We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cost and location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
El Canario by the Lagoon
Ranked #22 of 48 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Basseterre, St. Kitts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cost and location”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We recently stayed at El Canario for a four (4) night and we enjoyed it. It might not of had fine amenities but its a good place for a good price. The place was very clean and you could have actually smell the cleanliness. The room was a very big room with two big beds. There was a dining area with a reasonable size table and two chairs and we also had a private balcony with two additional chairs.
A large dresser was in the room, with a mini fridge, bedside table and night lamps. Added to that was complimentary breakfast served from about 6.30a.m to about10.00 a.m. Most of all there were free internet that is so important for most travelers, and the dining table could be used as a desk for the business traveler.
One thing needs addressing urgently is the elevator. Seems rather old and noisy.
Great price for a great location (in the heart of the bus line).

Room Tip: The rooms on the left had a private balcony with a good view. The fourth floor was ideal. In case...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Olette T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    138
    57
    21
    12
See reviews for
57
114
24
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
241 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

El Canario by the Lagoon was just fine. These bad reviews are probably from people who expect a lot of something for nothing. We came in a group of 5 split between 3 rooms. No problems at all. What I really liked about the place was that its locally owned. There is one guy at the front desk that isn't very friendly, but don't get that twisted with being an a-hole, bc he wasn't. The wifi worked perfect on our iPhones and iPad. It was close by to everything we needed ...and a cab ride out to Old San Juan was only $15. All in all, I'd stay there again without question. Nothing flashy, but that's exactly what we wanted.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaxn81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Bad service in the front desk, no internet in the room. And they said yes. They didn't help you with the luggage and the elevator its too old that doesn't have sensors, the bathroom doesn't flash and the room are really hot. And its too expensive for watch they give, I was in a hostel in old San juan 20 per night and was clean they help u and good internet.
Ah the man that is in the recepcion didn't pass the calls

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariel31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Don't come here on business, or if you need internet, or if you need a toilet. There is no view. Balconies are filled with hot air from the blowing air conditioning. No air conditioning in the hallways or elevator. Toilet sprayed water in my face and flooded half the room. Fat man at front desk said, "I can give you a mop and bucket." I can't believe i spent $440 for half a week to stay here. On the plus side, Mathilda is awesome, and it's a great location. Spend an extra $100 over 4 days and go somewhere toilets and internet work. It's worth it.

Room Tip: They're all the same. Sockets don't work, Lamps are broken. Hallways and elevators have no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PC662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux City, Iowa
Level Contributor
150 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

No frills at the El Canario -- but clean, friendly staff, and great morning coffee and simple breakfast. A short one block walk and you are in the middle of the action in Condado. One more block and you are on the beach. Weekends have concerts. Building is in a classic Puerto Rican decor. We were in town when the World Baseball tournament was going on, so extra security was on display.

Room Tip: All rooms are about the same - make sure you go up to the top floor and enjoy the sites and sounds a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PamLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
va
Level Contributor
104 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Very basic, but still right there in Condado next to everything. Most of the more popular hotels were full and I did not want to pay too much, so we decided to try this one since the location was good. It worked out just fine. Don't expect much from the breakfast or the other amenities, but it was a clean, sufficiently comfortable place for a one night stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jl21Va
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
251 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Hidden from the main street of El Condado, and looking right at the Condado Lagoon (hence the name), you'll find this little hotel. First of all I have to say that I agree with some reviews from past contributors. The location is one of the best things it has. The prices are relatively low for its location, as all other hotels around this tourist area are high. The price looks even better for what it is given to you. Nice, clean and spacious bedrooms. I don't know if every bedroom has a balcony, but mine had one. Not much to see, but hey... at least its something. As I mentioned before the location is almost perfect. Very close to "La Ventana de Condado" (Condado's Window), where music, food & drinks combine during nighttime (especially during the weekends).

Two bad things. First, parking is terrible. Second, although overall management is pretty good I encountered a desk clerk who was either not happy that day or just doesn't know much about how to deal with not only tourist, but with people in general. I mean, these kind of people are found everywhere, it just so happens that I found one during my stay here.

But, for everything else I would definitely stay here again and also recommend it to others.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WaiPRUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Juan Condado
0.2 mi away
Coral Princess Hotel
Coral Princess Hotel
#14 of 48 in San Juan
923 reviews
0.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#31 of 48 in San Juan
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Miramar
Hotel Miramar
#20 of 48 in San Juan
805 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Consulat, Ascend Collection Hotel
0.5 mi away
Courtyard San Juan Miramar
Courtyard San Juan Miramar
#17 of 48 in San Juan
982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Canario by the Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Canario by the Lagoon

Property: El Canario by the Lagoon
Address: 4 Clemenceau Street | Condado, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in San Juan
#7 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#12 Business Hotel in San Juan
#13 Family Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Canario by the Lagoon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your El Canario by the Lagoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Canario By The Lagoon Hotel San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing