to the right you have the bridge, not much within walking distance except Hilton properties which have a great group of shops, Morton's Steakhouse, Starbucks, etc. in the lobby area. The Hotel tour desk/concierge was great with questions, we booked a rainforest tour and got info about the Bacardi Rum factory tour, free. (Take the bus .75cents, & .50cent ferry ride). I would also recommend taking the bus to Old San Juan, the cabbies are shady, always a different price. Just make sure you have quarters for both bus & ferry. The laundry room near the pool has a change machine. The hotel has really slow elevators (three total) two in lobby and one near pool, that's the best one. Free wi-fi, good size gym, three pools, two jacuzzis, pool slide. Underground parking and a Enterprise car rental onsite. The hotel does not have a full spa only massages. If you are looking for a spa go to Olas Spa at the Hilton within walking distance.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Houstan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for seven nights in a king ocean view room. The hotel has two towers with several views that either overlook the street, the ocean, or the lagoon. The hotel had several restaurants, 24 hour casino, coffee shop, and a really nice gift shop. We ate in several of the restaurants which I reviewed separate. The hotel does need some attention and I think it's more of a matter of management/attention to detail. A pool should never have broken chairs missing arm rests or rusty bolts sticking out, pull them that day! A plugged drain near the pool with standing water (was fixed days later) but should never go on that long. The property needs a little updating and some paint, but the lobby and landscaping are beautiful. The lobby had so many places to sit and a huge deck with plenty of seats. Bar service just about everywhere and food is served pool side. If you turn to the left exiting the hotel the street is filled with restaurants, shops, bars, 24 hour Walgreens (cheaper then gift shop). The area is also safe with police just about on every corner. If you turn to the right you have the bridge, not much within walking distance except Hilton properties which have a great group of shops, Morton's Steakhouse, Starbucks, etc. in the lobby area. The Hotel tour desk/concierge was great with questions, we booked a rainforest tour and got info about the Bacardi Rum factory tour, free. (Take the bus .75cents, & .50cent ferry ride). I would also recommend taking the bus to Old San Juan, the cabbies are shady, always a different price. Just make sure you have quarters for both bus & ferry. The laundry room near the pool has a change machine. The hotel has really slow elevators (three total) two in lobby and one near pool, that's the best one. Free wi-fi, good size gym, three pools, two jacuzzis, pool slide. Underground parking and a Enterprise car rental onsite. The hotel does not have a full spa only massages. If you are looking for a spa go to Olas Spa at the Hilton within walking distance.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Houstan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

I have been at least 3 times on this place. Allways for business.. I love to sleep at the night listening to the ocean..

Try get an ocean view. It may be more expensive but much better..

I took one day off and went to the pool and the beach. The snorkeling there is nice.. If you are lucky you may see the black angel with yrllow stripes (Paru)
picking parasites on larger fishes..

Pool is nice. The employees are friendly..
Try the Ropa Vieja restaurant on the same street.. Love the meal named Ropa Vieja (Cuban dish).
I will return!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Reginaldo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

The Conrad is a mid-range property in a good Condado location. Easy access from the airport, as well as easy access to the cruise port. We spent two nights here prior to boarding a transatlantic cruise. The room was spacious and clean, with a large balcony, all in all a comfortable stay. The bathroom was clean and bright, with a large walk-in shower. The room had a small closet, iron and ironing board, coffee maker, safe and a small fridge. The bed was a bit too hard to my taste but mostly comfortable.

The property has almost everything you need, from bars, restaurants, a casino, a small beach, a large oceanside pool and a smaller lagoon-side pool with an adjacent tennis court. The swim-up bar is an awesome feature, but the service is horribly slow, with lots of algae growing around it. Pricing for food and drinks is way too high, I guess to make up for the lower room rates found online. Service was nothing special, no one except a breakfast waiter at the Cafe Caribe seemed happy at all. Everyone seemed bored, which you could tell by their mannerisms and interactions with guests. No one was rude, but they didn't care either.

I wouldn't object to staying here again, but there are many other similar choices.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RandyRandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

The staff of the hotel was great, as was the ocean view from my room. That said, the decor reminded me of a brothel rather than a Hilton property. The lighting in the room was poor, making it difficult to read.

Room Tip: I would select another Hilton property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bkkth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.3 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#18 of 48 in San Juan
7,215 reviews
0.4 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Condado Palm Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Condado Lagoon Villas at Caribe Hilton
1.3 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
0.5 mi away
Hyatt House San Juan
Hyatt House San Juan
#8 of 48 in San Juan
937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Condado Plaza Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Condado Plaza Hilton

Address: 999 Ashford Avenue, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico (Formerly Conrad San Juan Condado Plaza)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#8 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#12 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#15 Business Hotel in San Juan
Price Range: $187 - $486 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Condado Plaza Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 572
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Condado Plaza Hilton, the only hotel overlooking both the Atlantic Ocean and Condado Lagoon, is an enchanting alternative to typical San Juan hotel. Our unique location boasts cool ocean breezes, breathtaking sunsets, and a shimmering, protected beach. Whether you're traveling for work or play, this sparkling hotel offers it all, superb dining options including the award-winning Pikayo restaurant, elegant event venues, three glistening pools, water slide, waterports, 24-hour fitness center, tennis, poolside massage and bustling nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Condado Plaza Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conrad San Juan Condado Plaza Hotel San Juan
San Juan Conrad
Condado Plaza Hotel San Juan
Hotel Resort Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing