We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“San Juan Caribe Hilton”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Ranked #19 of 48 Hotels in San Juan
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Great hotel with beautiful view. Great pools and also Lagoon if you want the sea. Staff was very nice. A little expensive for meals and drinks but you are close enough to go downtown if you wish. Great steak house, Morton's , in the hotel. Very enjoyable time.

Room Tip: View of the sea well worth it but the balconies are quite small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (7,214)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,518 - 4,524 of 7,214 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2013

We had a nice stay at the hotel. It is clean, very large, and has alot of swimming pools/hot tubs. Restaurants could be a bit better. Lemongrass was a bit disappointing...very small sushi portions, and not too flavorful. Great location. Nice beach. Lots of lounge chairs. Also enjoyed the tropical area where there were ducks, swans, peacocks..etc.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Cheryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Visited in the HOT summertime for my husbands conference, but it wasn't so bad. I enjoyed the cool open-air lobby. Lots of places to sit and relax.
There were a couple of pools to choose from but they were pretty crowded. We went down to the beach one day and that was nice since they have lounge chairs and towels available for free for guests.
The conference area was nice and I was glad we were in the tower closer to there It was quieter than near the lobby. If you want a quiet room, get one FAR from the ice and elevator. I asked to be away from them but they must have misunderstood and put me right next to them. The door to the ice/vending room banged day and night and was SUPER loud.
The rooms were nice and spacious. There was a fridge and safe in out room and those were helpful. The beds were clean and super comfy.
It was a short bus/taxi ride to the old town. It was nice to visit one day but it got a little seedy waiting for the bus to get down there at night. I suggest taking the bus during the day only.

I had a lot of fun at this hotel and wouldn't hesitate to visit here again.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from the vending/elevator. Make sure they understand what you mean so you don't e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kamaa222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Hi there, thank you for your kind comments!
I am sorry about the misunderstanding with your room placement.

We hope to welcome you back soon, we are always at your service

Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Hilton Caribe was great location for trip with Teens/ preteen. Accomodations for all. We took advantage of private beach/ kayaking/ ping pong/ tennis/ basketball/ fitness center and spa. Plenty of restaurants on location, a subway around the corner and walking distance to Old San Juan. Security presence was known and we felt very safe the entire trip. Safe enough to let the kids wander off by themselves.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank ChicagoDenise_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

My family of 4 just returned from a 6 night stay at the Caribe Hilton. It was Spring Break of course and the hotel was at full capacity for 3 of the nights of my stay. It also rained 3 days of my stay which of course the hotel has no control over. Here are my thoughts on the hotel. The good and the bad:

Hotel: The open air lobby and grounds of this hotel are beautiful. The staff did a great job of keeping everything clean and the floors dry. Since it is an open air lobby things do get wet when it rains. And rain it did on my trip. They serve some form of flavored water in the hotel every day for free (melon water, pineapple, Etc.) and it was all very good and refreshing. The grounds cover a pretty large area with 3 different buildings consisting of the "resort". There is a really nice area with large fish ponds and turkeys. Yes turkeys. My kids loved it. Head out to this area at night sit on a bench and listen to the frogs. Nice relaxing experience. The lobby had live entertainment over the weekend (Thurs, Fri and Sat). They also had a full day of kids activities planned for Easter Sunday but unfortunately that day was rained out. There is a fort located on the property but it was not open to visitors. That was disappointing as it was one of the reasons we chose this property for our stay.

Room: We stayed in the main building on the 4th floor. Our "view" was of the roof of the lobby and various workers on that said roof. We could see a little slice of the ocean and another fort across the harbor from the resort. All of the rooms in the main building have balconies. But if you are not on the 7th floor or higher your view will be limited. The room itself was nice. 2 double beds and a small fridge. The bathroom door gave no privacy at all. It was a sliding door that did not close all of the way. The maid service was excellent.

Beach: The private beach at this resort is gorgeous. We only stayed on this beach 2 days but they were really nice days for all of us. If you are into snorkeling you will be surprised. The snorkeling was much better than we expected. Head to the far end of the beach and snorkel along the rock wall. Many beautiful fish and even some nice coral formations.

Staff: I found this is where this hotel shines. Every staff member I met. From the front desk staff who always had a smile on their faces. To the maids who went out of their way to say hi. To the bartender at the lobby bar (sorry I forgot his name) who amazed a group of us with his card tricks. The entire staff did their jobs well. But most importantly they did it with a smile. It was refreshing to see.

Food: The worst attribute of this hotel. All of the restaurants at the hotel stink. $18 for a continental breakfast buffet. $32 for a pasta dish. Or you could head over to Mortons for a $120 steak. We travel a lot and we are used to overpriced hotel restaurants. But this place was about the worst we have seen. It's one thing to pay top dollar for a great meal. But when the food is expensive and BAD. That does not cut it. To add the the frustration there are TWO other restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. A Subway. And an Asian place that has very good sushi and Chinese dishes. Do yourself a favor. Pay the $12 cab fee and head over to Old San Juan to eat.

In closing. We had a great time in Puerto Rico. RENT A CAR. Dont limit yourself to just the San Juan area. You will not want to miss the El Yunque Rain Forest. Also go to Luquillo beach after you do the rain forest. Beautiful beach and great people. We did not make it to Culebra as we planned because of poor weather. We will do it next trip. We would stay in this hotel again. The beach alone is worth the stay. If they would get control of the food issues this hotel would be great. As is it's very good.

Room Tip: Make sure you are on the 7th floor or higher for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank c l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and providing us with your great feedback. We are sorry for the rain!

Hope you and your family had a good time. We are sorry that you did not feel satisfied with our restaurants food. Rest assured I will share your comments with our team. We do hope you visit us again soon. And when you return we hope all your days to be sunny!!

we are at your service, looking forward to welcome you back

Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

When we first got there we were given a small room on the second floor of the villas. While the view was nice (ocean view) the room smelled like mold and the cooling unit in the room was loud as hell. I immediately got on the phone and requested another room. From there we were given a room again in the villas but was more spacious and didn't smell. In fact the room was pretty nice to be honest. The grounds were beautiful. The private beach, infinity pool, and hammocks. The location is right between old San Juan and Condado which was ok I guess except taxis are between 12-15 dollars each way to each location. We had tours everyday we were there, so getting a quick bite at the Starbucks was great. Overall, decent experience.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pookswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We chose this hotel because of location and good atmosphere to relax. My husband and I knew we were going to be spending a lot of time on the beach so given that his hotel had a Private beach was indeed a BIG plus!
The facilities were well maintained, friendly staff.They even have a really nice garden.
The food at the hotel was not all that good and really overpriced though. But you can always eat out.An overall good experience!

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank zmandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.7 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
1.6 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Condado Plaza Hilton
The Condado Plaza Hilton
#22 of 48 in San Juan
4,935 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel
1.8 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#5 of 48 in San Juan
991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caribe Hilton San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribe Hilton San Juan

Address: 1 San Geronimo Street, San Juan 00901-2401, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Juan
#4 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#7 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#9 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#10 Family Hotel in San Juan
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#13 Business Hotel in San Juan
Price Range: $250 - $531 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Caribe Hilton San Juan 4*
Number of rooms: 652
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic and iconic Caribe Hilton offers an ideal combination of leisure facilities and activities and is home to Caribar, the birthplace of the pina colada. The resort is situated on a private 17-acre lushly landscaped peninsula with a secluded beach and is located near the Old San Juan historic district and many of the destination's top attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Caribe Hilton San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribe Hilton San Juan Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel Caribe
Hilton San Juan
San Juan Caribe Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing