We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, clean, convenient. Great Lounge!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Ranked #8 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
nc
Level Contributor
106 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Nice, clean, convenient. Great Lounge!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

Our second time at Marriott Stellaris and we were very pleased with the stay. The resort is clean, safe and well-located. The beach is nice although you have to watch your seating as the sun goes behind the building causing shadows on the beach.
The Red Coral Lounge was fantastic, hosting an oldies band, a salsa band and a latin band on subsequent nights. The drinks are good from the bar although pricey. We understand this, as most hotels/resorts are the same.
Oceanfront room was great.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheSkipperNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,076
    2,162
    565
    208
    128
See reviews for
1,726
2,293
171
469
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,898)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, NH
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

Just returned from a very nice 5 night stay at the Marriot in San Juan.
Very nice hotel, very friendly employees – all, very clean, great location and nice amenities (pool & beach). Located a stone’s throw from many great places to eat and shop.
I am giving this 5 stars.
Only negative we encountered was that the hotel allowed children under 12 years of age in the hot tub. There was a sign clearly posted right at the tub – no one under 12 years of age in the tub. When I go on vacation I like to use both the pool and hot tub, without kids jumping around, splashing, screaming etc… My wife says I am getting old and grumpy, but even as my kids are older now (and even they complained about the kids splashing their “noodles” around in the hot-tub) there was no monitoring of Jacuzzi misuse – which would have been easy to do as there was always someone in the waterslide-turret – always. This person had a birds-eye view of the hot-tub and could easily monitor it.
Regardless, 5 star resort and wicked awesome stay otherwise.
Thank you to Jessica the Hotel manager for everything. Much appreciated.

Room Tip: Get the beach view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Auburn_NH_Folks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDelgado01, Marketing Coordinator at San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Auburn_NH_Folks;

Thank you for sharing feedback from your recent stay with us.

We appreciate all the great comments and would like to let you know that we will share your comments with our Recreations Managers in order to address your concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
81 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

Let's get the bad stuff out of the way, and then on to the good stuff. The property is dated in several areas, both inside and out. There are a limited amount of food options on site, and the elevators and public areas can get overcrowded during sell-out weekends, as was the case when we stayed. There even seemed to be a strain on the property's hot water when we were there -- at times we had only a lukewarm shower.

But...the service here makes this a true 5 star experience. While dated, the whole property is very clean as is the beach. I love the fact that there are plenty of pool towels and chairs even on a busy weekend. Service at the beach front restuarant was great -- everyone was pleasant and efficient without being too friendly and chatty. Same goes for front desk, casino and other restuarant staff. Without going into all the details, there was a mess-up with our reservation. Several calls back and forth between Silver Elite and the front desk revealed that the mess-up was Marriott's -- not mine. The front desk manager worked to resolved the issue -- i think she literally worked magic to make it happen. She went well beyond what I had expected.

As far as the San Juan area goes (having been here several times), I think the Marriott is in the best location overall. Over the past few years, we've stayed at the Ritz, Waldorf, Courtyard and El San Juan and I'd rank the Marriott the best overall with the Rtiz a close second. The beach is a little rough, but as I mentioned, clean. The surrounding area is clean, safe and very walkable. Its an easy walk to several great restuarants, etc and with my family we never felt unsafe. We ate outside alone Ashford Ave a few times and it was very nice (try RAO a few blocks from the hotel for great pasta).

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aremk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy Hook, Connecticut
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

Very nice location on the beach with large double pools & hot tub. Service good. Room nice with balcony .. often ate breakfast there with the in room coffee set-up which was actually quite good. The restaurant in house was good with seating both inside & outside. Would rate the food average/good. All the staff spoke English (not so much w/housekeepers).

Room Tip: Ask for a view with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EC, Maryland
Level Contributor
82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

After reading online reviews, we chose to use our platinum status to stay for 2 nights at the San Juan Marriott Stellaris in Conado instead of the Ritz in Isla Verdes, paying an upgrade of $75 per night for a corner suite. One of the reasons I chose the Marriot over the Ritz was the ability to book an Oceanfront room versus a garden room at the Ritz. Arriving at the highrise (20 floors) Marriott on a Friday around 2 pm, it took us 30 minutes in a crowded lobby to check in with the front desk. Because of the crowd, I did not notice a sign (at the next counter) that offered us 1,000 points to forego maid service the next day - an offer I would have chosen, had it been pointed out to me. Although we were platinum, we were not offered an upgrade and the concierge lounge was closed for the weekend so we also did not receive a free breakfast (as it was explained, because they are a "Resort", they do not have to offer it). The room was large and included a King bed with a desk and two balconies, one on the side overlooking buildings and highrises and the other fronting the ocean with two chairs. The resort/hotel included a casino that was open 24/7, a nice pool, but the beach seemed equivalent to a narrow Ocean City beach, with no trees or landscaping, dotted with white plastic chairs that had blue cushions and a few umbrellas (obviously a special request for some) - there was no natural shade. There were security guards EVERYWHERE - the front of the hotel, the beach, the casino, Everywhere - it made me wonder about the rate of crime in that area and the need for so much security. The fact that it borders the Pacific side of the Ocean resulted in a rough surf - not a calm Carribean scene. Many of the American patrons seemed to be of a genre that I have never before seen at the typical Marriott hotel - there were people sleeping on the side lobby sofa and others walking around in "wife-beater" tee-shirts, revealing their multiple tatoos. There was a very loud nightly band and bar right in the front lobby - something that is usually located toward the back of the hotel. While there, we took a cab down to the Ritz, just to compare where we "could have stayed" for a few more points, but without paying the extra $75 per night. The Ritz (which was abour 4-5 stories high with gorgeous gardens) was absolutely lovely, a quiet, uncrowded lobby, a calm inlet beach, much nicer than the Condado beach, sprinkled with palm trees (natural shade) and, of course, a completely different type of clientele. Needless to say, if I ever need to return to San Juan, I would choose the Ritz over the Marriott, regardless of the points or price.

Room Tip: Corner room on East side of hotel is breezy and the bright sun requires you to keep the curtains clo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank c T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDelgado01, Marketing Coordinator at San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear cktaymd:

It is very sad to learn that our hotel did not meet your expectations during your last visit to San Juan. Customer satisfaction is of utmost importance to us, so we’ll be sure to share your comments with our Management Team in order to identify areas of opportunity for improvement. We value your loyalty as a Platinum Rewards Member and appreciate you taking the time to submit your review. Should you decide to give us a second chance in the future, please feel free to contact us at (787) 722-7000 Ext.42
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

Clean nice service and a great place to walk around felt very secure the restaurants ohh so good i really recommend it and i got a taxi driver his name is danny what a nice man knows English well and knows his way around excellent tour guide this is his num because i really recommend him 787-925-6337 taxi clean his appearance was perfect give him a call everything else was just perfect will be back soon to puerto rico :))

Room Tip: Rooms looking to the ocean are a blast
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland, Maryland
Level Contributor
285 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

We stayed here in January with another couple and had a very pleasant time. We were upgraded to a spa room which was essentially a 3rd floor oceanfront room with a large oceanfront deck with a hot tub! The room was huge and spotless with nice bathroom. The hotel is located in Condado, so kind of equadistant between the airport and Old San Juan.

The beach out front is kind of "meh" but most beaches in San Juan are sort of okay. In that respect Isla Verde is nicer and of course is closer to the airport. Lots of nearby restaurants all within walking distance.

Room Tip: oceanfront was obviously nicer than city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RuffleScruffle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
0.4 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
1.1 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,780 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#6 of 13 in Isla Verde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,118 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Condado Plaza Hilton
The Condado Plaza Hilton
#24 of 46 in San Juan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,642 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino

Property: San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Address: 1309 Ashford Ave, San Juan 00907-1324, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in San Juan
#3 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#3 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#4 Business Hotel in San Juan
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#6 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 525
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only five miles from Luis Munoz International Airport, located in the prestigious Condado neighborhood of San Juan in a highly desirable beachfront location only minutes from numerous restaurants and bars.The property boasts 513 spacious guest rooms and 12 suites, most with spectacular Atlantic Ocean views; the 24 hour Stellaris Casino on site, two outdoor pools, two lighted tennis courts and Ocean Club Wellness Center that features a wide array of massages and treatments in addition to the health club.Food & Beverage offerings include La Vista Latin Grill, La Isla Beach Bar & Grill, La Isla Pool Bar, Wan Chai Noodle Bar, Coffee Merchant and the ultra chic Red Coral Lounge.Come and enjoy the comfortand atmosphere of everything this "Caribbean Cosmoplitan Beach Club" has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott San Juan Resort And Stellaris Casino
Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Hotel San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing