We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Property”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Ranked #10 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 22, 2013

The Marriott was very clean and close to things to do and places to eat. I enjoyed the casino and the beach was quiet. The ocean front room was very small and the bathroom was tiny. it is easy to catch the bus line and go to Old San Juan for only $1.50 per couple.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vernon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,506)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,058 - 4,064 of 6,507 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2013

I just returned from a 4 day 3 night trip with my best friend to San Juan. We stayed at the Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino. Our trip was amazing and the hotel and staff made us want to plan a return trip already! This is an in depth review of our experience and some advice for those planning a trip there!

ARRIVAL/ROOM:
We arrived to our hotel about 1:30/2:00 and were able to check right in. Drive is about 15 minutes from airport- so quick! It's about a $20 cab ride. There was hardly a line at check in- maybe 1 person before us and there were welcome drinks served to you as you were waiting. Delicious rum runners by the way! We checked in and went right up to our room which overlooked the pool/ocean. Beautiful balcony and everything was clean and we were so happy with our room. Beds were so comfortable and in room safe is always a plus. With the balcony door closed it was so quiet at night. We were on the 9th floor and slept so well.
Payments at the hotel are charged to your room or you can pay by credit card. Cash was not accepted most places including at breakfast buffet, the pool bar, the bar. Cash was accepted at the Spa and the convenient store at the hotel. Just FYI if you are a cash person. It was so easy to just charge to room or pay by credit card. You are given 4 bottles of water per day in the room which was nice and there a few places you can eat at the hotel.

STAFF:
The staff at every restaurant, bar, and throughout the hotel were so friendly and helpful! We are from NY so we are usually dealing with rude people so it was a nice change to see a smiling face and to be greeted so warmly. All of the staff was available to answer any questions we had, help us choose where to eat, what drink we wanted, where to go to explore around the area, and there is always someone at the front desk to answer your questions.

Joel and Cynthia were two bartenders we met and they were awesome! There are so many delicious tropical drinks and they helped us figured out our favorites. They were always smiling and were so friendly. Thank you!

Michael and Jose at the La Vista restaurant were our waiters for breakfast and they were efficient, friendly, and quick with anything that you needed. They were very personable and breakfast was enjoyable and delicious! You have choice of buffet, ordering food to the table, or both. Get the waffles!

AROUND THE AREA:
There is a Starbucks, Walgreen's, and places to eat right around the hotel. Yerba Buena is a restaurant about a block to the left of the hotel when you walk out and the food, atmosphere, and staff were awesome. Definitely my favorite place to eat. Directly across the street is a restaurant Di Zucchero. Awesome Italian food.

WHAT TO DO:
Definitely explore San Juan- take a taxi to Old San Juan- about $15-20 for taxi, and tour the Cristobal Castle and El Morro. We made a day of it by taking a taxi to El Morro and exploring, walking around shopping (found a coach outlet) eating lunch, and then walked to the castle and cabbed it back to the hotel. $5.00 for a ticket to both places, $3 to one and free shuttle between them if you want to go back and forth. Just hold on to your ticket and get the shuttle right outside each place. If you go along the street the shuttle is full and won't stop.

The beach was beautiful at the hotel and there are no people walking around trying to sell anything to you on the beach. This makes for a quiet and relaxing beach day. They have chairs and umbrellas for guests and all you do is walk on the beach and tell someone if you want a chair/umbrella and they will set it up for you or show you which ones are open. Waiters/Waitresses walk around as well but the bar is close by the entrance to the beach as well as bathrooms so it will be a quick trip. There is a towel hut by the pool. Pool is gorgeous and has a shallow one for children with a water fall into the bigger pool. There is a swim up pool bar that also serves food(delicious) and a fun water slide. There is another bar and restaurant outside for lunch that is called the La Isla Beach. Pool bar and this have the same food. The hotel has a nice brochure they give you, that has a list of what places are available for you to eat depending on the time of day. Also if there is any music playing in the lobby of the hotel. We met two people from the band that played one night- so nice and talented! We were exhausted from our day and we did not do much after dinner but there are a few bars we saw around the hotel as well as some music at the lobby bar at night.

Massage was great- Go to the spa!

I have absolutely NOTHING negative to say about this hotel. The staff and hotel were great. I had a question about some charges when I returned home and they answered my question quickly and were so helpful. This place is awesome and I highly recommend you to stay here! I can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Get a pool/ocean view. So worth it. We were on 9th floor and it was so quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We recently returned from a stay at the Marriott. The hotel is very nice and the staff was very helpful. Our breakfast staff at the La Vista was very friendly and efficient (shout out to Angelo!). Great place to stay when visiting if you are going to explore the island and have a car. Most excursions were about an hour away.

Room Tip: Pay extra for the partial ocean view....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peg3boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

A single traveler can only give her view of the few meals, or single room she or he experiences. Fabulous beach location and beautiful lobby, except for damage by elevator doors. Also, the elevators always smelled like the adjacent restroom on lobby floor. Service was good. Ate one night and it was decent. But my room, personally, I found was a little subpar. There was a wet spot on the carpet when I checked in. The walls were thin, next door neighbors loud talking kept me up till 1 am. Executive lounge was great, with super good coffee.

Room Tip: I did not get a beach view, that would have been better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

You will not regret a stay here - it doesn't get better than this. This is such a gorgeous property and resort - the full package!

-The rooms are cleans and comfortable.
-The service is top-notch - every employee was so kind, helpful, and friendly. The concierge is always available for help and fantastic recommendations.
-The pool area is wonderful! A huge kiddie pool area that is so much fun for the little ones. Then, there is a separate larger pool with a swim-up bar and a water slide!
-The beach area in front of the hotel is all that you need - no need to look elsewhere! White sandy beach that is kept nice and clean, lounge chairs, umbrellas. While we stayed there were two weddings that took place down there - it's that beautiful.
-There are tons of great places to eat within easy walking distance - everything you need within reach. There is also a Walgreens right on the corner for the essentials you need or forgot.

Don't look anywhere else - this is where you want to stay! We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Megan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

This is probably the best hotel I stayed in when it comes to the service on offer.

Right from the moment we entered the hotel, everything was just where it was supposed to be. No wait at the reception, clean and beautiful rooms, many good restaurants and unmatched service.

We were impressed with everything that the hotel had to offer.

Before booking this place we could not understand why the Ritz Carlton next door was ranked below this, but now we totally know why!

The hotel is bang in the middle of everything.

- Hotel has its own private beach. The tides are a bit high but its a flat beach meaning you can literally walk some 100 feet into the beach. Very beautiful and clean waters.
- Many restaurants in the hotel and around it.
- 10 minutes ride to Old San Juan and 45 mins to El Yunque
- Casino inside the hotel.
- Pools and hot tub in the hotel are very well placed so you dont get the noise into the rooms.

There is a lot of good things to write about the hotel and none better than the service thats offered here.

Overall I would give it a 10/10 and would recommend this to anyone visiting San Juan.

For the price they charge, this is the best bang for the buck.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view room on a high floor in the tower that houses the casino.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Suryavarman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

this hotel was beautiful! they greeted us with rum punch as soon as we came in. The hotel room was very clean and had a lot of storage space for us since we were staying there for a week. The cleaning staff was on point every single day with new towels, bottled water, coffee, and teas, the bed(so comfortable!!) was always made daily. The staff was also very nice and greeted as happily every day. If we needed anything, they'll bring it up in two minutes. The room service was also yummy and offered both american and pr food! Even though we were in PR, it was hard to get out of the resort since the hotel offered so much to do. The pool was fun, the only thing is that it wasn't that deep, was only 4 feet or so. The access to the beach was also great because they had service get us chairs and umbrellas as soon as we stepped on the beach. They had service walk around to immediately serve us drinks or food. This hotel definitely made it very easy for us to have a relaxing, stress-free vacation.
Some of the things that I didn't like but did not make a significant difference were: expensive daily parking $16, resort fee was added the first day $150, they were supposed to give us ocean view room but agent advised they were overbooked but then the same people on my party who came later on the week were able to get an ocean view room. Breakfast buffet was a bit pricey for the little choice they offered.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank msnodg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.4 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
1.2 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#18 of 47 in San Juan
7,210 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Olive Boutique Hotel
Olive Boutique Hotel
#4 of 47 in San Juan
850 reviews
0.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
0.8 mi away
The Condado Plaza Hilton
The Condado Plaza Hilton
#22 of 47 in San Juan
4,933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino

Address: 1309 Ashford Avenue, San Juan 00907-1324, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in San Juan
#4 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#4 Business Hotel in San Juan
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#7 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
Price Range: $278 - $602 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino 4.5*
Number of rooms: 525
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only five miles from Luis Munoz International Airport, located in the prestigious Condado neighborhood of San Juan, find the spectacular San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino. Our resort in San Juan, Puerto Rico sits in a highly desirable beachfront location only minutes from numerous restaurants and bars. The property boasts 513 spacious guest rooms and 12 suites, most with spectacular Atlantic Ocean views; the 24 hour Stellaris Casino on site, two outdoor pools, two lighted tennis courts and Ocean Club Wellness Center that features a wide array of massages and treatments in addition to the health club. Food & Beverage offerings include La Vista Latin Grill, La Isla Beach Bar & Grill, La Isla Pool Bar, Wan Chai Noodle Bar, Coffee Merchant and the ultra chic Red Coral Lounge. Come and enjoy the comfort and atmosphere of everything this "Caribbean Cosmoplitan Beach Club" has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Hotel San Juan
Marriott San Juan Resort And Stellaris Casino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing