We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Beautiful San Juan” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Caribe Hilton San Juan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Ranked #19 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
GreenLeadersSilver level
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful San Juan”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

My husband and I truly enjoyed the Caribe Hilton in San Juan this February. The hotel, while large, never felt that crowded to us. It has a relaxed feel with an unbelievably beautiful open-air lobby that has the most spectacular view of the ocean.
The gounds are well manicured with many palm trees and a stand of hammocks swaying by the ocean. (One of my favorite memories from the trip was laying in one of the hammocks at night listening to the ocean knowing it was 10 degrees at home!) There was a long pier that had a light at night that illuminated the fish. Some of them had to be four feel long!
Our room was nicely appointed with a king-size bed, chair, long dresser/desk combo, huge closet, marble-topped sink, refridgerator, safe, and an enormous closet with shelving. The decorations were sleek and modern. The large picture of an orchid by the bed was beautiful and fitting for such a tropical locale. We were very pleased with how meticulously our room was cleaned each day.
We ate at the italian restaurant in the lobby twice, because the food was delicious. The lemon chicken with capers, bruschetta, and manicotti were so good. We found the food to be a little on the pricey side, but what restaurant in a resort is inexpensive? The service was terrific as well, and be sure to order a mojito. It was hands down the best I've ever had.
We decided to partake of a pina colada from the lobby bar. The Caribe is said to have created the pina colada 50 years ago. (There's an official plaque and everything.) It, too, was probably the best I've had, but I don't order many pina coladas. The bar is great with the ocean breeze and view. We joined two other couples who were being entertained by the bartender who happened to be a card magician. Was he fantastic! He knew the cards five of us picked from piles of five, made a card appear out of nowhere by a drink, and tuned the deck to one suit! It was amazing and unexpected and added to our wonderful Valentine's Day there.
The Caribe Hilton is a mile or two away from Old San Juan. We drove and easily parked in a garage. The shops and houses are beautifully painted, and El Morro, the fort there, dates to the 1500's and silently stands guard over the ocean. I loved Old San Juan with it's rich history and pleasant shopkeepers.
We hope to return to San Juan very soon and see more of what Puerto Rico has to offer!

Room Tip: Make sure to request an ocean view room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LouisaCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Hi there! thank you for your comments. It is certainly a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed our Hammocks, beach, piña coladas (yes it was born here!). hope you had a wonderful valentines day with us!

looking forward to your return.

Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,054
    2,306
    1,143
    597
    345
See reviews for
1,639
2,104
198
1,123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,451)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

My husband and I just spent a week at the Caribe Hilton in San Juan. Staff was very friendly and helpful. The private beach was a plus. We never had to fight for a lounge as one was always available and if not, the staff was more than happy to find one for us. The location was ideal as we could walk to the Condado area if we wanted to and were a long walk or short ride to Old San Juan. I certainly plan to return to this resort for another stress free vacation

Room Tip: Rooms in the main buiding are more convenient than those in the suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SMilesNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for your kind comments! It was a pleasure to serve you.

Looking forward to welcome you back soon.

At your service,

Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

My wife and 2-year-old daughter just returned from our second stay at the Caribe Hilton, and I won't be surprised if we return again next year. We've now stayed in both the Main Building and the Tower, and they are pretty comparable (if the Tower is 'too far away' for your tastes, then you probably also don't care that the fitness center is above average for a hotel). Not identical, but hardly worlds apart. Overall, this is a solid place to stay, no doubt.

Pros:
1) Excellent location
- You can walk into Condado across the new 'Dos Hermanos' bridge to, among many other things, the Ben and Jerry's for a DELICIOUS breakfast in a very nice location (exactly 1 mile).
- Miramar area to the Pueblo supermarket (0.6 miles) for anything you have have forgotten to pack and snacks for your room.
- Bus into OSJ for 75 cents (bring quarters!), a major perk. Buses come quite often along this stretch and are nicer than the buses we have in Boston (ARRA funding, e.g. the stimulus). Very fast trip, no more than 6 or 7 minutes, since they travel largely on dedicated bus lanes. And then to come back, you can take any bus since they all leave the mini-island that is OSJ. We'd head into OSJ for at least one meal a day, sometimes two.
2) Expansive grounds
- We were traveling during school vacation week for most of the Eastern Seaboard of the US, and while the resort was pretty full, it didn't feel crowded. No problem getting a set of chairs at the pool or by the beach.
- Being able to wander around with an interesting area with a kid while you drink your coffee / pina colada is key. Between hunting for iguanas or lizards or turkeys, talking to the parrots in the lobby, or spending some time on the playground, you can be parenting while the kid largely amuses him/herself in a way that isn't in the face of other guests.

Cons
1) Meal options IF YOU SELF-SELECT AGAINST THE NICER PLACES.
- Traveling with a small child, we did not avail ourselves of Morton's or any of the other nicer places at the resort, we only ate at Atlantico and the Pina Colada Club. They are each fine for one meal during the course of your stay, maybe two, but really no more than that. They are convenient, but nothing more. There are far, far, better (and cheaper, if you're looking for it) options in OSJ. Eating at either of these places somewhat felt like surrendering. Again, not bad food, but easily forgettable.
2) Noise.
- If you're hoping to sit on your balcony, look out over the ocean, and relax (for example, when it is 8pm and your kid is asleep in the room, so you're in for the night), well, think again. We had a room that had a great view, but was also above what sounded like a jet engine bolted to the roof of an adjacent building (some older A/C system, I think). My wife and I could not carry on a conversation out there without yelling. Other rooms are near a construction zone, so if you're on the balcony during nap time with your book, it won't be terribly vacation-y. I'm sure there are some rooms where you can hear the coqui, the ocean, and nothing more at night, but I haven't found one yet.

I'd stay here again, but if you're traveling with kids and aren't willing to find ways to get off the property, either by walking to Condado or busing to OSJ, then you'll probably get weary of it. If you're traveling without kids, well, I can't remember what that would feel like at this point ;)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank alydar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your review of your recent stay with us in Puerto Rico. We appreciate your candor as we are always looking for ways to improve our guests’ experience. Please accept our apology for our missteps during your stay and know that having shared your feedback with our team we are all working to ensure we provide the best hotel experience possible moving forward. We hope you visit us again soon.

at your service

Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmeadow, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
101 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

Large resort that promised a lot but delivered less. We stayed in the Honors tower 5th floor with ocean view. The room was exceptional, marble bath, rain shower, private balcony. The lobby was always crowded the walkway a mini mall. The hot tub over loaded, beach chairs full. It lacked charm, relaxation.. It had a cosmopolitan atmosphere, high fashion,,multi cultural, business with pleasure.. climate. The beach looked man made, and the ocean in accessible other than for viewing. Now... the views were spectacular. the Atmosphere alluring.. lots of people watching
The gym was full, the tennis courts empty.. ( to our delight, we're both USTA players and loved the courts). Dinner at the Italian restaurant was good but expensive. Dinner at the Lemongrass was excellent. The location was close to Old San Juan and the Condado but we were advised not safe to walk at night. Cabs are $12 -15 flat charge for the less than 2mi trips.
It was fine for two nights, getting ready to return and access the airport.. not a vacation spot we'd return to.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher level floor if you'd like to enjoy the views. Try for a balcony.. they private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tenbiking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
First of all, thank you for your candid feedback of your stay with us. I apologize that we did not meet your expectations and rest assured that this comments are shared with our team to ensure our standards of service and comfort are consistently met. We strive on providing our guests with a comfortable stay and we will do everything we need to do to ensure that these issues are corrected. I am always looking for reviews to provide insight into our guests experience and I will keep your review in mind. Thank you again for your feedback and I invite you back to stay with us the next time your travels bring you to the area.

Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattsville, Maryland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

I don't typically stay at big resort hotels, and I expected little from the Hilton. But my daughter and i were traveling to Puerto Rico for just three days, and we were looking for a place with a good beach and relatively easy access to Old San Juan. In that regard, the Caribe Hilton totally filled the bill. We actually walked to Old San Juan from the hotel (not recommended--it's a LONG way), but there are plentiful taxis and public transportation. As to the beach--just pure pleasure. We bobbed in the blue waters of the Atlantic, protected from high surf by a constructed barrier reef, spotted some fish near the reef, and baked happily in the sun. We headed to the pool for lunch and drinks, and I sat on a barstool by the swim-up bar and drank a pina colada. It was just what our sun-starved, toil-weary bodies needed! We also had quite a decent breakfast from room service early one AM before boarding a tourist bus for El Yunque rain forest. Yes, we had one bad experience. We came in late one evening, tired and hungry, the restaurant on the ground floor was closing, we were treated like intruders making unreasonable demands when we asked for a cup of soup, and what we were served, spiced with more than a soupcon of rudeness, was cold and inedible. C'mon, Hilton, you can do better than that. Still--on the whole, the place met our needs for uncomplicated R&R quite well.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ocean side and courtyard are nicer, but ours, on the other side, had little view but it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DRnearDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

We first visited this resort as a family back in 2004. It still does not disappoint. We moat recently visited in mid February. The location is a scenic one. I have been to larger, nicer beaches, but this still does not feel crowded even though the beach is part of a lagoon. Part of the hotel is on a rocky peninsula. The towel stand sometimes has bread crumbs to give you so that you can feed the tropical fish off a viewing deck. Relaxation is not difficult here. There are many locations and types of lounge chairs to accomplish this goal. Be sure to try a hammock. Each day they have various resorts planned to serve many interests. The main problem with this resort is the expensive food.

Room Tip: Try one of the upper floors in the tower. Views are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tntravlers4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chappaqua, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

Our vacation at the Caribe Hilton consisted of roaches in the bed of our first room, feces on the walls of our second room, sewage stench in the main lobby and the kids play room as well as bugs in the beverages at the on site Italian restaurant on premises. We had a total of 3 room changes in a 4 night stay. Given all that information I feel sick about having spent my money to go to this Hilton resort in Puerto Rico. This vacation experience was unsanitary, unpleasant and so contrary to my expectations for a lovely long relaxing weekend at a Hilton resort. I have filed an official complaint with Hilton

Room Tip: Only select the main tower that was our 3rd room in our 4 night stay and it was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Momandson8699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
0.3 mi away
The Condado Plaza Hilton
The Condado Plaza Hilton
#24 of 46 in San Juan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,409 reviews
0.7 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
4.9 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#6 of 13 in Isla Verde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
1.1 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
0.9 mi away
La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caribe Hilton San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribe Hilton San Juan

Property: Caribe Hilton San Juan
Address: 1 San Geronimo Street, San Juan 00907-1052, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Juan
#5 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#6 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#10 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#11 Family Hotel in San Juan
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#13 Business Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Caribe Hilton San Juan 4*
Number of rooms: 652
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caribe Hilton, the ultimate beachfront hotel in San Juan, is set on an exclusive peninsula made up of 17 acres of lush tropical gardens. This Puerto Rico Hilton is ideally situated between historic old San Juan and the exciting Condado area, offering a secluded beach, lavish accommodations and amenities tailored to families, couples and business travelers alike. This San Juan hotel is just a 15-minute drive from Luis Munoz Marin Airport and the closest resort to Old San Juan area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Caribe Hilton San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribe Hilton San Juan Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel Caribe
Hilton San Juan
San Juan Caribe Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing