We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nightmare”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
El Canario by the Lagoon
Ranked #22 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Clifton, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nightmare”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Don't come here on business, or if you need internet, or if you need a toilet. There is no view. Balconies are filled with hot air from the blowing air conditioning. No air conditioning in the hallways or elevator. Toilet sprayed water in my face and flooded half the room. Fat man at front desk said, "I can give you a mop and bucket." I can't believe i spent $440 for half a week to stay here. On the plus side, Mathilda is awesome, and it's a great location. Spend an extra $100 over 4 days and go somewhere toilets and internet work. It's worth it.

Room Tip: They're all the same. Sockets don't work, Lamps are broken. Hallways and elevators have no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PC662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    139
    57
    21
    12
See reviews for
58
114
25
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sioux City, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

No frills at the El Canario -- but clean, friendly staff, and great morning coffee and simple breakfast. A short one block walk and you are in the middle of the action in Condado. One more block and you are on the beach. Weekends have concerts. Building is in a classic Puerto Rican decor. We were in town when the World Baseball tournament was going on, so extra security was on display.

Room Tip: All rooms are about the same - make sure you go up to the top floor and enjoy the sites and sounds a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PamLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
va
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Very basic, but still right there in Condado next to everything. Most of the more popular hotels were full and I did not want to pay too much, so we decided to try this one since the location was good. It worked out just fine. Don't expect much from the breakfast or the other amenities, but it was a clean, sufficiently comfortable place for a one night stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jl21Va
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level 6 Contributor
270 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Hidden from the main street of El Condado, and looking right at the Condado Lagoon (hence the name), you'll find this little hotel. First of all I have to say that I agree with some reviews from past contributors. The location is one of the best things it has. The prices are relatively low for its location, as all other hotels around this tourist area are high. The price looks even better for what it is given to you. Nice, clean and spacious bedrooms. I don't know if every bedroom has a balcony, but mine had one. Not much to see, but hey... at least its something. As I mentioned before the location is almost perfect. Very close to "La Ventana de Condado" (Condado's Window), where music, food & drinks combine during nighttime (especially during the weekends).

Two bad things. First, parking is terrible. Second, although overall management is pretty good I encountered a desk clerk who was either not happy that day or just doesn't know much about how to deal with not only tourist, but with people in general. I mean, these kind of people are found everywhere, it just so happens that I found one during my stay here.

But, for everything else I would definitely stay here again and also recommend it to others.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WaiPRUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We actually liked the hotel. It's in a great location in Condado, right off of the main strip, close to the beach also. The rooms are good and clean.
But the front desk person in the evenings is terrible. Very rude, definitely has a clear dislike for tourists. Which is odd given his career choice. During our 2 night stay we asked him several questions about the city and he could barely bother to look up from his laptop or remove his headphones.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank World T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenerife, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

If you are looking for a clean hotel which is well located, this is a great choice! It's only a 2 minute walk away from the beach and Ashford Avenue (where all the hotels, restaurants, bars, etc are) so at night it is very quiet!
Our room had a double bed, AC, cable tv, wifi, a balcony with views of the lagoon and the bathroom was a good size too. The furnishings weren't very modern, but for us the cleanliness was more important. Our towels got changed daily, and the sheets every other day.
After my first shower that had very little pressure, I spoke to someone in reception and they solved the problem straight away by changing the shower head.
I needed to iron some clothes and could use the iron and ironing board on the ground floor where there is a washing machine and dryer too.
We stayed at the hotel for 7 days so when I called to make the booking, I asked for a discount which they did give us. We met other people who were staying there for 3-4 weeks who also get a good deal.
The breakfast was very basic: lots of cereal, bread, pastries, watermelon, apples and bananas. I was hoping for lots of different fruit so that was a bit disappointing but by the second day I was over it! ;)
There's a bus stop to take you to Old San Juan, extremely unreliable! Locals told us that buses turn up when they went to, but only costs 75 cents.
The best place we found to rent a car was at enterprise, which is on 888 Avenida Ashford, next to Starbucks. They had the best rates and it was even cheaper to book online than in person!
We had a great time in PR and I was very sad to leave!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ILoveRio74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

The hotel is located very nicely and a walking distance of many things a turist will want to go to.
Neighbourhood felt safe.
Service was great expect 1 man on the night we arrived (it was after midnight ).
He was rude and unhelpful. Everyone else was really freindly,especially a lady from St.Lucia,Mathilda I think she was called,wonderful and so helpful person!!
Rooms are big and confy,beds are big which was very nice!
Airconditioning was quite old and noisy but it worked and that was very important because it was very hot!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harakka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.2 mi away
Coral Princess Hotel
Coral Princess Hotel
#12 of 47 in San Juan
931 reviews
0.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#31 of 47 in San Juan
345 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Juan Condado
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Miramar
Hotel Miramar
#18 of 47 in San Juan
814 reviews
0.5 mi away
Courtyard San Juan Miramar
Courtyard San Juan Miramar
#17 of 47 in San Juan
988 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Consulat, Ascend Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Canario by the Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Canario by the Lagoon

Property: El Canario by the Lagoon
Address: 4 Clemenceau Street | Condado, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in San Juan
#7 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#12 Business Hotel in San Juan
#13 Family Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Canario by the Lagoon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your El Canario by the Lagoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Canario By The Lagoon Hotel San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing