We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing and Beautiful!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Ranked #20 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
GreenLeadersSilver level
Tampa, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing and Beautiful!”
Reviewed June 12, 2012

I would go as far as saying this is the best hotel in San Juan. It's modern, chic, clean, and beautiful. The parrots in the lobby are fun too! The hotel offers great shopping and dining-I got this gorgeous bracelet there! It perfectly caters to kids and adults alike. And the grounds are absolutely gorgeous! The pools and beaches are so pretty. Also, almost all the rooms have beautiful views of either the pools or the beach. The service is great, and the rooms are clean, pretty, comfortable, and cozy. I would strongly recommend this to any person traveling for any occasion-honeymoon,business,family, anything! It really is the perfect all ages hotel. You will feel like you're in a chic tropical paradise. Also, don't forget to have a pina colada!

Room Tip: The higher floors offer the better views of the resort's beach and the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blondie1121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Glad to hear that you had a blast during your stay! This is what is all about making our guest feel great and have lots of fun! Thank you for the feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,050 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,299
    2,491
    1,242
    632
    386
See reviews for
1,887
2,267
208
1,214
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,575)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Longboat Key, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

This was our fourth stay in this beautiful resort. As always, service was outstanding, food good and probably the biggest bang for the buck in Puerto Rico.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goditolindo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Great!! Thank you for the support!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

After staying at this hotel for 7 days, I found it to be a nice get-away from the busy life back on the main land. However, when I wanted to take in a little sight seeing on foot, it became more of a problem.

I will provide some good and bad below, but here is the bottom line. If you want to relax and enjoy the private, well-equipped pools and beaches on the site, this is the place for you. If you want to get a flair for the the rest of the island and eat at places not on the grounds, which were a bit pricey, then stay in the coronado area.

GOOD: The grounds are nice and there is a laundry. The staff is ok, but seems a bit over worked. The pool and beaches are well stocked with every kind of water toy needed. Of Course you can swim-up to the bar. Nice.

Also the rooms are ok. There is only one large cover on the bed. If you are accustom to sleeping under a sheet, you need to request this. The pillows are feather. Every room has a view of the beach. Nice :-)

BAD: I guess my biggest compliant was the location. Again, its far from anything on foot. There is a Subway on the corner, but it made me sick my 1st night, so I would AVOID this place. After getting over my sickness, I was forced to eat on-sight for many of the days. The food will cost you. Example, Morton's salads were $20. Sandwich and fries were $17, Breakfast buffet for one is $20.

When I did get off the reserve, the food is much cheaper and much much better. Next time I will try another place.

Happy Travels!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dollars1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Thank you for staying at the Caribe Hilton during your visit to beautiful Puerto Rico.

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience while at our property. I would like to express our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you encountered while in our property.

We take appreciate your loyalty to the Hilton Brand and would appreciate the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

We thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to your prompt return.

Nelson Torres, Manager
Caribe Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Went with two children who had a great time in the pool with fun slide. The hotel is clean, modern, accomadtions are comfortable, clean, and gorgeous balcony view overlooking the ocean. staff are very helpful. The beach area is tiny, crowded, dirty sand, and NOT the place to go for swimming in the sea. The restaurants were ridiculously overpriced. We found the location convenient with $8 taxi ride to Old San Juan, and 20 minute walk to restaurants.

Room Tip: ocean view with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leslierobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. It’s great to hear that you had fun with your family, we are deeply sorry for the lack of cleanliness of the beach area.Thank you again for your feedback! Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

We booked this hotel as part of a package deal on Expedia at a great rate. ($530/per person for round trip airfare form Dulles International plus 4 nights in the hotel.) We stayed in a room overlooking the garden which was beautiful and sat outside for a bit every morning looking at the swans, turkeys, and peacocks. The pool layout was fantastic and had multiple levels, and a kid section. Hammocks on the beach under the palm trees were a nice touch. The drinks at the bar were very pricey ($12 for a regular sized pina colada or margarita), but you're really paying for the experience. This hotel is a solid 30 minute walk from Old San Juan or the Condado shopping district. There really aren't any restuarants or good shopping covenient to the hotel location. The taxi to Old San Juan or Condado is about $12.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking garden have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shellback17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Caribe Hilton as your “home away from home” during your visit to beautiful Puerto Rico.

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience while at our property. We truly regret that you left us with tht feeling in regards to restaurants and shopping places near by. We hope to see you back in the near future.
Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 8, 2012 via mobile

Everyone was very friendly and helpful, views were phenomenal but there's little to no shops or dining options without a two mile walk or a $15 cab ride. Rooms needed major updates, fort was closed for remodel, pools close at nine, restaurants are outlandishly priced including a $50 cheese and cracker tray for two. Our last night a live band blared Spanish music until midnight outside... So much for the standing room only balcony doors open.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jrcatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with us, we really appreciate the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We just arrived home last night and my last time staying at the Caribe Hilton was 35 years ago. It was the most enjoyable stay! We have family down there and the hotel was so accommodating even to our guests. We ate, drank and all of the facilities were excellent. Our room faced the garden and ocean, and my husband and I loved hearing the birds, turkeys, etc. in the a.m. The Lemon Grass was not only a beautiful setting but the food was excellent as well. We will definitely be back. Bravo to the staff ~ so gracious.

Room Tip: Great hotel but if we didn't have family to pick us up all the time, we would have had to take t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank candirob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Caribe Hilton as your “home away from home” during your visit to beautiful Puerto Rico.

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and we are delighted to know your stay was a pleasant one.

We thank you again for staying with us and would be thankful to have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
0.7 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
0.3 mi away
The Condado Plaza Hilton
The Condado Plaza Hilton
#24 of 47 in San Juan
4,815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#7 of 13 in Isla Verde
3,205 reviews
1.1 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
0.9 mi away
La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caribe Hilton San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribe Hilton San Juan

Property: Caribe Hilton San Juan
Address: 1 San Geronimo Street, San Juan 00901-2401, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Juan
#5 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#6 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#10 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#11 Family Hotel in San Juan
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#13 Business Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Caribe Hilton San Juan 4*
Number of rooms: 652
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic and iconic Caribe Hilton offers an ideal combination of leisure facilities and activities and is home to Caribar, the birthplace of the pina colada. The resort is situated on a private 17-acre lushly landscaped peninsula with a secluded beach and is located near the Old San Juan historic district and many of the destination's top attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Caribe Hilton San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribe Hilton San Juan Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel Caribe
Hilton San Juan
San Juan Caribe Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing