We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Ranked #19 of 48 Hotels in San Juan
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Still Wonderful”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I recently stayed at the Caribe Hilton and for such a large hotel, the service was spectacular. We had a renovated room and he sleek, modern design is terrific. And it has a Starbucks in the lobby!
Check in and Check out were a breeze. Room Service was swift, The bellman and front desk agent were all professional and efficient.

Room Tip: Face Condado
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonzieJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,943 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,261
    2,456
    1,218
    627
    381
See reviews for
1,828
2,247
203
1,202
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,564)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

This hotel doesn't meet contintental US standards for a Hilton - it has a bit of a shabby air. Service can be a bit chaotic at times. But the beach is really nice, there is a lagoon with a breakwater at it's entrance so you can swim in relatively calm ocean water even when the surf is high. Restaurant choices on the property are limited, but you can walk about 1 km across the bridge to Condado where ther are some quite good ones.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HUDSON
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in the lagoons. They are far away so expect to walk a distance. The room was nice but the hallways look dated. When you do walk on carpet it needs to be replaced. All rooms have a view of the ocean. What I did not like was the $55 per day resort charge that was not mentioned when we booked the room. The day we arrived we had to wait about an hour at 3:00 for our room to be ready. They do have a very good Italian restaurant and a good bar.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cartino10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

This Hilton needs to use some of their profits to clean up the property. Fruit flies swarmed the liquor bottles at the main bar. Food was so so and also marred by fruit flies. Bar was filthy! We had to eat at Morton's Steak House for lunch and dinner every day of our stay. Would not stay at this Hilton property again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keeper106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
I apologize that we did not meet expectations. We shared your comments with the rest of our team to ensure our standards of cleanliness and comfort are consistently met.

We are very sorry that you left us with this impression. We would like to have another opportunity to serve you.

At your service

Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Hotel is average. I would only stay here with my discount because it is not worth the full rate. Close to OSJ but not much around the hotel. Stores have to lock doors in the evening due to theft, so they may look closed but knock on the door and they will let you in. Had an issue with ants in our room and housekeeping never sent anyone up. The next day we changed rooms. We were told by the front desk clerk that a manager would call us. That also never happened. Overall it was just average.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aundrea D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for your comments and feedback. We apologize for the inconvenience you had during your stay with us. Your experience is not the indicative of our standards of Service.

Again, we are very sorry that you left us unsatisfied. Please give us another opportunity to serve you.

at your service

Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We were three adults in a double room, Nov 2012. We requested two beds. When we arrived there is only one double bed, so we asked for another bed. They send us the bed 4 hours later, a couch, closed, folded linens, left in the hall, so we had to moved it and assemble everything. No blanket. We called many times to room service, nothing happened. Then two nights: one bed with only a blanket no linens; and another bed with linens and without a blanket, imagine the a/c control problem. Pool area: great, food: very good, patio: beautiful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SHC-PR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
177 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I may say was very confortable, clean and good service.
the only issue was lack of drinking water. on my second night there, I was very thirsty, and went to all vending machines (from floor 3-8th) and only in 8th flloor was able to find water ( even the room service didnt have water, they told me they have only sofdrinks)!!

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Leah I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
0.7 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
0.3 mi away
The Condado Plaza Hilton
The Condado Plaza Hilton
#24 of 48 in San Juan
4,755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#7 of 13 in Isla Verde
3,172 reviews
1.1 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
0.9 mi away
La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caribe Hilton San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribe Hilton San Juan

Property: Caribe Hilton San Juan
Address: 1 San Geronimo Street, San Juan 00901-2401, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Juan
#5 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#6 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#10 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#11 Family Hotel in San Juan
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#13 Business Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Caribe Hilton San Juan 4*
Number of rooms: 652
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic and iconic Caribe Hilton offers an ideal combination of leisure facilities and activities and is home to Caribar, the birthplace of the pina colada. The resort is situated on a private 17-acre lushly landscaped peninsula with a secluded beach and is located near the Old San Juan historic district and many of the destination's top attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Caribe Hilton San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribe Hilton San Juan Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel Caribe
Hilton San Juan
San Juan Caribe Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing