We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall a great stay, but.....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Ranked #20 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
GreenLeadersSilver level
Tampa, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Overall a great stay, but.....”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Start out by saying it was a girls trip to San Juan for my birthday, so truly all we were looking for was a clean, safe place to catch some sun and enjoy some adult beverages for a few days. Luckily the Caribe managed to live up to our expectations to that end and then some.

We arrived early and were very pleased to be able to check in quickly to our room, which we discovered was on the 9th floor facing the ocean. Room had a private balcony, mini fridge and was very clean - so far, so good. Only downside so far was there was only 1 working elevator for the tower, but as it didn't appear to be too busy we could live with it.

The staff at the Atlantic Bar and Grill took care of us nicely and got to know us quickly. Hiram and Roberto especially were quick with our drinks, always greeted us with a smile and great service. The pool area was always clean and not too crowded during our stay - perfect for the catching sun part of the trip.

What led to the serious "bad taste" of the trip was our evening at the Lemon Grass Restaurant located on property. Long Story short, it took over 90 minutes for 2 drinks and 2 sushi rolls (of which I've had much better at other places), we had a waitress who never checked on us once after the meal was served, never offered to refill our water let alone ask if we wanted another drink, and when we asked for the check replied with "Ok - fine". After the meal we spoke with Wilma, who was supposedly the manager on duty that night for Lemon Grass - who showed almost no interest in the fact that 2 customers were highly dissatisfied. She merely kept saying she would advise "those in charge" of our concerns, finally saying we could come back the next night for a free appetizer on her with another server. Needless to say it was an offer we didn't accept, and unfortunately neither my friend or I felt very good after this encounter with such a poor representative of management...

Happily though, the next day it was turned around with the evening meal in the Italian Restaurant. Service was excellent - the food was fantastic. So much so we proceeded to have another meal there the next evening and received the same excellent service.

Overall - Caribe Hilton met what we were looking for. Would I recommend it ? Yes - if you're looking for a nice, clean place to enjoy a few days in the sun, then this would be a good place for you. It's a short cab ride away to Old San Juan, but truly we didn't feel the need to leave the resort as everything we wanted was right there.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,050 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,299
    2,491
    1,242
    632
    386
See reviews for
1,887
2,267
208
1,214
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,575)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
leona valley, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Great location and staff. The pool area and views are awesome. The garden area has many animals roaming freely, not afraid of people. The only complaint is a little outdated and the rooms need new furniture although the bed was extremely comfortable. I would return.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Denise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you for choosing us for your recent stay in Puerto Rico. We appreciate your comments and hope you visit us again in the near futue

at your service

Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgewood, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

When I booked a Hilton I expected a high level of service. Did not receive it from this hotel. It took 3 tries to get keys that opened the door. The room hadn't been cleaned very well in a long time (I had to fight the huge dust bunnies behind the tv when I dropped something), no regular coffee packets by the coffee machine (the charge me $5 to bring some up) and not nearly enough chairs by the beach and pool. Found loads of chairs stacked, but as attendants were hard to find, guests were carrying chairs all around the area.

In terms of location, the view is great, but you are 2 miles from the center of old san juan where everything is. It is a $12 taxi ride which gets expensive. No shuttle into town or to the airport.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank njtraveler260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
I appreciate your review of your recent experience at our hotel. I'm very sorry you had a disappointing experience with us and I will address these issues with our staff.

Again, I apologize for the less than satisfying stay, and we want you to know that we will make the necessary changes. Exceptional guest service is the foundation of our brand promise and your feedback will help us improve. Thank you once again for your comments.

Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

I stayed at both the Marriott and the Caribe my last trip (Nov 2013). While I would say I thought the service was better at the Marriott, but the outdoor pools/grounds of the Caribe were nicer. Both places charge a lot at their on-premise restaurants/bars. We got a pizza one night at the trattoria (to right of nice italian place) in the Caribe to save a few bucks and it was not good. Much better to eat lunch or dinner in old San Juan. Unlike the Marriott in Condado, there were no restaurants near the Caribe (note: there is a subway close by which works well for lunch).

One of the best things about the Caribe is that it's closer to old San Juan than the hotels in Condado. You can walk there and it takes about 30 minutes depending on how fast you walk. I would not recommend walking at night. A cab will cost $15 or $20 dollars. The way to do it is take the M3 bus which has stops not far from the Caribe and costs 50 cents each way! This was a 5 minute bus ride with the locals and we always felt safe (even at night). The bus stop downtown doesn't have great signage but once you find it you just have to look for M3 and then wait with the other folks. I recommend telling the bus driver you want to get off at the stop near Caribe and hopefully they'll help make sure you get off at the right place (pay attention to the surroundings near the Caribe and you'll be able to figure it out yourself).

I would have given an average rating but the proximity to old San Juan and the very nice grounds/pools compelled me to give it a "very good" rating.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two days before set sailing on R.C. Had to change our room as it had already been occupied, also we were a floor below, away from the rest of the group. Rooms are spacious, beds were comfortable, however under beds were obviously missed when room last hoovered as I'd found a slipper as well as other bits under my bed. Complimentary toiletries were a bit disappointing, being the 'Hilton'. Couldn't understand why they'd provide that awful powdered milk with fresh coffee and tea when there was a fridge fitted in room where they could have provided frrsh cream/milk. The outside pool area and beach were fab and there's a beautiful tranquil tropical garden with pond and wildlife. Breakfast was very good and the service was of good standard.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank joanieCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Hello there! thank you for staying with us and for your comments. We hope you had a great time. We apologize for the situation with your room cleanliness. Rest assured I will shre your note with our housekeeping team.

We hope you visit us again soon

Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

This was our second stay at the Caribe Hilton. The grounds are amazing with a wonderful pool, lots of hammocks, ocean view and many choices of outside lounge venues. However, the place is over-run with locals and children; and the staff is not up to Hilton standards. I wrote a note to Hilton Corporate with 12 items that were unsatisfactory including: paper thin walls (we could hear the next room coughing all night long); children running in the halls so much we had a room changed; had to return to front desk twice because the first two sets of keys didn't work; bar bill from another room charged to our room and one month later still hasn't been corrected; toilet didn't work correctly; daylight savings time changed happened while we were there and the hotel elevator TV had the time from NYC- CNN on display!!...had breakfast buffet - that was nice - but hostess was oblivious to the fact the restaurant was empty so she sat us next to the service stand and the only other table which had a baby crying??? - you go to wonder what's up with management!

Room Tip: Avoid room 1026 - this is where we were relocated to - right outside the service elevator and paper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jas9411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your in depth review of your recent stay with us in Puerto Rico. We appreciate your candor as we are always looking for ways to improve our guests’ experience. Your comments on our service will be addressed with additional training to remind all of our staff how important their interactions with guests are to their overall experience. Please accept our apology for our missteps during your stay and know that having shared your feedback with our team we are all working to ensure we provide the best hotel experience possible moving forward. If there are any additional comments or suggestions you would like to make, please feel free to contact me directly. We welcome you to stay with us again and see our award winning hospitality in action, should you return to the island in the future.

we are at your service

Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

If I hadn't stayed here a few years ago I think I would have given this hotel 3-4 stars. Something has happened in the last few years and this hotel has taken a turn for the worst. The open air lobby gives you a feel of the tropics but the service and amenities make you feel like your in a run down motel in Atlantic City. The food is disgusting and the service is even worse. The staff seems to have a clear lack of management and training. The overall experience here is poor and for a few dollars more I should have stayed at El San Juan hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karly V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
We thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent trip. It appears that we fell short of your expectations and for that, we sincerely apologize.

We are accustomed to receiving very positive feedback from our guests and are disheartened that you did not experience the level of excellence you deserve. Please be assured that your concerns will be shared with our management team so that corrective measures are taken where feasible.

We are at your Service

Nelson Torres Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
0.7 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
0.3 mi away
The Condado Plaza Hilton
The Condado Plaza Hilton
#24 of 47 in San Juan
4,815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#7 of 13 in Isla Verde
3,205 reviews
1.1 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
0.9 mi away
La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caribe Hilton San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribe Hilton San Juan

Property: Caribe Hilton San Juan
Address: 1 San Geronimo Street, San Juan 00901-2401, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Juan
#5 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#6 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#10 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#11 Family Hotel in San Juan
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#13 Business Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Caribe Hilton San Juan 4*
Number of rooms: 652
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic and iconic Caribe Hilton offers an ideal combination of leisure facilities and activities and is home to Caribar, the birthplace of the pina colada. The resort is situated on a private 17-acre lushly landscaped peninsula with a secluded beach and is located near the Old San Juan historic district and many of the destination's top attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Caribe Hilton San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribe Hilton San Juan Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel Caribe
Hilton San Juan
San Juan Caribe Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing