We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, upscale hotel on the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Ranked #19 of 48 Hotels in San Juan
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chicago, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice, upscale hotel on the beach”
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Overall this is a very nice hotel. The room was beautiful and so were the beach and pools. If you can afford it, you won't be disappointed with this hotel. Checkin and Checkout were slow, but I was arriving and leaving along with many other conference members. The bar is expensive. $7 for a Medalla Light, which costs only $3-$4 in a typical San Juan bar.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,943 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,261
    2,456
    1,218
    627
    381
See reviews for
1,828
2,247
203
1,202
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,564)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Westmont, New Jersey
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

Nice size room very attentive staff. A little tough about bringing things in . They wouldn't even allow me to bring in bottled water. The conference reception was very expensive $80 pp and still a cash bar - kids were $30 and still had to pay for sodas! But the hotel over all is nice and clean

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tracy f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for your comments. We apologize for the inconveniences you experienced while visiting us. Rest assured we will take your comments into consideration for proper follow up.

we hope you give us another opportunity to serve you

Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonia, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

I was in San Juan in January for a conference that was held at the Caribe Hilton (lucky me!) so I stayed here as well. I stayed 3 nights and enjoyed an ocean view from the 15th floor. The hotel has an old-school tropical vibe- very open, beautiful views, music playing in the back around the pool, bar and waterfront. If you don't want to leave the hotel, you don't have to! Everything you could want is here. Need a few beers to take back to your hotel room? Check out the gift shop- they also have souvenirs (sometimes cheaper than down in Old San Juan). Dinner? There are at least 4 options on the grounds. Pina Colada? Check out the place on the back end of the hotel on the ground level. I have zero complaints about this hotel. In fact, I hope to return one day for vacation! Thanks Caribe Hilton for an amazing visit!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aliciajoann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Hi there! thank you for choosing us for your stay and for your comments. It delight us to hear that you had a great stay.

we look forward to your prompt return.

Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, United States
1 review
Reviewed June 19, 2014

mediocre hotel with awful overpriced food- not a luxury resort!! Staff was good and beds were comfortable but rooms and facilities were dated and worn and again the only palatable food I could find was at Starbucks (or by driving elsewhere)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Meredith K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Caribe Hilton for your recent stay. We are very sorry that you were not completety satisfied. Rest assured that we will take your comments into consideration.

Your feedback is very important for us. We hope you give us another opportunity to serve you.

We are at your service,

Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
168 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

I slept for five nights at this property while attending a conference. The hotel is located just by the ocean and has a private beach, as well as several pools. The common areas, like the lobby, restaurants and convention facilities look great, but the rooms would benefit from some updating. As I had a very late arrival, around 2 am., the manager gave me a studio at the Lagoon wing. The studio was very spacious, and clean, it had a fridge and a full kitchen, which I didn't use, a large table and very nice views. Some of the furniture looked a little bit old, even though it was in pretty good condition. The room would look far better with just a little updating. All in all, I had a great time there...

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Hello there! thank you for staying with us and for your comments. We hope you had a wonderful stay.

We hope you visit us again soon. We are at your service,

Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed June 19, 2014

This hotel is way overpriced and not in a great part of town. The private beach and towel service is nice, but everything else is pretty terrible. The restaurants in the "resort" serve poor quality (even tasteless) food at insane prices - if you want better food be prepared to walk around 40 minutes to the city centre. Bed sheets in our room were not clean, also. Would not have stayed here if I didn't have to.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Alex N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you for your review of your recent experience at our hotel. I am sorry that there were some issues that you were not completely satisfied with. I thank you for bringing them up in your review as your feedback is one of the most important tools that allow us to improve the quality of our products and services. We will certainly use your comments to identify areas where we can improve our hospitality so that others do not share your experience.

We sincerely hope you give us another opportunity to serve you

Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Lovely hotel. The private beach is a plus. Pools and jacuzzi are clean and the layout is beautiful. Swim-up bar is great with ocean views. Snorkel and dive right from the hotel. Room was clean with an large bed and spacious bathroom. Open outdoor concept lobby really make you feel like you're on an island. Honestly don't need to leave this hotel, but the location is still great, minutes drive to Old San Juan.

Negative: Seems very short staffed, had to go hound someone for a towel. Food at breakfast was very mediocre. Nothing special or unique and being that we are in Puerto Rico would have liked to see more traditional menu.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Simone1905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to review your stay with us. I would like to apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. We try to always go above and beyond for our guests and I am very sorry to hear that we were unable to do that for you.

Rest assured that all of the inconveniences you experienced will be addressed with the proper departments and we hope that we can have the chance to have you as a guest in the future and will be able to exceed your expectations as we always try to do. We Thank you again and would like to have another opportunity to serve you.

Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
0.7 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
0.3 mi away
The Condado Plaza Hilton
The Condado Plaza Hilton
#24 of 48 in San Juan
4,755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#7 of 13 in Isla Verde
3,172 reviews
1.1 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
0.9 mi away
La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caribe Hilton San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribe Hilton San Juan

Property: Caribe Hilton San Juan
Address: 1 San Geronimo Street, San Juan 00901-2401, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Juan
#5 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#6 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#10 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#11 Family Hotel in San Juan
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#13 Business Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Caribe Hilton San Juan 4*
Number of rooms: 652
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic and iconic Caribe Hilton offers an ideal combination of leisure facilities and activities and is home to Caribar, the birthplace of the pina colada. The resort is situated on a private 17-acre lushly landscaped peninsula with a secluded beach and is located near the Old San Juan historic district and many of the destination's top attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Caribe Hilton San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribe Hilton San Juan Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel Caribe
Hilton San Juan
San Juan Caribe Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing