We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice beach to snorkel make this hotel special!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Ranked #19 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

I have been a few times on this Hotel while working in San Juan. When possible I take a 1/2 day to enjoy the beach there. It is private, protected against the open ocean and good for snorkeling. You can even do scuba trips if ocean outside is not rough. They provide that on the beach at around US70.

In my view this make this place special compared to El San Juan and Conrad also from Hilton chain.

Rooms in first building are being renovated and have small balcony and ocean view. I was at toom 737 and had a nice view from the small Fort on the brach.

I never had dinner there but San Juan is a place to dinne out.. Had eat small appetizer and was good.

I will return!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reginaldo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Thank you for choosing the Caribe Hilton as your preferred hotel while visiting our beautiful Puerto Rico.

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience while at our property. We hope to see you back in the near future.

We are at your service

Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (7,192)
There are newer reviews for Caribe Hilton San Juan
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,771 - 4,777 of 7,192 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2012

We had a wonderful time at the Caribe Hilton in San Juan. We had an ocean view room and it over looked not only the ocean but a fort and the beautiful grounds of the Hilton. We enjoyed the whirlpool and the swim up bar. My husband and I spent an enjoyable hour in a hamock under the palm trees. The bed was very comfortable and not many hotels have showers for two people. We took the bus into old San Juan on two different days 50 cents each way. The valet will give you directions. The clerks Laura (a cute redhead), Katherine, and Johanna (The Dream team) were very helpful. Our flight out of San Juan wasn't until 4 and we were able to get a late check out. Check in isn't until 4 but they will hold your luggage and you can use the pools and beach until your room is ready. When you stay here make sure to go out to the pier after dark and look into the water by the light. There are barracudas in the water with eyes that look like flashlights! There is a pretty reef in this area too. We were only there two nights I would have liked to stay longer.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Myra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Hi there! thank you for your comments and feedback!
we are very happy to see that you had a great time.
Lets cross fingers that your next vacation with us is longer than two days!

we are at your service
Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We loved this hotel. Highly recommended for family's! This hotel made our visit to San Juan much more relaxing. The location is very convenient. I enjoyed eating at the Morton's and getting a drink at the bar. The fitness center is very nice. San Juan was such an interesting place to stay with lots of things to do. The hotel was excellent and had lots of authentic restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

I am unsure as to the age of this property but that is no excuse for its current state. I believe this property need a total remodel. Our room was large and comfortable but there was old peeling paint, dirty base boards and when I dropped something and got a glimpse under the bed...... All I can say is that thank goodness we were only staying one night.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terre143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LGMarcano, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate your feedback and we’re very sorry you were unhappy with the look and feel of your guest room. Your feedback is incredibly important to us and we are taking your comments into consideration as we continually work to improve our on-property experience and as we make plans for future renovations. We hope to have another opportunity to serve you and show you the quality experience you deserve, should your travels bring you back to our area.
Lemuel Gonzalez-Marcano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Checked in for our 3 night resort stay and was given a room in the HHonors Tower. Room was tired and worn and in dire need of a makeover. Had reserved an ocean view room, opened the drapes and was looking at the parking garage. Went back to front desk and they immediately changed us to the main tower without an issue, these rooms have been updated and had the view as promised. The pool and beach area is beautiful, and ocean front. Staff was friendly and helpful but lounge area was always understaffed, bar food terrible. Would stay here again but be sure to ask for a main tower room. The beach, pool area, and ocean front location saves this very average property.

Room Tip: Ask for a main tower room that has been updated.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank misfitman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Booked this hotel online. Arrived at 2 am, after 12hrs of travelling, prior to a cruise. Our luggage was lost, so we were tired and freaked out, with the possibility of facing a 2 week cruise with no luggage. The front desk clerk was very sympathetic, and supplied us with a couple of vanity bags with toiletries. I think we were the only ones walking around in long pants and hoodies. That aside, the grounds were well manicured, a wonderful pond with peacocks and exotic birds. There is a sandy beach, hamocks, pool and sitting areas on the grounds. An italian restuarant that offered a set price of I think $13 for a buffet style breakfast, which had the usual items. A few boutiques on the property. If you walked just off the grounds you can find a small liquor store, souvenirs, and around the corner a Subway shop. It appeared to be a long walk to get to a more populated area. As the temp was very hot, and we were in our winter travel wear, we didnt go far from A/C. We did take a taxi into Old San Juan for $12.. The conceige and luggage handling area was on top of tracking the lost luggage, and it arrived at 5pm. Thankfully our cruise did not leave that day, or we would have sailed without it. Just a tip, dont travel and sail on the same day.....This is a beautiful resort to spend a fews days...make sure to pack your bathing suit in your carryone...LOL

Room Tip: Off the beaten path..be prepared to take a taxi for about $12 to Old San Juan, and $20 to the airpor...
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cruizinroxyroller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I'm normally a fan of Hiltons - I stay in lots, and am platinum with HHonors. This hotel is a disgrace to the Hilton chain.

At check-in, they sprung a surprise "resort fee" of 16% of the room rate on me, despite the hotels.com not mentioning a resort fee. I refused to pay it. They refused to drop it. I still refused to pay. After making me wait in the lobby for 2.5 hours (yes, 2.5 hours) while they called hotels.com, they finally agreed to waive it. Then at checkout, the final bill still included the resort fee. This time they agreed to drop it after only a couple of minutes.

As a platinum HHonors member, I get a free continental breakfast. However, they tried to sell me an "upgrade" to a full breakfast for $7. This just came across as crass and obnoxious.

The WiFi network had terrible signal in my room, and was basically unusable.

The air conditioning effectively only has two settings: off, and deep freeze. Setting the thermostat to 82F (the highest it went) still resulted in a cold room.

On the plus side, the room did have a nice view over the city, and the housekeeping staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alistair C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
0.3 mi away
The Condado Plaza Hilton
The Condado Plaza Hilton
#24 of 47 in San Juan
4,912 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
0.7 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
El San Juan Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
4.9 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#7 of 13 in Isla Verde
3,252 reviews
4.3 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caribe Hilton San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribe Hilton San Juan

Address: 1 San Geronimo Street, San Juan 00901-2401, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Juan
#5 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#6 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#10 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#11 Family Hotel in San Juan
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#13 Business Hotel in San Juan
Price Range: $191 - $511 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Caribe Hilton San Juan 4*
Number of rooms: 652
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic and iconic Caribe Hilton offers an ideal combination of leisure facilities and activities and is home to Caribar, the birthplace of the pina colada. The resort is situated on a private 17-acre lushly landscaped peninsula with a secluded beach and is located near the Old San Juan historic district and many of the destination's top attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Caribe Hilton San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribe Hilton San Juan Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel Caribe
Hilton San Juan
San Juan Caribe Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing