We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sandy Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (328)
Filter reviews
328 results
Traveler rating
33
98
106
50
41
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
33
98
106
50
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbudget hotelan older hotellocation is greatfree breakfastwalgreenstaxisrafaelpr
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
163 - 168 of 328 reviews
Reviewed January 26, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for one night only and i was only too happy to check out .
The name "hotel" is a misnomer since there is none of the usual amenities of a hotel.
Just the room and a small place to have breakfast.

The place is very untidy ,the linens were dingy and when we arrived there was a man in the room assigned to us fixing something in the roof of our room. he left all the debris on the bed and floor
.
We demanded another room and it was granted.
That room was somewhat cleaner but the towels were still dingy. Better towels were provided when we asked.

A little bit of paint and attention to the potted plants will go a long way to improve the ambience.

I was dismayed to see all the plants dried up or partially dried up!

The TV did not work well as we kept losing the signal. The A/C was very noisy.

The saving grace of this hotel is its location about 15 minutes from the airport and from Plaza Las Americas.
It is on the beach so the sea air is refreshing though swimming will be a challenge for all but very good swimmers.
The breakfast was satisfactory as continental breakfasts go!
The staff was cordial .
The Sandy Beach Hotel should be renamed Sandy Beach GUEST HOUSE. This will prevent disappointment.

Room Tip: Personally visit your room before accepting it . Ensure the TV works
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

This hotel is 10 steps away from the beach - that is the only good thing. They have internet access however you have to sit in a room next to the reception desk. Speaking of the front desk, the older gentleman was very nice and helpful. When we asked for restaurant recommendations he had a printed list ready to hand out with restaurant, bar and nightlife options. Parking is not available at the hotel which means you can either try your luck and drive around the neighborhood or pay a ridiculous amount per day in parking lots nearby. The overall decor of the place is pretty outdated. I did not mind the fact that the room was small or that the furniture was old. What really bothered me - or should I say what really scared the crap out of me was big cockroaches that were hanging out in the bathroom. We had to keep the light on all the time to prevent the roaches from crawling out - gross!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacky T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

This hotel is BAD! I'm a frequent traveler and typically stay at average 3 star hotels. This is a far cry from an average hotel. This place is creepy, small and dirty. The bathroom was moldy and dirty, the beds were old and uncomfortable, the a/c did work (window unit) but was really noisy. The continental breakfast was toast and cereal. It is on the beach that is the only positive thing about this hotel. We just stayed overnight prior to a cruise, but I'd suggest spend a few more bucks and avoid this gross hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jill627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

I wouldn't stay here for a week, but a couple of nights is worth the price. You are steps away from the beach and near lots of shopping and restaurants. There are many hotels located on the main street where they have casinos and clubs and bars that you can walk too. Old San Juan is a 20 minute bus ride away. The hotel is quaint and the staff is very personable. I really enjoyed it and will stay again!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelingdiva4978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

The name is "sandy beach" and you'll find enough sand on your bed which made us feel very uncomfortable. They provide breakfast, but no parking or laundry. The parking place cost us $20/night. My friend went to the nearby Marriot for laundry. The only good thing of this place is its location. A beautiful beach is only a few steps away, just next to the hotel. Anyway you can't expect more with such cheap price.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Xiaozhen2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews