We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Don't expect much & you won't be disappointed . . .” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandy Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sandy Beach Hotel
Ranked #37 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Porter, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Don't expect much & you won't be disappointed . . .”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

This is a back-packers paradise! Great rates & right on Condado Beach. However, very limited ammenities, so don't expect too much. The rooms are clean although they are dated. Beds were very comfortable. Hotel staff was eager to assist in any way they could. I would call this hotel "quaint". When I was a child, my family used to stay in side-of-the-road hotels, and this hotel is reminiscent of those days. Plenty of restaurants near-by, bus stop about 1/2 block away, within walking distance to a lot of things, beaches, etc. All-in-all, we really enjoyed it. Was it a five-start, no. But what it lacked in elegance, it made up for in character. Will I stay there again? If circumstances were the same, yes. We stayed pre-cruise for 4 days & bunked with another couple, so we had fun. However, if we stay longer in Puerto Rico, we will go with finer accomodations.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bigfern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    90
    97
    43
    35
See reviews for
76
82
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

A step to the beach and lounge chairs $3 /day, restaurants, main road, nice little breakfast served, went to walgreens got wine/cheese had happy hr up on terrace. Herman and staff very helpful. Short bus ride to Viejo San Juan. Bar next door a little loud but wear earplugs or sleep later. coqui frogs croak all night but thats everywhere. Would stay again. Good value for price!

Room Tip: ask for one away from nextdoor bar and road
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ginalaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

Decided to spend a week in the sun and booked at the Sandy Beach. It was in a great location and only about a block from the main street and the beach. Very good pricing, and the perfect place to stay if you want to get away and don’t want to spend a lot on a big name resort. Staff very friendly and helpful. Room clean, and comfortable. Would return.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terrence M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

Very basic.... great value, great location,beach is a step away from the hotel.. did not have any problem @ all spend 2 days before my cruise, buses, fast food, restaurant all closed by.. Will come back next time.

Room Tip: i did not have a balcony nonetheless i could see the beach from my window....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sousouce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Croix
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

This hotel is a a great value. It is well priced, 1/2 block from the beach, close to shopping, near night life and major bus lines. Included continental breakfast and a friendly staff make this the perfect value for the budget conscious traveler.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Xawntoia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

It was in a very nice location. Close to beach and main street. However, don't be fooled by the pretty pictures. You have to pay extra for parking and the parking is around 2 corners and halfway up the block. Not convenient at all. Front desk gave us a key for room 303 that didn't work. Had to go back down stairs on the rickety elevator. Got the correct key and up we go. Once in the room we found 2 large dead palmetto bugs and one crawling on the AC. We turned the AC on and the sound was horrendous. It sounded like a truck motor in the room. Back down we go. Got switched to another room. This one had no bugs but smelled musty. I pulled back the comforter only to find blonde AND brown hair on my pillow. I was so disgusted we had to sleep on top of the comforter. I would never recommend this place.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Asanchez61306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2012

This hotel is very basic. However, my room was clean, the bed was comfortable and the front desk staff friendly. And of course free wifi. For me it was for two nights for a quick weekend in San Juan. The location is great. I'd say it adequate for a short trip ofrthe night before/after a cruise but more than this I would want something (much) better.

My only real complaint was the really thread bare towels, more like a dishrag. But again for two nights and $85 a night I can deal with that.

Room Tip: The complimentary breakfast is really lame but there are really cheap options nearby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nycmia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa Condado Hotel
Casa Condado Hotel
#31 of 46 in San Juan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Wave Hotel Condado
The Wave Hotel Condado
#15 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#33 of 46 in San Juan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Coral Princess Hotel
Coral Princess Hotel
#13 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 866 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Condado Palm Inn & Suites
0.3 mi away
El Canario by the Lagoon
El Canario by the Lagoon
#22 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandy Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Beach Hotel

Property: Sandy Beach Hotel
Address: 4 Condado Avenue | Condado, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico (Formerly El Canario by the Sea)
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sandy Beach Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Orbitz so you can book your Sandy Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Canario By The Sea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing