We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Used to be fantastic...used to be.”

Fefo's Deli and Tapas
Ranked #153 of 1,007 Restaurants in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, Latin, Spanish, Puerto Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Used to be fantastic...used to be.”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We went to Fefo's on our last trip and it was one of the best food experiences we've had so we knew we had to go back this time. Unfortunately, it seems that since they've gotten more popular their food quality has gone down and the prices have gone up. Don't get me wrong it was still good but it wasn't great. The last time we were there for breakfast we had these wonderful homemade pancakes that were the size of a dinner plate. This time the pancakes tastes box mix made and were the size of a saucer. Also, the food wasn't as well seasoned as last time. The breakfast potatoes were bland and undercooked and the eggs had no seasoning what so ever.
I also felt as though the service wasn't very good. The waitress seemed to give the locals excellent service but us "tourists" got looked over a lot.
We will go back next time we're in Old San Juan just to make sure they weren't just having an off day but I have a feeling the "Old World" charm has been replaced by dollar signs in this establishment and that's a real shame.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank janabm81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    66
    14
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Relaxed and delicious”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Their trifongo is literally the most delicious thing I've ever eaten.
It was a perfect stop while wandering around Old San Juan. The staff was kind and helpful. It's a local place, so brush up on your Spanish food vocabulary.
Loved it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Awegman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Trifongo...my new favorite food”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I loved mofongo, and then I went to Fefo's and ate trifongo with shrimp and garlic sauce. It was delicious! If you're looking for something quick and authentic while you're in Old San Juan, this is your place. Our server - Milton - even accommodated my 11 year old nephew's request for a custom-made grilled cheese sandwich with bacon and onions. I don't know if they'd ever made one of those before, but it, too, was pretty darn good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guaynabo, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Great Local Food”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

I had a great experiece at Fefo's: reasonable prices, moderate portions and above all, delicious. It's a small venue, but it's easy to find and it's right in the middle of Old San Juan, the turistic walkable city. You must try the trifongo or triple mofongo, you won't regret it! This is coming from a local.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nanaramida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

You must the.eat tri-mafungo! It was fantastic, we stumbled upon this place by accident. On the hunt for authentic Puerto Rican food. And ask for a cute waiter named Milton

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cecelia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fefo's Deli and Tapas also viewed

San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Fefo's Deli and Tapas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing