We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect: Upscale but casual.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Ranked #20 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
GreenLeadersSilver level
Port Jefferson Station, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect: Upscale but casual.”
Reviewed May 4, 2011

Just 10-15 minutes from the airport, this luxury hotel is situated on a beautiful beach. The lobby is open to the air as you walk in which makes it breezy and welcoming. There is a always water with fruit to quench your thirst. I don't usually lounge out in lobbies, but I did here. It's a nice spot to take a break from the sun and read or chat, with lots of comfy chairs and couches. Outside there is a nice big pool and whirlpool. There are giant mattresses, hammocks and lounge chairs with big cushions to soak in the sun. There is a big round deck that juts out into the waves. The Spa and Fitness center is well-stocked and clean. There are 3 upscale restaurants to choose from including a Morton's Steakhouse and their in-house dining is a good selection as well (pretty typically expensive). The rooms are great - big and airy, pillows just right, nice big comforters, and great views. The only problem I had was with Internet service. It went down at about 5pm and did not come back up by the time I was leaving the next day... only a problem if you're there on business (which I was).

Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Try to get an Ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noonan187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, May 6, 2011
Thank you, for your wonderful review about our hotel, we really appreciate that you took some of your valuable time to share your experience with us. I’m glad that you had a pleasant stay with us. This is a great motivation for our staff to continue delivering great service. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,881 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,234
    2,441
    1,211
    622
    373
See reviews for
1,803
2,234
202
1,190
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,556)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed May 3, 2011

My wife and I visited the Caribe Hilton last week with our 2-year old son – what a great place to stay for all ranges of travelers – couples, families, business people. Beautiful private beach…good sand, private cabanas. Lots of activities – kayaking, surfing, etc. Our son met a lot of other little kids his age to play with. The pools are great too – multiple pools on different levels, waterfalls, hot tubs, etc.

The restaurants were truly FIRST RATE – we did not have a bad meal the entire time we were there. GREAT Asian cuisine at Lemongrass, and Il Giardino was fantastic as well. Good breakfast setup also.

We had a beautiful room with a premium view of the ocean, a small Spanish fort, and Condado Beach. This hotel is perfectly located – on a very scenic beach and about 10 minutes from old San Juan. We went to dinner in the old town a few times during our stay. The clientele at the hotel was very upscale – lots of families, and a number of business travelers as well (there was a medical conference held at the hotel that week).

The hotel manager met us personally and made sure our stay was comfortable in every way. The entire staff was friendly and helpful – we couldn’t have been happier! Definitely going back!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bostontraveler201175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, May 6, 2011
Thank you, for your wonderful review about our hotel, we really appreciate that you took some of your valuable time to share your experience with us. I’m glad that you had a pleasant stay with us. This is a great motivation for our staff to continue delivering great service. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 3, 2011

This hotel is definitely a great choice if you have it as an option . A little pricey but it is just a beautiful as the pics show. My wife and myself really enjoyed our 4 day stay. the staff was very friendly and helpful. the hotel cleanliness to be commended. We felt extremely safe and welcomed at all times. centrally located, it allowed us to walk west to Old San Juan and east to the Condado, as we decided not to rent a car. I read the reviews before choosing the hotel and will say that the negative reviews must be ignored. We can't say enough about the hotel except that we will be staying there again when we return.

Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ednpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, May 6, 2011
Thank you, for your wonderful review about our hotel, we really appreciate that you took some of your valuable time to share your experience with us. I’m glad that you had a pleasant stay with us. This is a great motivation for our staff to continue delivering great service. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaylord, Michigan
Level Contributor
50 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2011

Pool freezing! Prices out of this world. Draft Beer $9.00, Chicken Finger for kids $16.00. Taxi to downtown $12.50 each way. Hotel dated in older tower. We are Hilton Gold members, placed in awful room, Had to move because of elevator failure and electricity being redone. Name not on breakfast list in morning as promised for free breakfast. Garden tower AWFUL! Carpet peeling up. Spoke to manager to get points back for stay, promised them back then never did it. Had to go through Hilton to get them back. Did great trip to see glowing water micro organisms through Pure Adventure - AWESOME. Nice history but would stay elsewhere next time!!!! Could not even go into pool so cold on 80 degree day!

Room Tip: Good luck
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tseidell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, May 6, 2011
Thank you for your valuable comments about your recent stay at our hotel. Let me apologize for this unfortunate inconveniences that you experienced with us, this is not the kind of service Caribe Hilton is know for. We will use your comments for re-training purposes. Again let me thank you for your comments.

Note to all TripAdvisor users: If you want to share more detailed information with us and help us improve our customer service, you can contact us on 787-721-0303 or at Nitzamarie.Escalera@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2011

We found this to be a really enjoyable place to stay with two children under the age of 8. The hotel rooms are relatively spacious. The pool winds in and out so there are plenty of different places to swim. The alcove created by the rocks makes the beach very calm to swim in. There's little fear of the water dragging your children away, plus there are fish in the water to keep them entertained. There are plenty of chairs and lounging areas near the pool and beach for relaxing. There's a wonderful hammock area right next to the ocean. They even have parrot-like birds in the lobby and a separate garden area with peacocks, swans, lizards, etc. They didn't offer any childcare though.

When you get tired of all the fun in the sun, it's only a 5-10 minute walk to the bus stop, which is right next to a park. It's a 5-10 minute bus ride to Old San Juan, where there are lots of restaurants and tourist shops as well as two old forts. We found this bus to be extremely convenient; we'd often spend the day at the pool/beach and then take the bus in for dinner. It's only $.75 per person (they often waived the kids' fare) versus $12 by taxi. At a local's recommendation, we visited El Morro then a plaza by the coast with pigeons (tons of fun for our son) and got lunch at the food carts where everything is around $1.50. Hot dog con todo, empanadillas and all sorts of other fun stuff. We also really liked the restaurant Punta de Vista (get the arroz mamposteado) right near the bus stop and the 1st trolley stop. There's a free trolley that'll bring you all over the city, though we found it relatively easy to walk most of it since Old San Juan is only around a mile square. Take the trolley to get to the forts though.

You can also walk to the Condado plaza area (more of a 20 minute walk with little kids) from the hotel, but we found the area to be mainly hotels. There is a casino there for ages 18+. If you go, try the restaurant Ropa Vieja. It has tasty ropa vieja (shredded beef) and you can get it on top of mashed plantains (mofongo).

It's a little over an hour drive to El Yunque rainforest (a must-see), Luquillo (beach and kiosks with local food) and Fajardo (Bio Bay). You can rent the car right from the Hertz station next to the concierge desk and then bring it back that evening to avoid the nightly parking costs. We were at the Caribe Hilton for 6 days and we only felt we needed the car for 1 day because we could take the bus into Old San Juan.

We got the standard 2 bed room with an included buffet breakfast. I think the included buffet breakfast for 4 was worth the extra hotel cost since they offer everything - made-to-order omelets, french toast, fresh fruit, pastries, juice, etc. I wouldn't want to pay the $26/person every day but to have it included in the room cost was nice. We could often get by with a light lunch because we ate so much at breakfast. Also, kids 4 and under eat free all day and kids 7 and under pay half price, which makes eating overpriced food next to the pool not as bad.

All in all, I think this is a great place to stay when you have little kids. There are a couple convenience stores right across the street from the hotel plus a Subway. You can load up on cheaper snacks at the CVS in Old San Juan not to far from the bus stop - just walk along the water to get to it. And there's a completely empty mini-fridge in the room, great for putting juice boxes. And plenty of free water from the ice machines right in the hallways of the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AW_Fremont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed April 27, 2011

The hotel was right on the water. Great location. The employee who checked me in Lia was awesome and went out of her way to accomodate me. She was very friendly and patient. The room we had in the tower was nice and comfortable. Did not have any time sleeping. The hotel can get busy as I had trouble transferring time to time. However, the manager was very receptive and attentive and made sure I was called back and take care of. They also left me a birthday treat in my room. Taxi rides into town were decently priced at 12 to 18 depending on where we were going (dont let them rip you off, because some will). Hotel was close by. Only thing is drinks and food are very expensive here, average of $15--- but they were very good. The bar food was also not very good. Best deal was the burger and the pitcher of mojitos. Theres a mortons in the place which was good, and also a Pina Colada place which did have the best pina coladas. Music on the weekend at the bar area. Beautiful place to stay. Cant recommend it enough if you are willing to spend the money. Great place to relax. Other comment- the restaurants are closed from 3 to 5 so plan around that.


I highly recommend an independent tour guide (with all appropriate licenses). We met during one of our trips to do scuba diving (he was our driver). His name was Hector Caolo Alvarez, caolito@gmail.com. He has a degree in tourism and is a native. He gave us a very reasonable price to go to Ponce. He was friendly, attentive, knowledgable, and flexible. The day trip we took had four of us, two groups. He was accomodating to what each one of us wanted to do. I highly recommend him over the group tour guides. Its a more personal guide at a better price. You will feel very well taken care of.

Room Tip: Be nice to the person checking you in
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tentita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, April 28, 2011
Thank you, for your wonderful review about our hotel, we really appreciate that you took some of your valuable time to share your experience with us. I’m glad that you had a pleasant stay with us. This is a great motivation for our staff to continue delivering great service. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2011

I recently returned from San Juan after a 6 day stay at this hotel. If you get a good deal I would recommend staying here. Be aware that eating/drinking at the hotel will cost you a ridiculous amount of money. I recommend renting a car. We rented from Enterprise. I was going to rent from Allied, but it seemed sketchy to me. It's right in front of the hotel. Hertz is on property. Old San Juan is within walking distance if you choose to go (you should!). The fact that there is not free wi-fi is ANNOYING, but you can huddle by the starbucks downstairs with other guests to use your computer. We only ate at the hotel twice and both meals were not particularly great, but weren't bad, just pricey. Otherwise the hotel was very clean, staff was helpful. Check-in took a while and seemed like that was a trend for people each day. Do not get a room near the elevator, you will hear it running all day and night. Also get a room above the 4th floor, view is better. If you use concierge services or book tours, it seems that they are very limited in what they offer. What I mean is they work with one or two particular companies and try to push business towards them. I booked most things using tripadvisor recommendations and calling myself.

Room Tip: Not near elevator, about 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMc28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, April 28, 2011
Thank you, for your wonderful review about our hotel, we really appreciate that you took some of your valuable time to share your experience with us. I’m glad that you had a pleasant stay with us. This is a great motivation for our staff to continue delivering great service. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
0.7 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Condado Plaza Hilton
The Condado Plaza Hilton
#24 of 46 in San Juan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,700 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#6 of 13 in Isla Verde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,141 reviews
1.1 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
0.9 mi away
La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caribe Hilton San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribe Hilton San Juan

Property: Caribe Hilton San Juan
Address: 1 San Geronimo Street, San Juan 00901-2401, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Juan
#5 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#6 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#10 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#11 Family Hotel in San Juan
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#13 Business Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Caribe Hilton San Juan 4*
Number of rooms: 652
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic and iconic Caribe Hilton offers an ideal combination of leisure facilities and activities and is home to Caribar, the birthplace of the pina colada. The resort is situated on a private 17-acre lushly landscaped peninsula with a secluded beach and is located near the Old San Juan historic district and many of the destination's top attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Caribe Hilton San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribe Hilton San Juan Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel Caribe
Hilton San Juan
San Juan Caribe Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing