We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well done small museum and well organized tours”
Review of Casa Bacardi

Casa Bacardi
Book In Advance
More Info
$95.00*
and up
Bacardi Rum Distillery and Old San Juan Tour
More Info
$103.69*
and up
Old San Juan Segway Tour
More Info
$84.00*
and up
Casa Bacardi and Old San Juan Tour
Ranked #1 of 45 Museums in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The new BACARDI Distillery Tour seamlessly blends contemporary architecture and modern technology; with more than a 150 years of heritage and tradition. If you are visiting Puerto Rico, or simply thinking where to go, visit the largest premium rum distillery in the world - the BACARDI Rum Distillery, where more than 85% of the BACARDI rum of the world is distilled. Here you will have the opportunity to experience first-hand the history and tradition of the most awarded rum in the world, BACARDI. Tours: Monday-Saturday from 9:00 AM to 4:30 PM. Sunday from 10:00 AM - 4:30 PM.
USA
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Well done small museum and well organized tours”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

This was a fun excursion from our hotel (we just took a cab rather than the pre-arranged tours set up by our hotel, which saved money).

Enjoy 2 free drinks on the covered patio on the well-landscaped grounds of the Bacardi factory prior to/or after your tour. Tours are offered in English and include a brief, informative movie of the Bacardi family history and then tour several museum-worthy exhibits (well done Bacardi!) before attending a live demo by a bartender, showing their most famous drinks.

There is a nice gift shop and a snack bar on site as well.

The one thing to note is, you can't bring your drinks onto the tour bus/actual tour so just plan to use your 2 drink vouchers accordingly.

We thoroughly enjoyed this tour!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank rohugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,040
    1,208
    570
    188
    107
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wahddya want? a couple of free drinks… sure”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

They pump the tourists in from ships and god knows where else, ply them with a couple of drinks, explain how the Bacardi family is wonderful, and charge an arm and leg if you happen to want to buy something. As Yoda might have put it: Hucksters they are. The bat brand is not sacred. For gosh sakes, its just RUM!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dr.Noir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Free Drinks?!?!? What's not to love!”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Rented a car to drive from isla verde to the distellery, took about 18 minutes or so to get there!
Arrived just in time to jump on the trolley and get handed our two free tickets for comp drinks! Tour lasted about 40 mins or so! Gift shop had every fusion rum you could think of.
Mojito bar was Awessooommme.. Try the Pineaplle Mojito... definitely had a good time!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank DionneSherrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice historical tour”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

We decided to take this tour during a friends trip to San Juan. We all enjoyed the hearing the history of the Bacardi family's exile from Cuba, the distillery process, and sampling the different Bacardi rum flavors. There is also a gift shop where limited Bacardi Reserve rum can be purchased and a name can be etched into the bottle. You don't have to be a drinker to enjoy the tour. Oh, and did I mention that the tour is free? It was a unique experience and I recommend it to others.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingZestfully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fun, even without the real factory experience.”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

My family combined our visit here with a trip to Plaza Las Americas in the morning, a taxi to Bacardi and then the ferry to Old San Juan.

Bacardi is my favorite rum so I was pretty excited about visiting the factory. Depending on the crowd you might have to wait a long time until your ticket is called to get on the trolley. At least you can enjoy your two drink tickets while you wait. Bacardi is cheaper at their gift shop than I've ever seen in the US.

I was disappointed that we didn't get to see the actual factory, but at least it was free.

The ferry ride back to Old San Juan was your typical ferry, with great views out the window. While we waited for the ferry we bought quenepas from men with a table outside.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank YaniraRocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Bacardi also viewed

San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
El Yunque National Forest, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Casa Bacardi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing