We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel. great beach and swimming pools”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Ranked #19 of 48 Hotels in San Juan
GreenLeadersSilver level
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
140 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“great hotel. great beach and swimming pools”
Reviewed August 24, 2011

because of the area it has high humidity but after checking other locations, it is the best in the area. The only down side was it was a $15 taxi ride to anyware. when I go back, I will rent a car. about 5 miles away is old San Juan to the west. to the east there are many hotels and any kind of resturants you can think of. in that area it reminds me of when I was in hawaii in the late 60s. (nice beaches). I liked the Hilton because I could Snokel right out of the hotel. However better snorkling are about 1 hr east.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1drg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, September 2, 2011
Thank you for your review! We really love to hear that you had a great time with us. We work very hard every day to ensure all our customers have a great time. Thank you for the time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,958 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,264
    2,461
    1,224
    628
    381
See reviews for
1,836
2,250
205
1,203
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,568)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manhattan Beach, California
Level Contributor
77 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2011

When we arrived in our room at the Caribe Hilton in San Juan we noticed a small wet spot on the carpet. We immediately called maintenance to come up and assess the situation. The engineer arrived, could not identify the cause, shrugged his shoulders, and left without further comment. In the middle of the night one of our family members got up and found that the carpet throughout our entire room was completely soaked. Our belongings which were on the floor were soaked, including some of our clothes, handbag and its contents, and suitcases. When we called the manager to advise him of the situation and ask for a refund he was quite rude and uncooperative. He said he would offer us a "generous" (his word) 50% discount on our room charge. We explained that since our sleep was disrupted and our belongings were soaked we would like a complete refund, which he quickly and rudely refused. He did not even take the time to come and view the damage to the room or our belongings. We are long-term, loyal customers of Hilton hotels and the attitude of this manager made us feel that our business was not valued and that we were very unimportant to him. There are other newer and nicer hotels in San Juan and we will definitely be staying in one of them during our next visit.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Twila E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, September 2, 2011
Thank you for taking some of your time to share your experience. We're sorry that you felt that we didn't emphatize with you situation, the flood due to the hurricane was inevitable. Thank you again for your feedback, we really appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY,NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2011

Booked this location through Hilton..very reasonable package: Travlled with spouse and three children (12-15). Had been to SJ last year and stayed at the Marriott Stellaris, but the special price (off-season certianly helped) led us here. Booked two conecting rooms and sent e-mail to remind them of request prior to arrival. We arrived early ( before noon) and 1 room was already waiting for us, and they had secured us the connecting room as well (something the Marriott was unable to do for our first night despite same request last year). Front Desk staff very helpful , as was bell service..Pool/Beach area are what make this hotel stand out...beautiful and user friendly. We had lunch at the pool grill as we were hungry from travelling all morning.. Ridiculously expensive ( $150 lunch (burgers/sandwiches for 5) with two adult drinks) and about what you would expect as far as quality from a pool grill. Okay, but nothing special... Our rooms were in the Tower Building, "partial" ocean view. The rooms were indeed dated and a little "beat up", but very comfortable beds, and everything worked. We did have an ac unit stop working one day, one call to the desk and it was fixed quickly.
We tried the breakfast buffet @ Palmares after reading here about it.. only 4 of us went to that..$100 for the buffet breakfast for 4..tasty, but way overpriced..and they still have the notations on the bill for filling in a tip (15%, 18%, 20%) for the "serve yourself" breakfast..sorry, no way was I giving another $20 to our "waiter" who merely brought us water and cleared plates twice in the half hour we were there..I left a tip, but not a tip they probably expected as if it were a full service restaurant..After all, we did get up and get our own food...

There is a minmart across the street where you can buy beer/soft drinks for your room (each room had a small fridge)..the snack/souvenir shop at the hotel was price gouging ($3.29 for a bottle of water) ($5.99 for a small cup of ice cream { that is $1 at home} so it was worth it to walk across the street. A beer was $7 at the pool, a 6 pack in the minmart was $10..

It is an easy/safe walk to Condado..we walked in early evening there for dinner on a couple of nights, purchased what we needed for supplies from the Walgreens ( normal pricing on most items).. the area seems well patrolled and safe.. a couple of panhandlers, but same as you find in any big city...Nice local restauarants up and down Ashford Ave...your choice from authentic local to Mexican to Pizza.
Best meal of the trip was once again in OSJ at AL Dente...delicious Italian at reasonable prices..
All in all, we would stay at the CH again if the price was right..I have seen some people on this board claim they paid $200-300 per night..no way it is worth that..but if you can get in here for less than $140 per night..it is a good bargain..
For $200-300, I would go back to the much cleaner/more modern Marriott..

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fergus81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, August 27, 2011
Thank you for taking some of your time to share your experience with us. We are deeply glad that you and your family enjoyed the facilities as we as the city. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, TX
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2011

First off, the hotel LOST our reservation and they were booked solid. After about an hour of scratching their heads trying to figure out what to do, they put us in a "parlor" room. The only bed was a fold out couch with a hard bar that ran right across your hips. They did bring in a cot for my wife since the bed was so small, but neither one was comfortable. The place was so unorganized, it was unreal. The bad thing is they really didn't seem to care too much that they had screwed up. When we told our travel agent what happened, she called the hotel and was told it "was taken care of". We spent $268 to spend one night sleeping on fold out beds and cots. Does that sound to anyone else like they took care of it? My gut feeling is that they overbooked for the night. Hilton should be embarrassed to even have their name on this hotel. If I could rate it less than 1 star, I would!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dwayne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, August 25, 2011
Thank you for taking some of your time to share your experience with us. We deal with a lot of travel agents and sometimes miscomunications happen! This is NOT the norm. We understand your frustation and your point of view it's totally valid. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2011

The hotel has great facilities, greta location, great view and everyone is pretty helpful! Definitely a hotel you would want to return with family.

Downside for me was just a few things. No internet wireless access in the rooms and the second is that on order to eat breakfast you have to get there early if you don't want to wait over 20 minutes for a table.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlandrade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, August 25, 2011
Thank you for the feedback! We always work for a 100% but we know there is always room for improvement! Thank you thanks to your feedback we know where to begin!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 19, 2011

Our room was wonderful with an ocean view.Restaurants were great inside the hotel.Employees were like family and took such good care of us! The private beach with towels and chairs was so perfect. We will be going back as soon as we can.....and we will stay in the same room "with the ocean view"

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cynthiame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, August 25, 2011
Thank you for sharing your experience with us! It's great to hear that you truly enjoyed our resort! Hope to see you back soon! Thank you again for the feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2011

We have been here many times and have never been disappointed. The grounds are magnificent, the rooms are great. They are spacious and clean and up to date.
The buffet breakfast is the most sumptious we have ever had. Fresh squeezed orange juice, champaigne and so much more.
What we miss is the Executive Lounge, that was closed for economic reasons. We also miss the restaurant that was always open all day, but now is only open for breakfast. Since the hotel is a 20 taxi ride to Old San Juan we would like more dining options on the grounds. We shall return, however.
We have yet to meet a more courteous and friendly staff, always willing to help and please.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigApple1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, August 25, 2011
Thank your for your feedback! We appreciate the support!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
0.3 mi away
The Condado Plaza Hilton
The Condado Plaza Hilton
#24 of 48 in San Juan
4,761 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
4.9 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#7 of 13 in Isla Verde
3,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
4.3 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
17.8 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caribe Hilton San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribe Hilton San Juan

Property: Caribe Hilton San Juan
Address: 1 San Geronimo Street, San Juan 00901-2401, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Juan
#5 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#6 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#10 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#11 Family Hotel in San Juan
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#13 Business Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Caribe Hilton San Juan 4*
Number of rooms: 652
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic and iconic Caribe Hilton offers an ideal combination of leisure facilities and activities and is home to Caribar, the birthplace of the pina colada. The resort is situated on a private 17-acre lushly landscaped peninsula with a secluded beach and is located near the Old San Juan historic district and many of the destination's top attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Caribe Hilton San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribe Hilton San Juan Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel Caribe
Hilton San Juan
San Juan Caribe Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing