We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a fantastic cemetery”
Review of San Juan Cemetery

San Juan Cemetery
Experience for Yourself
More Info
$40.00*
and up
Old San Juan Walking Tour
Ranked #9 of 201 things to do in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A seaside cemetery where a number of notable Puerto Ricans rest.
Okemos, Michigan
Level Contributor
1,663 reviews
677 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 466 helpful votes
“a fantastic cemetery”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

This is the first cemetery like this I have ever encountered in traveling around the world. Next to El Morro it worth walking down to see. Right on the seashore. The graves are fantastic and worth the time. A one of a kind sight and I would say should be high on your San Juan places to visit.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chipperhigh2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,009 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    566
    348
    87
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ratnagiri, India
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“what a place to rest in peace”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

very beautiful cemetery i've ever seen. just besides the beautiful shore line of san juan n in d vicinity of fort. surely worth a visit

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Abhijit_Marathe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
120 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“One of the best I've visited. ”
Reviewed December 3, 2013 via mobile

If you like to take photos this is a great place for it. Right on the ocean and below the Fort. If you like visiting cemeteries you'll enjoy this one. Nice.

Helpful?
Thank Critic53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Must See”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Eerie but beautiful cemetery by the sea. Photography gold. It is located right next to El Morro, so as you're walking there you can see this cemetery on the way. I did not go down through it, but the birds eye view from the top was enough to see the entire grounds.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Annmayy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

This cemetery has a perfect spot so close to the ocean.
I think the broken grave I saw should have the garbage removed and the bones covered back up.
Right next to the Fort so I takes no time to walk down and have a quick look.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank yann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Juan Cemetery also viewed

 

Been to San Juan Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing