We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Ranked #19 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
GreenLeadersSilver level
Gaithersburg, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

The Caribe Hilton is one of the prettiest hotels I have ever stayed in - the rooms were spacious and the bathrooms beautiful. Very clean, the staff is very courteous, friendly and attentive. The security is excellent. The amenities were great from the really nice shops to the pools, beach, bars and restaurants, taxi service, valets, business room with computers, nice conference areas, great food, and location. Right on the beach with a great view of the coastline, fortress, and also they had a beautiful garden area with peacocks, fish, parrots, and other animals and reptiles.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lianne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you for your comments! we appreciate that you took the time to share your experience with us. It makes us really happy to hear that you had a good experience.

We are at your service and hope to welcome you again soon!

regards
Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,769 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,180
    2,410
    1,196
    619
    364
See reviews for
1,763
2,207
200
1,170
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,528)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for seven nights and had a wonderful time. Hotel and property are gorgeous! Rooms are spacious and nicely decorated, bathroom was huge. Everything was very clean and well cared for. The pool and beach area were very nice. The beach is private and separated from other hotels etc. The pool has a tiered layout and a cute swim up bar that did pins colada tastings. We didn't try many restaurants, the one we did was good but pricey. The one drawback of the hotel is that you aren't in walking distance of much, except for a subway. Its just a short bus or cab ride into Old San Juan. s

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you for your feedback! we are glad that you had a good time with us!
We hope that you visit us again for your next vacation.
We are at your service
Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

By the time I left my 5 night stay at the Caribe Hilton (for work conference and vacation) I considered coming back for a second time. Even with the problems, overall it was a very good experience.

Initially, we were put off by the "upgraded" room being very average to below, the refrigerator leaking and we almost fell because of it, limited help from the maintenance staff on fixing the problem and things generally not working right in the room. (the safe, etc). The layout of the hotel also was confusing. One night there was loud generator noise from a power outage. Those were the problems.

The good parts are the extremely friendly staff, in particular Elliot and Maria, Concierges, and Harry, waiter, in the breakfast dining area. This hotel is on the water and has lovely views, pools, beaches, and a viewing area where, at night, we saw Barracuda and small sharks. You can swim, snorkel, have a spa experience, exercise, dance, drink, eat, and plan your time in Puerto Rico, all in one spot. It is convenient to the airport and a $12. cab ride into old San Juan. You can walk (in the daytime) in 45 minutes. The pools are clean and the hot tubs actually HOT. If they can improve the rooms (we hear there are renovations coming), this hotel is a winner.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sugale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for your comments.
We apologize to you for the inconveniences you had with your room. I will address this with our Engineering staff to take action right away. Thank you for you kind comments about our staff.
We are fully committed to our guests and clients.

We are at your service and hope you visit us again soon!
Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookeville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

Just got back last night from 3 nights, 4 days at the Caribe Hilton. This was a sister trip, after reading some of the reviews we got worried, but it was great the front desk was all well informed, friendly and eager to help. Victor (bartender) was great also. The rooms were nice, clean and well maintained. We ate at the Oasis, good food and service. We ate at Lemongrass 2 nights out of the 3 food was great and Je'sus the waiter(if you eat there ask for his area, he is wonderful and professional server and we enjoyed meeting him...by the way when we went back the 2 time we asked for his area. The only bad experience we had there was at Morton's..the manager and staff treated us like we didn't have the money to eat there, so in Tennesse language I told him off and we went back to Lemongrass. Overall I loved the Caribe Hilton and would stay there again. Just stay away from Morton's.

Room Tip: We oceanview and loved it, but don't get by the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for your comments! we are very happy to hear that you had a great time. we do apologize for that situation at Morton's I will send your feedback to them as this are not the standards of our Hotel!

Once again, thank you and we do hope to see you again soon
Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

Our overall experience was pleasant with good service. The room was good size and comfortable. It had a small balcony with an ocean view. There was a small beach as well as several pools. Although there were several restaurants on site we chose to eat elsewhere as none of them struck our fancy. We were more interested in trying more traditional Puerto Rican food. The room did have a problem with the bathroom door, but a call to housekeeping resolved the problem. Overall a good place to stay and reasonably priced.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

This property has great ocean frontage but the rooms were not clean and are in bad need of updating. I felt like I had to wear sandals all the time because the carpeting was stained and I don't think they did anything but make the bed and give you clean towels. I realize the price was good but I would rather pay a bit more and have clean rooms. Who needs carpeting in the tropics when you could easily have tile that might be easier to manage. I think the Hilton should take a look at this one...............it is time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
67 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

I booked this hotel as part of an American Airlines package. I read reviews after booking and I was expecting the worst.
I was pleasantly surprised - the staff were so friendly and helpful (the reviewers that said staff were rude, I honestly don't know where they met them as we found the staff and Islanders extremely friendly). The rooms were clean and yes, basic, but the view was terrific. The 1st night the door to our balcony could only open a fraction but that was fixed before we came in the next day - and we had not even complained!
The breakfast at the Italian restaurant was definitely lean but that at the bigger restaurant was nicer. I did not ask for eggs so I cannot verify the extra cost, but I do know the waiters - elderly gentlemen - were so sweet. Just saying - meals at most 4 star hotels are pricey. Everyone knows that!
The Concierge staff went out of their way to be helpful. And one reviewer claimed they had to pay for access to the gym etc? Unless that was an old policy, I found that not true - we only paid for our meals!
I think maybe the attitude of a person toward staff may also affect responses? I know the staff are there to serve clients/customers but that does not mean it is okay to be condescending or rude.
Anyway, I am definitely going to stay there again - as one reviewer noted, the private beach is a major advantage.
Ps. Meals at the Piña Colada Diner at the Towers are great!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Feyisola T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Hello! your kind words make us very happy. we are glad to hear that you had a fantastic vacation with us! I will share your comments with all our staff .

again thank you and we are already waiting for your next vacation!
at your Service
Nelson Torres,Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
0.7 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Condado Plaza Hilton
The Condado Plaza Hilton
#24 of 46 in San Juan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,628 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#6 of 13 in Isla Verde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,111 reviews
1.1 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
0.9 mi away
La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caribe Hilton San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribe Hilton San Juan

Property: Caribe Hilton San Juan
Address: 1 San Geronimo Street, San Juan 00901-2401, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Juan
#5 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#6 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#9 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#11 Family Hotel in San Juan
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#13 Business Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Caribe Hilton San Juan 4*
Number of rooms: 652
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic and iconic Caribe Hilton offers an ideal combination of leisure facilities and activities and is home to Caribar, the birthplace of the pina colada. The resort is situated on a private 17-acre lushly landscaped peninsula with a secluded beach and is located near the Old San Juan historic district and many of the destination's top attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Caribe Hilton San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribe Hilton San Juan Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel Caribe
Hilton San Juan
San Juan Caribe Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing