We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Ranked #20 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
GreenLeadersSilver level
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice place to stay”
Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel while visiting San Juan and we had a good experience overall. The staff is very friendly and courtagious. The hotel has many amenities and we really enjoyed them. The only thing that did not like was that we found ants in some of the hotel premises and in some areas at the room as well. Probably we will stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tech1933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for your comments, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us!
We apologize for the situation with the ants, already sent your feedback to our housekeeping Director to look into this.

thank you again and it will always be a pleasure to welcome you back!
Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,881 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,234
    2,441
    1,211
    622
    373
See reviews for
1,803
2,234
202
1,190
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,556)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
leldel@optonline.net
Level Contributor
161 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

The good - Close to Old San Juan, Nice Pool, Clean Room
Not so good - Very High Prices for food and drinks, tough to travel in and out of to sight seeing spots.
The really not good - No coffee or tea offered in the morning. Surrounding area not pretty at all and somewhat seedy.

If you need a place in between the airport and Old San Juan to spend a night or two, try to get a deal on the rate and you will be OK with this hotel. Want to save some bucks? Get a your drinks (beer, wine, etc) before you get to the hotel at a local super market nearby like super max or amigo.

Room Tip: Defintely upper floors as you will get a view and avoid some of the noise but its only a small advan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leldel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you for your review, we really appreciate the feedback. We offer tea and coffe directly in the room! Thank you again for the feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

We came expecting a stay at a Hilton, and wound up at what seems like a Motel 6. The ONLY saving grace of this hotel is the pool/beach area, with swim-up bar and water sport rentals available.
My husband spoke to Carlos the concierge about having champagne in the room for us for our anniversary upon arrival- it wasn't there. Our room was about $300 for a room at least 10 years old and very dirty- WET carpet everywhere, MOLD in shower, BUGS on the nightstand. Sliding door to balcony barely opened. I guess Hilton has gone down hill, I will never stay at one again. Evan after they refined us 50% due to the above complaints, it still wasn't worth the price!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SouthCarolizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LGMarcano, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and for your candid feedback of your stay with us. I apologize that we did not meet expectations and we are actively working with our housekeeping team to ensure our standards of cleanliness and comfort are consistently met. I understand the look and feel of your room was of concern, we are always looking for reviews to provide insight into our guest experience and I will keep your review in mind as we look towards refresh options. Please know that we work closely with a professional pest control company to prevent and rectify situations such as the one you described on your nightstand. We have shared your experience with our provider and we will work to ensure this does not happen in the future. Thank you again for your feedback and I invite you back to stay with us the next time your travels bring you to the area.
Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

My fiance and I stayed here from Jul 20 - 25. He booked it because I used to come here a lot as a kid and he wanted to bring me back to the best place I could remember. I have to admit, while many parts were great, I was disappointed that they were not able to fix the pier in a reasonable amount of time, and the food choices were disappointing. I wouldn't spend on the food when you can take a 5 minute ride into Old San Juan and get something you'll truly enjoy.

However, the staff is very friendly and mostly helpful - the views are OK but the beds are great! Just far enough outside of town to give you the seclusion you'd like.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PVHoya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you for your feedback! It's great to hear that you came back after all those years! Our Guest's security is our main concern, unfortunately we are working very hart on the pier to make it safe to everybody! Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
88 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Went on a family trip last year (July 2012). The hotel overall was ok, there are some parts/rooms more updated than others. Definately liked the open air reception, lobby area. the hotel seems a bit disjointed though, like there are two separate rooms, while we were in the tower the rest of us were in the lower area. Not sure which rooms were nicer. The grounds were nice, the pool area can use some re-designing as I thought it could be layed out better. The hotel has its own small beach which was nice. Overall it ws a good hotel, I wouldnt say I would go back b/c in general I am not that partical to PR but the hotel was great family place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for your comments and feedback, we trully appreciate them

It will always be a pleasure to welcome you back at the Caribe Hiton
at your service

Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Wonderful place to stay!! Great restaurants, great grounds, rooms, buffet. Would go back in a heartbeat!! Our cruise o0perator made a serious error, so we stayed here for a few days as a consolation from them. Was so worth it!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CrazyjCedarRapids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
thank you for your kind comments! we are very happy that you had the chance to spend some days with us.
We hope that you are already planning your next visit.
at your service
Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Caribe Hilton from Oct 5- Oct 7, 2012 and had a great experience. First of all, I'm a Hilton Honors member and was upgraded to the Condado Suite on the 20th floor of the tower without even asking. Still no idea why I was upgraded but the room/view was fantastic. Check in was realitively easy, but if you check in early before the rooms are ready you'll have to stand in line all over again to get your room keys when the room is ready. There should be a way to not have to do that again as the wait can be really long. The hotel grounds were clean and refreshing and the restaurants were great. Prices are high, but that was to be expected. There is a Subway, sushi, and chinese restaurant just across the street if you prefer a cheaper meal. Also, alcohol can be purchased across the street in case you don't want to spend a fortune on drinks at the hotel. Overall, the hotel is great and highly recommended. If we ever make it back tp PR this is where we will stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trapper01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Hello there!
thank you very much for staying with us and for your kind feedback.
We are very happy to hear that your stay was a pleasant one. We are here at your service and looking forward to your next stay!

Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
0.7 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Condado Plaza Hilton
The Condado Plaza Hilton
#24 of 46 in San Juan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,699 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#6 of 13 in Isla Verde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,141 reviews
1.1 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
0.9 mi away
La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caribe Hilton San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribe Hilton San Juan

Property: Caribe Hilton San Juan
Address: 1 San Geronimo Street, San Juan 00901-2401, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Juan
#5 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#6 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#10 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#11 Family Hotel in San Juan
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#13 Business Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Caribe Hilton San Juan 4*
Number of rooms: 652
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic and iconic Caribe Hilton offers an ideal combination of leisure facilities and activities and is home to Caribar, the birthplace of the pina colada. The resort is situated on a private 17-acre lushly landscaped peninsula with a secluded beach and is located near the Old San Juan historic district and many of the destination's top attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HRS and TripOnline SA so you can book your Caribe Hilton San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribe Hilton San Juan Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel Caribe
Hilton San Juan
San Juan Caribe Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing