We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good family place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Caribe Hilton San Juan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Ranked #17 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
mass
1 review
“Good family place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

The price was excellent for my family of five. Driving from the airport to the hotel i thought what did we get ourselfs into, the surronding city is pretty run down and rough looking. Once inside the resort we felt relieved. The food is extremely expensive especially if you have children with you. The only saving grace was the Pina Colada Club, the staff is excellent and the food is great. Lemongrass is way over rated and while there dining four seperate people complained about either their food or drinks. The italian place wasn't much better we have 5 different waiters and they kept screwing upp the order wouldn't recommend it at all. We never had the breakfast as we would go to starbucks every morning, which is also pricy. Overall i enjoyed the hotel , my family loved the beach and the pools and all the reptiles running around on the grounds. Maid service was a little slow which didn't really bother us unless we were out of towels. The staff were friendly and helpful. Also there is a subway right around the corner if your looking for some cheap food and a little convience store that has some things but not much.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gl05151999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, July 15, 2011
Thank you for sharing this information with us, we really appreciated. It's always good to know that our effort are paying out! We are sending this feedback to the Food and Beverage director for action and follow up. Thank you again for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,996 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,872
    2,174
    1,073
    551
    326
See reviews for
1,516
1,935
180
1,054
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,381)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

Great lobby, amenities and location. Room was rather run down, and dated. But for the price, reasonable.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Papa_Grande1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, July 15, 2011
Thank you for the feedback! We are happy to announce that beggining September we are renovation our Main Building to update our rooms! Thank you again for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

We just returned from a trip where we spent two nights at the Caribe Hilton in San Juan prior to getting on a cruise. The hotel itself was nice and the location was good - it's fairly closed to old San Juan. There is a private beach and a very nice pool which we really enjoyed. However, we were disappointed in the service. When we arrived and checked in, our keycards weren't working and it took awhile to resolve that issue which was a frustrating beginning. The concierge staff seemed brusque and didn't enjoy answering questions about getting around old San Juan. The staff at a restaurant on site, The Pina Colada Club, were all terrific and the food was really good at this casual restaurant. For the amount of money for the Hilton, I think that they should provide better service. If someone is planning to stay in San Juan for more than 1 or 2 nights, then I would recommend finding a better property, such as one of the really nice hotels along Isla Verde.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jujubean1918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, July 15, 2011
Thank you for sharing your experience during your past stay with us. We're glad that you enjoyed the facilities of the resort this is what we aim for. On the other hand I'm very dissapointed that you experience some holes in our customer service, this is unacceptable. I can assure you that we will take immediate action. Thank you again for the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Starkville, Mississippi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

This is a beautiful hotel. The lobby/front desk is awesome because it is all open air. Though the view from our room was pretty poor, our room was perfectly acceptable, and certainly expected for the great price we got it for. The bathroom was beautiful and the TVs were huge! It's kind of loud at night, but this is to be expected at most places in San Juan. One problem we found was that it isn't close to many restaurants like hotels across the bay in Condado, but there are several nice ones within the hotel. The grounds are immaculate and gorgeous. The private beach, pool, and other outdoors areas are excellent and the Caribe Hilton has so much more outdoor space than other hotels. Overall it was a great stay and we would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaybird528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, July 15, 2011
Thank you for you great review of our hotel. We love to hear that all our efforts are totally worth it!
We are so proud on our grounds! Thank you again for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

we just got back from our july 4 vacation from puerto rico and we stayed at the hilton caribe. My 2 boys loved it(age 3 and 18 months). And me and my husband were very satisfied. from the airport, we took a cab for abt 24$. it was fast and the cabs there are huge vans. travel time less than 15 mins. the check in was quick too. we were early for the usual 4 pm check in ( we got there at 3 pm) but they got us a room and didnt have to wait.

Rooms: they are of average size. more on big than small. the first night, our ceiling started leaking from the a/c but they got us a room on a higher floor with better view right away. i asked for thenewer renovated rooms on the other side of the hotel but they said the rooms from the older side is better so we stayed. they asked if we wanted to check it out first though. bathrooms are ok.internet free in the lobby. no free parking. and i heard it was expensive too.

Food: very expensive at the hotel. we tried the burger from oasis bar and grill and that was thick and juicy. we didnt try room service because they said it will take more than 35 mins. We can walk down anyway so we did. my boys loved the fries. We had daily buffet breakfast at the palmeras. it was a holiday so the lines were always so long!!! food there was good. try the tamarind juice--it was really delicious. Pina colada club resto has some delicious pina coladas about 10$ each! try their grilled mahi mahi--yum yum!! their skirt steak was a little hard but yummy!

Attractions: the el yunque rainforest was 2.5 hours drive so we skipped that. old san juan we visited a couple of times for dinner. we felt safe walking around even at night. it was easy to get a cab going back to the hotel. it will cost 12 $ each way. bus maybe 0.75$. the hotel had alot of things to do for kids. mini rainforest had a peacock. white swan. fish feeding. kids playground outside. tours for anorkeling kayaking etc available but all fro more than 4 hours except for old san juan city tour whcih they offered for abt 50$ per person. but i think you can do that on your own.

Pool: pool was big.there were around 3 that was somewhat connected to each other. there was a swim up bar for adults. main pool clean. music not too loud.

Beach: clean and towels are available. they blew up my kids' floaties. to rent is very expensive like 10-15$ per hour for floaties. cabanas were avaiable. chairs plenty. big space even for alot of people during the holiday.

old san juan: try out AQUAVIVO resto for seafood. great service!!! my husband had to leave for awhile to get some shorts for my little boy and they made sure his food was still warm when he got back. the scallop risotto was delicious! lobster mash potatoes fro my little one was great! dont go to RAICES. the wait was so long...like abt an hour. it was recommended by our cab driver but the food was mediocre. its a puerto rican resto which our hotel concierge said dont go back to! ROPA VIEJA is a cuban resto 10 mins away from the hotel whcih offered cuban food!!! now you got to try this! shrimp risotto great! cod fish super yummy. mahi mahi yummy too! ( we were so in the mood for seafood for some reason). service very good!

hilton caribe: highly recommended for vacation with kids!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank valtaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, July 15, 2011
Thank you for sharing this wonderful experience with us. This is why we work so hard, so families enjoy every aspect of our hotel! We are so glad that your kids had a great time with us! Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

Just got home today, july 5th 2011. My husband and I stayed in room 332 with our 2 small children. The view was horrible. Its of the roof and a sliver of the beach. We had our reservations about going on vaca to begin with bc of the bed bug epidemic around the world. After checking the beds and furniture like two mad scientists and not seeing anything bed bug suspicious, my husband woke up on Monday morning with 15 bites on his lower back. We wrote it off thinking it might have been ants from the grassy and sandy areas outside as we sat and watched our kids play BUT THEN he woke up Tuesday with 22 total bites. Obviously he got the additional bites over night as we checked as soon as we woke up to head to the airport. I could bore you with the other negative reviews about this (soooo not like a HILTON) hotel, but we felt this was the most important to share. Safe travels.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Z3NsMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, July 9, 2011
Thank you for sharing this with us. The health and safety of our guest is our primary concern. This information is already on the hands of the professional that will work on this situation to eliminate any pest. Thank you again and we hope that your husband is better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockhampton, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

I am a pretty hardy traveller, but get pretty upset when it comes to value for money. This hotel was nowhere near what you would expect for a Hilton hotel. We stayed a night before and after a Carnival Victory cruise and this hotel put a downer on an otherwise perfect trip.
POSITIVES
The pool and beach area
Starbucks
NEGATIVES
Both rooms had damp carpets, were old, rusty, felt dirty and various appliances not working. We were told alternative rooms were not available and if we had time we would have arranged another hotel.
At 2am one night staff refused to get us another room, so we asked to turn AC off so we could get our 10YO to sleep. Next morning the floor was soaking wet from condensation(and hence the damp smell).
Nowhere near enough tables or staff for breakfast resulting in 30 minute wait for a table plus 20 minutes for hot food.
250 dollars for 2A2C in the restaurant with only 4 meals and 1 drink each.
FINAL COMMENT
We wont stay there again and I am not confident in the Hilton hotel brand anymore. Suggest they spend a bit of money to upgrade the rooms.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CentralQLDChalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, July 9, 2011
Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback with us. I'm deeply sorry that your stay was not satisfactory, this is not what we aim for in fact this is unacceptable and I can assure you that immidiate action. This will help us to improve our service. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
0.7 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
1.6 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
0.3 mi away
The Condado Plaza Hilton
The Condado Plaza Hilton
#24 of 46 in San Juan
3.5 of 5 stars 4,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 stars 2,412 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#6 of 14 in Isla Verde
4.0 of 5 stars 2,847 reviews
0.0 mi away
Condado Lagoon Villas at Caribe Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caribe Hilton San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribe Hilton San Juan

Property: Caribe Hilton San Juan
Address: 1 San Geronimo Street, San Juan 00907-1052, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#6 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#9 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#11 Family Hotel in San Juan
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#13 Business Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Caribe Hilton San Juan 4*
Number of rooms: 652
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caribe Hilton, the ultimate beachfront hotel in San Juan, is set on an exclusive peninsula made up of 17 acres of lush tropical gardens. This Puerto Rico Hilton is ideally situated between historic old San Juan and the exciting Condado area, offering a secluded beach, lavish accommodations and amenities tailored to families, couples and business travelers alike. This San Juan hotel is just a 15-minute drive from Luis Munoz Marin Airport and the closest resort to Old San Juan area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Caribe Hilton San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribe Hilton San Juan Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel Caribe
Hilton San Juan
San Juan Caribe Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing