We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just ok”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Ranked #19 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
GreenLeadersSilver level
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Just ok”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Pros: The pool was awesome - 3 levels of pool, a swim-up bar, lots of places to lay (including hammocks!). The beach was small but looked nice (it was closed off for rough surf when we were there). They have a Starbucks - it was like every other Starbucks, and the people who worked there were all very nice, helpful, and offered suggestions on where else we could go to eat. It's a short drive to Condado, Santurce, and Old San Juan.

Cons: The only restaurant we went to at the hotel was awful (Pina Colada Club). The others were so expensive and had such poor reviews on yelp and trip advisor that we didn't even bother. The resort is in a part of town that pretty much sucks. There's no food or shopping to walk to besides one convenience store and a Subway. Its closest neighbor is a creepy abandoned hotel. The room was just average. Water leaked all over the bathroom floor when we showered. And like all resorts, there were lots of hidden fees tacked on.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CollyMack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,755 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,177
    2,405
    1,194
    617
    362
See reviews for
1,755
2,203
200
1,169
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,528)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

My rating would be much higher, except for a few things. The view, the beach and the pool are excellent. The staff was also very friendly and responsive. Where we had some issues was with reservations and checkin. I booked a couple of months in advance on the Hilton Honors website. At the time I was given the AAA rate for an ocean view room. On the day of our check in, the published rate for our room was $50.00 less per day with a package that also included free breakfast, which was approximately another $50.00 for two per day value. The front desk staff would not give us the new rate, although it was published on their own website. They did concede and gave us a small break on the price and breakfast. Food prices are very high in all of the onsite restaurants. Our room had a great view of the Atlantic Ocean. The one thing that made the experience less than what it could have been was finding a cockroach challenging me for the hallway leading to the bathroom during the night. I am not sure if this cockroach was large by Puerto Rican standards, but it was about 2 inches long and 3/4 inch wide. Fortunately it was brazen enough not to be afraid of me, so I was able to kill it with a shoe. In the morning it had been moved about 4 inches from where I had killed it. I don't want to think how that happened. Other than what I mentioned it is very nice.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CompacJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your unfortunate experience with cleanliness at our hotel. We are sorry for all the inconveniences you had during check in and your overall stay.

We appreciate your feedback as this is the way we knoe where we need to work harder to ensure our guests a total satisfaction.
I apologize that we did not meet expectations and I am actively working with my whole team to ensure our standards of cleanliness, comfort and overall service are consistently met.

at your service
Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Ok, After reading most of these, I was terrified! Our experience WAS GREAT, but we are seasoned travelers! 1st.. This is Puerto Rico, NOT Hawaii or Caymans. Don't expect it to be. 2nd...you get what u pay for. IF you cheaped out & booked with discount, last minute pricing, quit whinning! Why should you get what others pay triple for? 3rd..Most of you spent alot, so leave 2 singles on your bed for housekeeping each morning.They're not your slaves! (Extra towels, shampoo, never a problem) Our room was great, food was great, everyone was nice. How I see the rest of it.. We were in the MAIN building. Great location, pretty view. Loved hammocks, beach, tons of kid activities from "jumpy things," to games, free cotten candy, animal characters, docks to jump off. Snorkeling was pretty good IF you haven't been some where exceptional. We still enjoyed it alot. For young, inexperienced, it's great. Safe, sheltered. Recomend bringing your own stuff, go in a.m. when it's sunny, stay nearer to rocks B/C sandy bottoms aren't good for visibility. Don't forget to check our glowing eyes in water off dock @ night! The area is heavily patrolled by police, loved walk to Condado. Take the bus to OSJ, (.50) then free trams around. Forts were neat! Loved the Iguanas.Bacardi factory was fun. (Take the bus to OSJ, walk 2 pier, .50 for the ferry across, then $3. pp for cab ride to Bac) Cab all the way around is about $30.The Villas seem old. We switched B4 arrival & I was thrilled. Pool there & hot tub are bad. Garden has SOO much potential but was dirty from Really neal animals & creatures there. (It was high season, so maybe just a bad week?) Real problem was how far from everything else. We have older kids & I wouldn't have liked them walking by themselves, plus bay views & too far..(check out Google Earth) The Towers were farther back from the main building, so further walk. Wouldn't have been happy there, I don't think?? Last, Thank goodness we did not drive! $20 bucks from airport was well worth it! There are rental companies near if you want a day trip but thats it. Parking near OSJ was a mess & we felt safe on buses..BUT be heading back BEFORE dark..Walking then is NOT a good idea!! (IMO) The hotel did seem overpriced for some items, ($25 for 5 light beers in a bucket) when across street they're $12 for 6. If you're smart..you get how to avoid that! Plan ahead! Price wise, It's cheaper then alot of places..Very sadly, PR has been hit bad but economy, like everywhere else.Good people, had fun..Good luck to you!

Room Tip: Higher floors in main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sara l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Caribe Hilton as your “home away from home” during your visit to beautiful Puerto Rico.

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experiencey, your feedback is important to us in order to better understand your need and where we can improve. We will share your comments with our Department Heads to address such issues.

We thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to your prompt return.
At your service,
Nelson Torres,Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

This place is a mediocre resort and extremely expensive for a family of four. Upon check in we found our room filthy....floors not vacuumed, bathroom not swept, old food left in the refrigerator from the previous guest and the sink clogged. I asked for a new room but was told that none were available so they offered a credit for a free breakfast buffet. Upon check out they did not honor the breakfast credit.

The food at this hotel is like a cruise ship buffet and the prices are out of this world. The breakfast buffet for two adults and two kids was over $80....who pays this kind of money for breakfast? We had dinner at the little cafe/diner....over $150 for fish tacos, a pasta dish, two burgers and two beers.....and the service was nonexistent.

The facilities are were awful, the grounds poorly maintained and there is NOTHING within walking distance. You need to cross the bridge into Condado but the options are limited at that end of the strip. The cab fare to Condado or Old San Juan is $12-$15 one way and at that rate it makes more sense to rent a car....but who wants to risk driving after a few beers or glass of wine while on vacation? In Condado you can walk to everything.

We are frequent vacationers (2-3 per year) and we have traveled all over the Caribbean and I can say that anyone who gives this place high marks does not travel often and has low expectations. This was our second trip to San Juan and I would recommend staying somewhere in Condado.

Room Tip: Try to get an ocean view or upgrade to a villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Your remarks are highly valued. Thank you for your feedback on your unfortunate experience with cleanliness at our hotel. I apologize that we did not meet expectations and I am actively working with our housekeeping team to ensure our standards of cleanliness and comfort are consistently met. I am very sorry about the lack of good service you felt while staying with us, again I assure you we will follow up on this.


There is a very precise structure in order to avoid this kind of inconvenience and it certainly did not work during your stay. Our purpose and commitment is to provide you with impeccable and consistent hospitality and service, therefore I will kindly ask for you to give us a new opportunity to make it right. Thank you and please feel free to contact me at any time, if i may be of assistance.
Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new y
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 8, 2013

This hotel was over crowded and way over priced. There was trash everywhere, most especially on the beach and in the water. There was nothing relaxing about the hotel. This is an OK place for families with younger children, but for anyone without children, I would highly recommend staying somewhere else.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 582isabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BALTIMORE
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

I am rating this hotel as average because I was expecting a little more quality from it. The hotel common areas are wonderful and gorgeous, the room was outdated and average. We arrived at the hotel and you will need to pay for parking for each day of your stay. The parking is a good walking distance with no assistance from anyone, so you will need to haul your luggage to the chein-in area. No staff was helful during our stay, in fact it was mediocre service. The check-in was mediocre, no explanation of the place. We had to figure out where to go. When we got to our room, it was spacious but totally outdated. It felt like the 90s in the room. The TV was outdated, the decor was oudated, it was pretty mediocre for such a reputable hotel. The only good thing was the outdated double sinks in the bathroom.

We went to the common areas, which were crowded. No staff came out to greet us or offer us anything. We had to move our own chairs and kids were running all over the place as well as dirty pigeons. It was disgusting. We tried going to the beach area. Again no staff to assit us in getting a seating lounge area. It was very much a mediocre service. The self-parking it's a ripoff. It was an average stay for wahat we expected. Would not recommend for any wow factors.

Room Tip: An average hotel for a high cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank favioladg31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your in depth review of your recent stay with us in Puerto Rico. We appreciate your candor as we are always looking for ways to improve our guests’ experience. Your comments on our service will be addressed with additional training to remind all of our staff how important their interactions with guests are to their overall experience. Please accept our apology for our missteps during your stay and know that having shared your feedback with our team we are all working to ensure we provide the best hotel experience possible moving forward. If there are any additional comments or suggestions you would like to make, please feel free to contact me directly.

at your service
Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainsboro, New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Excellent Hilton property. I read they renovated it sometime back-quite true and the hotel rooms are nice and modern. We had requested sea-facing rooms a while back and Nelson Torres, the hotel manager was kind enough to heed our request. The pool is nice, the beach is very good, we didn't try the restaurants in the hotel. Perfect location. A 5 minute drive into OSJ, close to the highways. All in all a 4.5/5 experience. I am docking 0.5 because the exhaust in our bathroom was working intermittently or not at all. We requested a maintenance tech to come have a look, but I guess they must have forgotten. Anyway, we had an enjoyable vacation. Recommended!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trivedidaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Greetings! We are very happy to hear that you had a great experience!

Hope you enjoyed our beach, pool, hammocks and the beautiful San Juan

Looking forward to welcome you back

Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
0.7 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Condado Plaza Hilton
The Condado Plaza Hilton
#24 of 46 in San Juan
4,625 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#6 of 13 in Isla Verde
3,110 reviews
1.1 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
0.9 mi away
La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caribe Hilton San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribe Hilton San Juan

Property: Caribe Hilton San Juan
Address: 1 San Geronimo Street, San Juan 00901-2401, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Juan
#5 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#6 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#9 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#11 Family Hotel in San Juan
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#13 Business Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Caribe Hilton San Juan 4*
Number of rooms: 652
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic and iconic Caribe Hilton offers an ideal combination of leisure facilities and activities and is home to Caribar, the birthplace of the pina colada. The resort is situated on a private 17-acre lushly landscaped peninsula with a secluded beach and is located near the Old San Juan historic district and many of the destination's top attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Jetsetter, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Caribe Hilton San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribe Hilton San Juan Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel Caribe
Hilton San Juan
San Juan Caribe Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing