We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Miramar(San Juan)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (7,221)
Filter reviews
7,221 results
Traveler rating
2,385
2,540
1,258
642
396
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,385
2,540
1,258
642
396
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate beachpina colada clubmorton's steakhousehilton honors towergarden wingmain buildingtropical gardenthe open air lobbyswim up barocean viewpool areabeautiful propertyhotel restaurantscab ridenice beachconcierge deskcondado area
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
5,152 - 5,157 of 7,221 reviews
Reviewed April 26, 2012

Stayed here several months ago. Much of my travels are to Puerto Rico. I have stayed in many hotel on the Island. Of course this being one of them. The hotel is okay. If you are traveling and just want to stay in the hotel for your whole vacation then you will like this place. But, if you you like to enjoy good food and get to know the culture and arts, then there are other better hotels centrally located on the Island. You're kind of stuck there with no choice of restaurants unless, you prefer to pay Hilton prices. If you rent a car be prepare to pay $20.00 per day. Isla Verde has the Intercontinental, San Juan Hilton and other better located hotels with rstaurants outside paying half the price.

Room Tip: All rooms are good. You get what you pay for.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank georgeny01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2012

Thanks for the review! We appreciate the feedback, there is always room from improvement and your input help us with that! Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights during the Easter holidays. We had previously stayed in the Conrad Hotel which is very close to the Caribe. The Caribe is much nicer. We expected it to be a bit more crowded due to the holidays but you can definitely still find your own quiet area to lounge and relax. It has nice pools, beautiful views, and a great staff. The rooms were clean and comfortable with great views. They were also relatively quiet.The hotel has a private beach area (calm for San Juan standards because they built a little cove area but don't expect the water in San Juan to be like the other side of the island....you are still on the Atlantic side), swim up bar, several jacuzzis, and very nice lobby.
I would definitely come back here!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SanDiegoTravelGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2012

Glad to hear that you had a blast during your stay! This is what is all about making our guest feel great and have lots of fun! Thank you for the feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

The Caribe Hilton in San Juan, Puerto Rico is a marvelous hotel if you're looking to book a large group or just want a centrally located jumping-off point. My wife and I were there from April 19th thru the 23rd and the conferences seemed to change daily. Lots of people and Caribe seemed to do a great job in keeping up with the traffic. The wife and I had been looking for a quiet getaway and unfortunately, Caribe was not what we wanted. That said, once we adjusted to the throughput of people that descended on the hotel daily, we settled in quite nicely. The Caribe is about 15 minutes from the airport and easy to get to. (TIP: Plug the hotel address into your smartphone GPS and you'll have no problems. But don't try to locate the hotel on GPS by its name...uggh!). They have some great restaurants at the Caribe. Our favorites were the Pina Colada Cafe (casual) and Il Giardino (Upscale Italian). Both were very nice with excellent service. They also have an attractive Morton Steakhouse ($$$$$) and a breakfast and lunch place as well. Poolside, drinks and a bar menu of burgers, & snacks will do most everyone nicely. And the burgers there are very good (great buns!). Rooms are nicely appointed. We had a 1st floor villa room with a very comfy king sized bed and a view overlooking the bay and causeway. The villa rooms are at the end of the property and are pretty much out of the fray of conference traffic. Housekeeping was timely and efficient. Valet parking at $20/day is recommended since self-park is priced at a discounted $16/day. (The $4 difference makes the valet parking a no-brainer). The hotel has a number of swimming pools and its own private beach with free towels provided at the beach-side cabana. Next door is a now defunct "Normandie" Hotel which the we used for snorkeling. Since the Normandie is no longer in operation, the local families use this as their own getaway. We liked it because of the tropical fish and turtles that hang out just a few feet off the bulkhead that seperates the hotel swim area from the open ocean. It's less than 5 minute drive from the Caribe to Old San Juan where we spent an entire day sightseeing and taking pictures. The Fort there is a definite must-see and there is an infinite selection of restaurants and bars for all tastes and price ranges.

Room Tip: Villa rooms offer nice garden areas on the 1st floor and balconies above. Given there's nothing to look at on the ocean (except water) I thought the City views were quite attractive, especially at night.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank latestarter99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

If you want to stay in a hotel that has all the charm of a mobile home campsite, and you like standing in line, this is the place for you. Positives: The beds are comfortable and the rooms spacious. The location is beautiful. Neutral: Several swimming pools that are clean, grounds that are nice enough although with a very cluttered layout. Internet works. Negatives: Terrible bar/restaurant amenities, with a choice between fast-food style poolside junk served in plastic or good but very pricey Morton's inside a gloomy room. A bad "trattoria" with grumpy staff in a site with no windows is another choice. The only real bar is open in the evening and is basically part of the lobby. Another one, at the entrance to the hotel, sports plastic chairs and blaring music with arriving people walking in between. Elevators work some of the time, and using the stairs is like a quick trip to hell and back because the cleaning staff have not visited them for at least a decade. All of the outside staff seems to be on holiday or pushing noisy machines around. There is no one to help with heavy lounge chairs. Poolside service is theoretical. If you need aspirins, newspapers (except for half a dozen copies of NYT that sell out immediately on arrival), toiletries, notebooks, anything except cheap t-shirts, you have to take a taxi ride into San Juan ($20 at least). Room service is very slow to arrive, and trays of half-finished food put outside stay for days on the hallway floor. The business center closes at 3 p.m. and before that staff are away for indeterminate periods, leaving it abandoned and without service.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view, but one whole side of the main building is over a very noisy air-conditioning/heating comples.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlexaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2012

Thank you for sharing your experience with us, we really appreciate the feedback. We are deeply sorry that you left our property feeling this way, this is unacceptable. We will pass this information to all the departments involved for immediate action. Thank you again for your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

We stayed here for 5 days for our anniversary. The grounds are well maintained and are very well laid out. We were given a room in the Hilton Honors tower, the bathroom was spacious (no tub) but the shower has more than enough room for two people. There was a large flat screen with all the American cable channels, mini-fridge and a small balcony facing the water.

The lounge area is very sleek and modern, although it didn't ever seem to have a lot of people in there, whenever we cut through there to get to the pool. Speaking of the pool--gorgeous and there are plenty of cabana's/seating areas that you can use without paying the additional premiums that some other hotels charge. Although there is a daily resort fee--so I guess it's built into that. The hot tub is also conveniently located right beside the pool and at night the pool is brightly lit, while the hot tub is kept at a more subtle lighting level. We had some really good frozen drinks at the pool bar I think it was made with mango and coconut--delish!

The hotel is located right on the beach and to my surprise the rather larger fish swim right up to the shore, but then I noticed that there is a daily fish feeding activity run by the hotel. There are hammocks and pathways to explore.

Be prepared to haggle with the taxi drivers to get the right price, actually be prepared to haggle with everyone to get the right price--vendors, tour operators, some restaurants attempt to charge different prices for non-Spanish speaking people and finally be prepared to find some hidden gems in Old San Juan. Food was awesome and definitely recommend that you try the mofongo. We also loved the Jibarito burger at the Chicago Burger company--you gotta try it.

The only thing that I did notice after we returned home was that both myself and my fiance noticed that we both had developed a rash, which I'm pretty sure was a result of something in PR.

Overall beautiful exterior grounds, nice rooms.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaramelCocoDrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews