We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice Trip and Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Ranked #7 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very Nice Trip and Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

My entire family (13 of us) travelled last week to San Juan and all stayed at the Marriott SJ Resort. The experience was quite good. The service at the restaurant for breakfast (thanks to both Diana and Angelo who are superstars) was excellent. They had more patience at the table for my young nephews and nieces than I had (or could ever muster up). The food we had for breakfast and the occasional lunches and dinners we enjoyed there was also top-notch.The room my wife and I shared in the Towers section had a great view of both the pool and ocean. All staff is perfectly bi-lingual and service oriented. So why not 5 stars? It all boils down to three glaring deficiencies. The pool bars close at @5pm with vey spotty pool service before then and none after that time. Essentially, if you want a drink after that time you have to go into the formal restaurant and request one (wet bathing suit and all) or go upstairs to the lobby bar and bring it down to the pool. There is also no outdoor music or entertainment which struck me as extremely odd given the fact that they must know their key attractions are their nice pools and outdoor facilities. The other issue (small by comparison) is that they have limited outdoor games (fooseball, ping pong) and so if you're not in the mood to swim there may be very little else available to you. Finally, the prices charged for beverages were extremely high...close to $4 for soft drinks and close to $8 for their local beer (which could be purchased in neighboring bars for @$3) ...Given the high "resort fee" they charge, I had expected more in terms of poolside entertainment and service and appropriate market pricing of food/drink items.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NYViajador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDelgado01, Marketing Coordinator at San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for your recent review from your stay with us; NY Viajador.

We really appreciate all the feedback provided and will share it with your Food & Beverage team.

Looking forward to seeing you again on your next vacation to San Juan, PR.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,072
    2,162
    565
    207
    127
See reviews for
1,722
2,292
171
468
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,895)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Just got back and of course had a great time. Saw Rita, Hector, Richard and the crew at the beach!! Only a couple of things. The serving staff at the pool area consisted of one female so getting service was virtually out of the question that occurred for about 5 days. Was there for the blackout but everyone was still dancing with flashlights!!!. But, I seriously LOVED the push button sensors to order food, etc. that were placed throughout the beach! GREAT CONCEPT! I was kinda disappointed for the kids, there is nothing much for them to do other than just swim, a couple of board games and one ping pong table. It would be nice to have some extra stuff for them to do and interact - i.e., simon says (even with adults), twister (ditto for adults), tie dye shirts (for a fee), Walk through the beach and be told a little about the island they are visiting. Just think about it. Take care and see you guys soon, Jennifer

Room Tip: The cabana rooms are nice and have a great view of the pool and ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jajburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDelgado01, Marketing Coordinator at San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Jajburg;

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your recent stay with us.

Thanks for the wonderful feedback and for all your ideas regarding children's activities, we will be sure to share them with Rita and the rest of the Recreations team to see how we can make our younger guests experience better at our resort.

Thank you for your loyalty and we hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

I can sum this up in just a few words.

Beautiful Views...Fabulous Staff...Gorgeous Pool...Amazing Food...Spectacular Casino and Club...Wonderful Location...MAKE YOUR RESERVATION NOW!

We stayed here for Thanksgiving 2011...it couldn't have been more perfect :)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank steffany76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here 3 tea now am had great service and a great experience every time. The neighborhood is great with many restaurants to choose from and a Walgreen, Starbucks and ice cream store a few steps away. The pool area is really nice- complete with pool bar and restaurant. I would come back again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jtw33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Stayed in 607, view of the pool and ocean. Lots of room for 2 adults and one 12 year old. Beds comfortable, and rooms are quiet. Very little sound from hall. Lots of hot water, sometimes too much. Kiddie pool, and other pool get pretty dirty with sand from the beach and kids in the pool with drinks.
Beach porters will set up chairs and umbrellas for you. Beach sand is very soft, surf can be VERY strong. Waves well over 6 feet it seemed, not ideal for smaller children.
Food is typical expensive hotel food, $16 for a dozen wings, over $8 for a burger, $20 for breakfast. Lots of food choices within very short walking distance ie. Buns across the street $4 for a burger, starbucks, subway, wendy's for the kids. Nicer restaurants within 5 minute walk.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dcrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

So glad I picked this hotel for our 1 nite stay before our cruise. The lobby is very active and inviting if you want to just have a seat and people watch. Everyone that helped us was very friendly. The pool and beach area were perfect as was the beachfront bar. We had the breakfast buffet on Sat morning before leaving for the port & there were many delicious options. Would stay here again in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor. We reserved a city view room and weren't expecting an oceanview...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on our 2nd trip to PR in June. We really liked the property and the beach was beautiful. Steps away from the property, attendants were always ready to set up umbrellas, chairs, etc. and get drinks (tip these guys, they work hard!) Everyone was very friendly and helpful. Only negatives would be that casino is small and the concierge staff was not as knowledgeable as we would have expected. Overall great property and we would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MQ1008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
0.4 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
1.1 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,774 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#6 of 13 in Isla Verde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,114 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Condado Plaza Hilton
The Condado Plaza Hilton
#24 of 46 in San Juan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,634 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino

Property: San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Address: 1309 Ashford Ave, San Juan 00907-1324, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in San Juan
#3 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#3 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#4 Business Hotel in San Juan
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#6 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 525
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only five miles from Luis Munoz International Airport, located in the prestigious Condado neighborhood of San Juan in a highly desirable beachfront location only minutes from numerous restaurants and bars.The property boasts 513 spacious guest rooms and 12 suites, most with spectacular Atlantic Ocean views; the 24 hour Stellaris Casino on site, two outdoor pools, two lighted tennis courts and Ocean Club Wellness Center that features a wide array of massages and treatments in addition to the health club.Food & Beverage offerings include La Vista Latin Grill, La Isla Beach Bar & Grill, La Isla Pool Bar, Wan Chai Noodle Bar, Coffee Merchant and the ultra chic Red Coral Lounge.Come and enjoy the comfortand atmosphere of everything this "Caribbean Cosmoplitan Beach Club" has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott San Juan Resort And Stellaris Casino
Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Hotel San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing