We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A cultural museum with some engaging halls”

Museo de Las Americas
Book In Advance
More Info
$75.00*
and up
Old San Juan Half-Day Sightseeing Tour
Ranked #28 of 201 things to do in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Museum of the Americas, located in the Cuartel Ballajá in Old San Juan, promotes the history and culture of the American continent from Alaska to Patagonia.
Las Cruces, NM, USA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A cultural museum with some engaging halls”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

My wife, son, his girlfriend, and I walked between the two forts that are major attractions in San Juan. We hit the Museo de Las Americas, where we spent the next hour and a half, primarily in two halls. The building itself is a spectacle, with its huge open courtyard. One hall had exhibits on indigenous peoples of the Americas and was excellent. The statuary created by an ethnologist who visited the tribes in person was striking, and adding to the experience were the collections of cultural artifacts for each tribe. Another hall had diverse exhibits on folk arts in the Americas, very artfully and informatively done. We arrived at this hall at closing time, but the guard graciously invited us in, with several other people. We stayed about 1/2 hour and enjoyed talking with him. There were other halls, such as one with art made from trash, but we did not find them any distraction (ahem) from viewing the two halls just noted.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank vince35nations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    82
    28
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Penuelas, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“hidden gem”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Lovely museum, great staff! Love the Taino collection. Can't wait for the African root collection to open. Highly recommended.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank kristinairamirez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plant City, Florida
Level Contributor
221 reviews
118 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Museum of the Americas”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Let me start by saying all the museums close between 12- 1pm so pick that time to eat lunch. The museum was great though, it was broke into several sections. The first was on Indians from around the world and there was a documentary on this artist (sorry I don't know his name) who has went all over the world making statues of Indians and some of his statues are there to see. Another section was a local artist who walks the beaches and picks up garbage and makes art. I have to say it was very interesting stuff, and he had a sense of hummer with his art. The only complaint was there was film on the artist and it was in Spanish and we could not understand it. It should have at least had sub titles. Then we went through a section were it told about how Puerto Rico became a territory, and we had a really nice chat with an employee of the museum. He was very informative and a joked that we had made him really use his English. Overall it was very informative and enjoyable and nice to get out of the heat.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lisa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal Lake, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“So interesting, definitely a must-see!”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I was entranced by this museum. Both the permanent and temporary exhibits were phenomenal. It's just $3 admission but the museum closes from 12-1 for lunch (we didn't know this). If you're in the museum at 12, they give you a wristband so that you can return after lunch. One of the best places we visited in Old San Juan!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lgroat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just happened to come across this great place!”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We literally turned around and saw a sign directing us to this wonderful place...the building is beautifully constructed and the set up is nice. The open air hallways with each exhibit sectioned off. Each was very interesting...if you have the time watch the video at the end of the first (pretty sure). It was great info and a wonderful foundation to the pieces around you.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Goldie68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museo de Las Americas also viewed

 

Been to Museo de Las Americas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing