We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Good Stay That Could Have Been Great” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Ranked #6 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A Good Stay That Could Have Been Great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

I just got back from a 4 night stay at the Marriott San Juan and I had a very good stay. Overall I would recommend this property. The location in the Condado area of San Juan is very convenient to Old San Juan and has many restaurants and bars within walking distance.

My room was good, I had no problems with it, but I wouldn't say it was outstanding either. It was pretty much what I expected and I enjoyed the balcony. The pool area was nice but difficult to find a chair during the day. The beach area had plenty of chairs however and the beach was nice, however the water was rough, so if you are a non swimmer or afraid of the ocean just be aware of this fact. I had no problem with it however a rode the waves.

I did not eat dinner at the hotel so I can't comment on that, but I did have lunch by the pool a couple of times and the food was ok. The menu was somewhat limited however. The breakfast buffet was very good and the service at the buffet was excellent. We had a server named Angelo that was outstanding, this guy went out of his way to get you whatever you wanted and also made great conversation. A real pro all the way!

I mentioned that my stay could have been great, but there were a couple of things that I was unhappy with. This place has a ridiculously high resort fee, which if I remember right was either 17 or 20 percent of your room charge which is by the far the highest resort fee I have ever paid. I have been to other places that have a resort fee, and it usually runs anywhere from 15-25 dollars a day. My resort fee for this stay was almost 50 dollars a day. I couldn't ignore this fact and I must point it out here. They need to charge a more reasonable resort fee.

The other issue I had was there check in/out policy. Usually check in time is 3:00, here it is 4:00. We arrived around noon time and of course we could not check in for hours. The di let us check in around 3:15 which is earlier than 4:00, but I have been to many resorts all of which have people requesting early check ins and other places handle it much better then this place did. So if you have an early flight and are hoping for an early check in at this place you can bet you will not get one.

Overall I enjoyed my stay here but make sure you factor in the high resort fee when you are comparing hotel prices because it is a big factor here.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron-from-NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansRohrhbein, General Manager at San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear Ron-from-NY;

We appreciate the feedback you have provided from your 4 night stay at our property. It is great to know that you enjoyed your stay and that during your breakfast at La Vista Latin Grill Angelo went out of his way to serve you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,049 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,018
    2,143
    556
    206
    126
See reviews for
1,693
2,265
167
461
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,866)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

Recently stayed here for 1 week, this is a very well maintained hotel with very welcoming hotel staff. special thanks to the front desk agent Amarallis who tried hard to get us an ocean view room. Just a word of advise to the hotel management, try to purchase few kids size tennis raquets, since the hotel already has tennis courts. That was the only comment I wanted to make about this hotel. Overall a great place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank njguy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansRohrhbein, General Manager at San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear njguy2014;

Thank you for the feedback provided about your recent week long stay with us! We are very happy to learn that Amarilis from our Front Desk was able to assist you in getting an ocean view room. We will share your recommendations with our Recreations department in order to identify areas of opportunity to enhance our offerings for kids.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

My friend and I both had rough winters. (several broken bones between us) The never ending winter caused us to plan a last minute vacation. After looking at flight and hotel prices, we ended up coming to Puerto Rico and staying at the Marriott Stellaris. The hotel was nice and check in was very easy. The free rum punch was a great way to start our vacation! We had an ocean front room with two queen beds. The room was very clean and beds were very comfortable. The room was rather small and would not be suited for more than two people. The beach was great. As soon as you stepped onto the beach, a beach attendant approached you and set up chairs and umbrellas wherever you wanted. As we relaxed in the sun, Tony from the beach grill would bring us drinks!! It was just so great to be able to fully relax while being served drinks in the warm sun! Tony was so professional and always seemed to be there when our drinks ran low. We trusted him to choose our next drink and we were very pleased with all of his choices! He offered great suggestions about the different restaurants in the area as well as things to do. The beach cafe was good. The nachos were our favorite thing that they served! We spent all of our time on the beach. The pool seemed a little crowded with many children. We ate the buffet breakfast one morning which was good- the homemade granola is amazing!! Carlos at the Concierge desk was also very helpful and super friendly! We enjoyed the fact that we weren't trapped on a resort. It is very nice to be able to walk around San Juan and take a cab into Old San Juan. We enjoyed our dinners at Oceano and Yantar- both are worth a try! The entertainment in the lobby in the evening was always fun and we also had fun in the Casino.We would both recommend this hotel. We actually had so much fun that we extended our trip an extra day! The only negative is that the elevators all had an awful smell. It was so strange as the rest of the hotel was so clean!

Room Tip: We had an ocean front room on the 7th floor which was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobio5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansRohrhbein, General Manager at San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear bobio5;

We are grateful for your positive comments regarding your recent stay with us. Thank you for mentioning our associates Tony and Carlos in your review. We are very happy to know that they were able to assist you during your stay and that you enjoyed the recommendations they provided regarding Food and Beverage options at the hotel and around the Condado area.

We hope to see you again on your next vacation to San Juan, Puerto Rico.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

My initial thoughts when booking this hotel after being referred to it by clients was that it would be too noisy and crowded. However, I was pleasantly surprised. The lobby was very open, spacious and comfortable with plenty of places to lounge around, work or wait on other parties. I figured since it had a casino, it would be very loud, smoky and intrusive, but it was not the case. The casino is tucked away....barely noticeable unless that's what you're looking for. The staff was extremely helpful and accommodating. And you cannot beat the location! Between being right on the beach and in the middle of many restaurants, there's a Starbucks right across the street (it doesn't take Starbucks card though :( . Overall, there are very few places that can too this hotel when looking at the entire package. My coworkers stayed at other hotels along the same road and all of them enjoy this establishment more than the one they were currently in.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TyLance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansRohrhbein, General Manager at San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear TyLance;

It was our pleasure hosting you at our property during your visit to Puerto Rico. We are excited to learn that you were able to enjoy our facilities including our Stellaris Casino and our amazing location, which as you highlighted on your review is right on the beach and close to many restaurants. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

5 days/4 night 4/17/14-4/21/14 Long weekend stay. Great for families!!! We had 2 rooms 238-240 Great Location to everything. Breakfast was included with our stay. One server specifically stood out ANGELO!! This individual will truly make your stay a more pleasurable experience. At the front desk there was also someone who stood out at proving exceptional service Jessica. Carlos had great suggestions for activities and dining at the concierge desk. The beach/pool bars and restaurants are great for lunch with many children options. The lobby bar and suishi bar are great for sharing portions. The casino has many options for all players. It can get crowded on holiday weekends though. The rooms were clean and house keeping did a great job. We went into Old San Juan for dinner and felt very safe. I would recommend this resort.
DY

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DonaldY1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansRohrhbein, General Manager at San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear DonaldY1234;

First of all, thank you for taking the time to share feedback from your stay during the month of April. It is awesome to know that your family vacation at our property was as expected and that our associates- Angelo from La Vista, Jessica one of our Front Desk Managers and Carlos- one of our Concierges were able to positively impact your stay at our property.
We look forward to hosting your next vacation at out resort very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morris County, New Jersey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

Despite the 4 star diamond rating, this hotel was probably one of my least favorite Marriotts for several reasons. On the first night we barely had lukewarm water and the night manager tried to convince us that this was normal. Thankfully the problem was rectified the next day and the hotel comped us for that night. For a resort hotel, there was a complete lack of activities by the hotel. The property itself is not your typical high end Marriott. While the staff was friendly and accommodating for the most part, I would not recommend this hotel. Our room was musty and felt damp. Food in the hotel is very expensive. A basic glass of wine was $12.

A week before our arrival, Marriott sent us an e-mail requesting our preferences which included a high floor and extra towels for our family of three. Our preferences were completely ignored and we were given a 4th floor room in a 21 story building.

There is a Walgreens and Starbucks across the street and various restaurants in both directions from the hotel. But there is not much to do if you don't gamble. For a family vacation, it was not an ideal hotel nor location. There is not much to do at Condado Beach.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansRohrhbein, General Manager at San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Sandy;

We are very sad to learn that our property did not meet your expectations during your recent visit and we sincerely apologize for the inconveniences encountered.

Please rest assured that we will share your comments with our Recreations team in order to improve our offerings in the future.

Guest satisfaction is our number one priority, so we thank you again for sharing your feedback with us.

If you are willing to give us a second opportunity please contact us directly at mhrs.sjupr.social.media@marriotthotels.com we will be more than happy to assist you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

The hotel is situated centrally in the Condado area and we enjoyed our stay there. The staff is always helpful and the amenities as well as pools and beachfront are great. Finally, if you enjoy gambling, the casino features enough games and tables.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansRohrhbein, General Manager at San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear Julian M;

Thank you so much for your kind feedback. It is great to know that you enjoyed our facilities. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
0.4 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
1.1 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,672 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#6 of 13 in Isla Verde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Condado Plaza Hilton
The Condado Plaza Hilton
#24 of 46 in San Juan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,545 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
0.3 mi away
La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino

Property: San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Address: 1309 Ashford Ave, San Juan 00907-1324, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in San Juan
#3 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#3 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#4 Business Hotel in San Juan
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#6 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 525
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only five miles from Luis Munoz International Airport, located in the prestigious Condado neighborhood of San Juan in a highly desirable beachfront location only minutes from numerous restaurants and bars.The property boasts 513 spacious guest rooms and 12 suites, most with spectacular Atlantic Ocean views; the 24 hour Stellaris Casino on site, two outdoor pools, two lighted tennis courts and Ocean Club Wellness Center that features a wide array of massages and treatments in addition to the health club.Food & Beverage offerings include La Vista Latin Grill, La Isla Beach Bar & Grill, La Isla Pool Bar, Wan Chai Noodle Bar, Coffee Merchant and the ultra chic Red Coral Lounge.Come and enjoy the comfortand atmosphere of everything this "Caribbean Cosmoplitan Beach Club" has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott San Juan Resort And Stellaris Casino
Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Hotel San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing