We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fun resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Ranked #20 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
GreenLeadersSilver level
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“fun resort”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed our 4 night stay at Caribe Hilton. This was our second time staying here. Our room was in the tower and the ocean view was outstanding. Bed was very comfortable, the bathroom is large with two sinks and a shower with a hand wand and also overhead "rain shower". Elevators arrived quickly. Lunch poolside was great service and very pleasant atmosphere. We ate tapas at the inside lounge while watching the final four on the large screen. Live Caribbean music was being played. Fun time for sure. Pool and jacuzzi area are very clean and feel just like a resort should. The beach chairs are included and the guys will install the umbrella where ever you want it placed. We ate breakfast at a couple different places in the hotel. The Palermas was really good, both service and the cooked to order eggs. Parking in the garage is a bit of a hassle but really not so bad after we got used to it. We look forward to returning to the Caribe Hilton for our third stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank booking6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,050 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,299
    2,491
    1,242
    632
    386
See reviews for
1,887
2,267
208
1,214
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,575)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

The last time I was at the Caribe Hilton(CH) was 38 years ago with my parents I now returned with my husband for his 60th birthday. Our O/V studio villa had a balcony with a large refrigeration, microwave, electric stove, pots, pans, dishes and silverware. For the first 2 days we order breakfast but too expensive so since we had the facilities to make food we utilized to our advantage. The CH grounds are extensive with tennis courts, two pools, a very large private beach with calm water and 2 stationary floats, beautiful views of the ocean and many areas to sit and just relax. The “beach boys” were extremely helpful in accommodating our need for chairs, umbrellas, towels and acquiring drinks. We enjoyed Morton’s Steakhouse - very good quality food, Il Giardino La Trattoria - good and affordable Lemongrass – too expensive, but nice location. We encountered some problems at CH, but most were rectify immediately except the problem with Hertz rent-a-car. The woman was so nasty, rude and aggressive she made PR sound like a horrible place to visit. She convinced us not to rent a car.
We will return and stay at CH just for the relaxation and a great vacation resort

Room Tip: If you don;t like your - speak up. Rooms facing O/V
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NinaK104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponce, Puerto Rico
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We had a double bed room, great accommodations, spacious, well decorated very modern. The room has a balcony where you can seat and relax while looking at the garden watching the Ducks, Gooses, Turkeys, Peacock, gens, Guinea-hen , , etc.. While hearing the sounds of the waves and feeling the ocean breeze. Perfect to watch the dun or sunset. The Private beach was well maintained and clean and a lot space to sit and relax, The pool is also very spacious with a lot of spots where you can simply stay calm and relax, there is two Jacuzzis, one more hot than the other. You a clear view of the nearby areas, such the Condado area and the San Geronimo grounds, they have a little Colonial Spanish fortress.

Room Tip: The Garden view is great but if you a chance to have one with a direct ocean view could be greater.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GioBambino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, United States
1 review
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Caribe Hilton is a wonderful hotel!! This is my third time staying at this hotel. This time I had an opportunity to stay in the Lagoon Villas. The private pool and spa. The breakfast at Palmeras, dinner at Lemon Grass and Morton were all key components to my great vacation. This was another good experience for my family and I.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Demetria F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Caribe Hilton is a large property with great location and nice beach ( lagoon). Lobby is wide and open, large front desk. The main problem is distance from certain part of hotel from the entrance, so we had to walk about 10 min. to get into our room. Room could have been better, but as we stayed here just for 2 nights, I did not have time to argue - despite beeing a Diamond. No lounges. Restaurant is too small for welcoming all guests during breakfast time. Outside bars are nice, so is the service - you can order food and drinks while laying on the beach.
You can take a cca. 45 min walk to old town;
I would recommend this property, but there is some room for improvements;

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank enjoyer80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We took a quick trip to San Juan and stayed for two nights here. Really liked our room -- which we initially almost traded for another one -- which opened up to an outside sitting area where we could see the peacocks strutting around the grounds. The hotel had a number of pools and areas where you could lay around the pool and the beach -- only a few of those areas require additional payment ... so it was nice to sit at a hammock and see the palm trees sway, or sit/lay at a day bed by the pool or ocean.

The hotel is situated a 10-minute walk to a lot of restaurants, a 5-10 minute bus ride to old San Juan, and a 10-15 minute ride from the airport.

If I am back to San Juan, I would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank surreyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for your comments and for staying with us!!! We are very glad to hear that you had a good time. We hope you visit us again soon!

at your service

Nelson Torres,Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We, my wife and I, absolutely enjoyed our stay both before and after our cruise. The only rstaurant I would recommend for dinner was the oriental one. The steak house looked very nice, but the prices were out of this world and everything was ala carte.

Room Tip: We had a corner room after our cruise and it was huge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ralph M T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
0.7 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
0.3 mi away
The Condado Plaza Hilton
The Condado Plaza Hilton
#24 of 47 in San Juan
4,815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#7 of 13 in Isla Verde
3,205 reviews
1.1 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
0.9 mi away
La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caribe Hilton San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribe Hilton San Juan

Property: Caribe Hilton San Juan
Address: 1 San Geronimo Street, San Juan 00901-2401, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Juan
#5 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#6 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#10 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#11 Family Hotel in San Juan
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#13 Business Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Caribe Hilton San Juan 4*
Number of rooms: 652
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic and iconic Caribe Hilton offers an ideal combination of leisure facilities and activities and is home to Caribar, the birthplace of the pina colada. The resort is situated on a private 17-acre lushly landscaped peninsula with a secluded beach and is located near the Old San Juan historic district and many of the destination's top attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Caribe Hilton San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribe Hilton San Juan Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel Caribe
Hilton San Juan
San Juan Caribe Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing