We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute and very verticle”
Review of Sandy Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sandy Beach Hotel
Ranked #40 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Reviewed January 20, 2014

This place was cute after you get used to to steep incline going up and the unmarked last step of what appears to be a long slope at the end, until you trip and realize there is a stair there. I did comment to them that with a stroller, this could be perilous for someone, meaning me.

The people who work there are really sweet! They have an elevator which is quite tiny, but works. It does not seem to line up with the floors it stops at, however. So watch your step. You have to watch your step a lot in Condado and in Old San Juan. There are literally huge holes in the sidewalks and tiles that fall away leaving you with a mere precipice of salvation.That is, if your foot doesn't get caught. This hotel was very cute and has a nice outdoor patio where you can have an ok breakfast. The toaster over did not really work right.

The parlor area is really cutely decorated. There are nice travel brochures to help you get ideas for your trip. There are always tons of taxis outside. Don't even bother waiting for a but. It takes hours and they never seem to arrive. I gave up and finally rented a car. You really need a car while there. IT's not like being in Europe or Israel where the busses are all over the place. The walk across the bridge the long way to Condado Plaza is really pretty. And there is a little beach along the way that is great if you have kids because there are no really big waves. Most of the beaches everywhere are kind of dangerous with kids. Also in Pinones there are beaches toward the end of the town that are shallower and safer. This hotel was really fun and nice, aside from the gay disco bar next door. The coqui frogs begin at around 4:30 or so and are a wonderful compliment to this fast paced city.

Room Tip: I am quite sure you can hear the dance music from any angle.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (320)
There are newer reviews for Sandy Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 320 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2014

This is a small hotel just steps from the beach. the rooms are small and the beds hard, pillows flat. IT IS VERY CLEAN AND SAFE. Everything you need is just a short walk including restaurants, shops, Walgreens, casinos. For $35.00us you can buy a day pass at the Marriott just down the street. NO POOL HERE but nice beach within 25 feet of hotel. I would stay here again only if i was on a budget and couldn't get a place with a pool. A good hotel if all you care about in a hotel is sleeping.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cindy f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

We were only in San Juan for a few days and this place was perfect for us. It's a nice little place to stay in San Juan. Room was clean, staff was friendly and helpful. Location was perfect. Walking distance to many restaurants, shops and the beach. Would definitely go back.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We had to stay here over the weekend due to a change of plans. This was the only hotel ( I use that term loosely) that had availability with such short notice. I was worried to stay here, to say the least. The other reviews scared me, but we did't have a choice that didn't cost us a month's rent!
I must say that it wasn't that bad. It's very minimal, but in a good location. Staff was friendly and the bus stop was right on the corner. The beach was nice and there are tons of restaurants and shops in walking distance. The only thing I would argue is that is should be called a motel. Other than that, you get what you pay for but it isn't the worst place to be.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Serenatee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

I was only in this hotel for one night as I arrived a day early for a cruise but this hotel isn't all that bad. It's a little old but It's a few steps to a beautiful, long beach. Not great for wading in but beautiful non-the-less and the owner is so friendly. He does anything he can to make your stay enjoyable. It's certainly not a fancy hotel by any stretch but it provides the necessities quite well. The beds were a little hard but the room was very clean. It's very close to good shopping and good eating places. We took a bus to old San Juan for .75. If you take a cab let the meter run and don't take a flat rate. It's way cheaper that way and that was told to me by a local who lives there. If I ever have to go back to Puerto Rico again, I'll probably book it again.

Room Tip: We had a room in front but it didn't really matter because there's no balcony.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charpet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

Check in is at 3pm they do have a room you can store you bags if you arrive early my wife and I were given a room with 2 twin beds but we just used it to sleep also it is very close to the beach which is not good for a leisurely swim but we did see some out surfing it seemed to be good for that its also in close proximity to plenty of good places to eat and you can take a bus to old San Juan for 0.75

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Herbert L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.3 mi away
El Canario by the Lagoon
El Canario by the Lagoon
#22 of 47 in San Juan
342 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#31 of 47 in San Juan
351 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Condado Palm Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Le Consulat, Ascend Collection Hotel
0.1 mi away
Coral Princess Hotel
Coral Princess Hotel
#13 of 47 in San Juan
938 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Iberia
Hotel Iberia
#41 of 47 in San Juan
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandy Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Beach Hotel

Address: 4 Condado Avenue | Condado, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico (Formerly El Canario by the Sea)
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
Price Range: $88 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sandy Beach Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sandy Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Canario By The Sea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing